We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem with a great staff”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved Tara Lodge. Reception was always helpful; breakfast was delicious with an attentive staff; and the room was clean and well stocked. I'm so grateful to Trip Advisor for its reviews because we would never have found the place. Also want to mention Ricky, Sharon, Tara (no, she didn't have to change her name to work there [smile]) and their good work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstaples900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in June and it is a really top hotel. The room was super clean and the staff were all so friendly with helping us with directions of places we wanted to visit. All the staff here including the breakfast staff seemed to be locals which is also good to see. The breakfast here is the best presented and best tasting I've ever had in a hotel and there is plenty to choose from. I don't want to knock Tara Lodge for downsides that are out of their control but it can be a bit noisy with busy traffic on both sides of the hotel along with a very frequent train passing along the back. It's just a pity it's in the location it is, but all in all I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for the quitest room they have away from the busy roads and train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were just at the Tara Lodge from May 30 - June 2. Pauline and her staff are fabulous. Our car broke down on the way from the airport, she called a cab to come amd get us, got us into our rooms and rescheduled our Titanic tour. She is a real professional in every sense of the word. We loved being greeted by Riky every morning for breakfast. He could not do enough for us! We asked Pauline to give us some ideas of fun places to visit. She drew us map and off we went. It was a fun day at the beach with lunch at the Cliffs. You can't go wrong with Pauline and her staff. They will direct to you wonderful coffee houses or restaurants for dinner -- all within walking distance from the hotel.

I want to go back and be spoiled by Pauline & her fabulous staff.

Paula & Mur
New Jersey

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hubby and I were flying to Belfast on a whistle stop weekend visit, hubby found Tara Lodge on booking.com and booked it.

The Tara Lodge is just round the corner from the Botanical Gardens railway station and roughly 10 to 15 minutes walk from the bus depot behind the Europa Hotel. It's set in a fairly quiet residential area with a few bars and eateries up and down Botanic Avenue. We got there very early, knowing we were too early to book in, but the receptionist was happy to tag and store our luggage until we returned.

After a very long day (sightseeing from 9am to 9,:30pm) we got back and checked in. Room 26 was in the annexe and although it's a little outside the main building, the decor in the hallways etc is in keeping with the main building.

The room was a good size, with a high and comfortable bed. Wall mounted flat screen TV that worked well, DVD player, and in addition to the usual kettle there was a Nespresso machine!! The bathroom was also a good size, with a bath tub and over bath shower and a supply of good quality gels etc.

As it had been a very long day, we were in bed earlier than normal and soon drifted off to sleep. Unfortunately we'd forgotten about the World Cup and around 3am were awoken by locals returning home from one of the bars where they'd been watching the match. It didn't keep us awake for long and we were soon off again till the alarm sounded.

Breakfast starts from 8am on Sunday, and the breakfast menu is good. Porridge with banana and honey, smoked salmon and egg, full Irish breakfast (or it's vegetarian counterpart)....Service was good and attentive without being obtrusive, which is always good.

As we were only there for one night, we were packed to leave early for Day 2 of sightseeing. The receptionist was again happy to look after the luggage, and checkout was simple and painless.

The Tara Lodge is not the cheapest place to stay but the attention to detail and extra touches like the Nespresso machine made our short break feel quite special. It's in a great location too so next time we spot a great band at the Empire Bar round the corner, we'll be back for another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a combined working / holiday visit to Tara Lodge for 3 nights at the start of June 2014. I was working, my wife was on holiday. We stayed in Room 15, which was described as a deluxe double room, and were very impressed with the room and the hotel in general. My wife really liked the choice of cooked breakfast in the morning although as I had to be out of the hotel by 7.00 a.m. I was only able to have a continental breakfast (cooked breakfasts start at 7.00 a.m.) for the first two mornings but, as a special treat, I managed time for a cooked breakfast on the last morning.

The hotel is situated in the Queens Quarter of Belfast and is an area where there appeared to be a number of student lets but we had no problem with this. There were a lot of places to eat only a few minutes walk from the hotel and the Botanic Avenue / University area is a very pleasant part of Belfast. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and they were willing to give recommendations for places to visit or eat.

We would thoroughly recommend the Tara Lodge.

D&L

Room Tip: The deluxe double rooms are worth considering if you are staying for an extended period of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doognlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great place to stay. Great service. Great hotel. Rooms comfy and lots of extras. Recommend if on business or leisure trip. The weather wasn't the best but it was a lovely place to hang out when business was all done.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sandyppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We thoroughly loved our stay in Belfast only two weeks ago. Tara Lodge was excellent for accommodation and location. We are in our mid early 50s and walked all over Belfast and found our bearings easily. The Irish people are very helpful and friendly. Tara Lodge staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. There are restaurants, pubs,shops, train close by. We drove out for the first time to Downpatrick area and had excellent directions to get out of town by the Tara Lodge staff they even printed off a map for us. Lovely park to relax in nearby as the University is close by also. Thankyou to Tara Lodge for all your service and support in making our stay in Belfast for the first time very remember able.

Room Tip: Front annex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,599 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 45 in Belfast
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £83 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing