We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fairly prices, perfect breakfast”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my brother and parents. We had a 2 rooms not in the hotel itself, but in the house next to the hotel. The hotel bought this to expand the hotel. These rooms were vey nice, large and quiet. The breakfast is great, especially the 'Power Porridge' - I must recommend this. The surrounding streets are not so nice, but the bars and restaurants are good. Actually you can even decide not Tompa head into the centre.

Perfect place for a weekend in Belfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Klompie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently stayed two nights (June 29 & 30) and it was just as wonderful as described on Trip Advisor. The staff was very helpful with directions, especially important as street signs are an endangered species in Belfast. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was one of the best we had during our holiday. The price was also very affordable and a fraction of what we paid in Dublin and Galway for similar rooms.

In fact my only complaint has to do with the drapes. The heavy black-out curtains hang from a basic rod which allows light to flood in above the rod. A simple valance above the rod would solve the problem and then the room would be perfect. This is only an issue for the rooms on the back of the hotel that get the early morning sun. My in-laws had a room on the front of the hotel and could't understand why we said the sun woke us at 5 a.m. Later we visited their room and realized the issue.

If I return to Belfast I would definitely book Tara Lodge again. Pauline even steered us to a fabulous Indian restaurant just at the end of the block.

Room Tip: Front rooms are dark in the morning, but run the risk of possible street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BookWormTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I feel this hotel really deserve to be among the top on trip advisor. Good location in a quiet and secure neighborhood of Belfast, just 10-15 minutes walk to downtown. Clean and cozy room. Modern bathroom with nice stand-up shower. Bed were comfy, but pillows seemed a little bit tall and stiff. Room felt also a little bit small-ish. Great breakfast on the morning.

But what really makes this hotel so interesting is the VALUE! It's not a 5-star hotel, but you get ample retrun on the money you pay.

Would go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simonlessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Room was clean, no noise from street, excellent service, decent price and a superb breakfeast. Enjoyed my stay at the Tara Lodge very much. I would certainly book at this hotel again if my road crosses Belfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Beautiful hotel that feels brand new because it is so clean. THE most comfortable bed I can remember sleeping in at a hotel. Great staff. Onsite parking (secured at night). Belfast seems run down and dirty; this hotel is like a shining beacon of cleanliness and modern times. Highly recommend!

The only challenge is the location... it's a ways out of the city center. Still, the area it's in has a nice selection of restaurants and shops. We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This boutique hotel near the center of Belfast was one of our favorites from our three week Ireland Trip. Our room was really nice as was the bath. It was also very quiet. Breakfasts were perfect with the ability to order from a menu. All of the staff were super nice and very informative. Although the area around the hotel seemed iffy we never worried about it and had no problem. The walk to the center of town was about 10-15 minutes and not bad at all. We really enjoyed our time here and think Belfast is great. We will stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and found it really quiet. If you have a car try to get to the hotel early as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent 3 nights on combined business and pleasure trip
Spotlessly clean room, great size, large comfortable bed
Great choice for breakfast
Excellent, friendly, helpful staff,
10 minutes walk from city centre, perfect for sightseeing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,252 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,555 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing