We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a gem in Belfast”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This boutique hotel near the center of Belfast was one of our favorites from our three week Ireland Trip. Our room was really nice as was the bath. It was also very quiet. Breakfasts were perfect with the ability to order from a menu. All of the staff were super nice and very informative. Although the area around the hotel seemed iffy we never worried about it and had no problem. The walk to the center of town was about 10-15 minutes and not bad at all. We really enjoyed our time here and think Belfast is great. We will stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and found it really quiet. If you have a car try to get to the hotel early as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent 3 nights on combined business and pleasure trip
Spotlessly clean room, great size, large comfortable bed
Great choice for breakfast
Excellent, friendly, helpful staff,
10 minutes walk from city centre, perfect for sightseeing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a very comfortable few nights here whilst seeing the sights of Belfast.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered a personalised service.
Our room was comfortable and well maintained. The only minor problem was the unreliable wifi signal.
Breakfasts were delicious with a good range of options.
A short walk to Botanic rail station.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skiffer_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

All I can say this hotel is Fantastic, the place is squeaky clean, and I mean squeaky clean, the rooms are lovely, everything is spotless, comfortable beds, the staff are lovely and very helpful.

And the breakfasts are something out of this world, If I ever come back to Belfast I will be staying here again.

Give it a try you won't regret it.

John Couch Melbourne, Australia.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great place very handy to everything.
Room was very clean and very modern. The bed was comfortable, shower good and a fantastic breakfast was included in the price.
Would highly recommend to anyone coming to Belfast and looking for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really lovely room, great service, friendly staff, superb food. The only downside was that the hotel is in the University district, it was hot in Belfast when we went, our room was just slightly higher than street level and facing the street, no A/C (none of our Irish hotels had A/C of course), and school was ending. What a combination! The room was cooking so we had to open windows. And the kids were loud. And raucous. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep..

Room Tip: Get away from street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First visit to Tara Lodge but it won't be the last. Double room in annex on first floor, very comfortable and nicely furnished. Excellent facilities and free parking. Staff friendly. 15 min walk into city centre. 2 min walk to good choice of restaurants and 5 min walk to Botanic Gardens. View from window was just the fire escape but we were there to visit Belfast and sleep so no view required and no noise from street as reported by other reviewers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PinkElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,066 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £83 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing