We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There has to be a reason...”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bandon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“There has to be a reason...”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There has to be a reason for the good reviews that The Tara Lodge has received in previous reviews, there are but they might be too many to mention.

We only stayed one night but even as we checked out we were debating whether we should stay a second night, as it happened we completed our Belfast break and headed home.

While the hotel location is reasonably central, the selection of bars and restaurants nearby caters for all tastes. There are several supermarkets close to hand also.
The staff were well up to their job and able to offer plenty suggestions regarding the different attractions. The breakfast staff were very polite and items like smoked salmon are very rare on a menu, mind you the standard morning fry was lovely.

Parking is limited there, but anyone who ends up parked on the street shouldn't worry as the area appears to be reasonably quiet, mind you when all the local students are in residence in the many nearby houses, the noise level may vary.

Would we go back, certainly as we have already recommended it to some of our friends.

The Titanic experience is a must and is less than a 10 minute drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    418
    70
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,358
141
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great breakfast. You could really stack on the kilos with their breakfast.
Small rooms but with all you need, even coffee/tea/biscuits and free wifi.
The rooms are well maintained and very clean. I loved the ironing board contraption.

The air con was not working in our room and the fans were not effective. The staff did everything to help us cool the room down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velogiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room was clean and the staff was very nice and welcoming. Unfortunately we must have drawn the short straw on rooms because we struggled to sleep due to car noise and people below on the street. We stayed on a Sunday night in July, during the long July 12 weekend to be exact, and I had hoped the major ruckus would have passed, but the road behind Tara Lodge seems to be a major shortcut from one large road to another. There were also several people out and about, and both the voices and cigarette smoke wafted into the room through our open windows.

Breakfast was very generous and they provide both free parking and wi-fi. The location is also a 15 minute walk to city centre.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid rooms 27 and 28 as they face the back road and ask for quieter rooms if you are stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Whats4Dessert

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us this summer. We are still in the middle of a heatwave – today it’s a scorching 26 degrees celcius in Belfast without a cloud in the sky. Usually when coming to Belfast you can expect temperatures of around 20 degrees celcius with rain just round the corner so we locals are enjoying the sunshine. However as we don’t have air conditioning in our bedrooms I know the heat, especially at night, can be a problem. We are in a city location and when the windows are open, unfortunately there will be the possibility of some transient night time noise. I’m sorry that this was the case during your stay.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast. Our reception team are delighted that you felt they were efficient yet friendly – a great mix. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we hope to see you back at Tara Lodge on your next trip to Belfast.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Tara Lodge one night based on the good reviews from Tripadvisor. We showed up (very) early and although our room was understandably not ready, the staff not only offered to hold our bags, but asked if we had an interest in any activities. Since we were going to see about a tour, the desk clerk suggested and booked a tour for us with Paddy Campbell's Black Cab Tours (also highly recommended). Upon our return our room was ready.
Clean rooms, very comfortable, and in the middle of a wonderful college neighborhood. Asked for a recommendation for dinner which also turned out to be fabulous. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic as well and the rates were VERY reasonable considering the included breakfast.
I would return.
I would have loved air conditioning in the rooms, but that is rare for the quaint hotels in Ireland. and parking although free is at a premium.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheShoe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my brother and parents. We had a 2 rooms not in the hotel itself, but in the house next to the hotel. The hotel bought this to expand the hotel. These rooms were vey nice, large and quiet. The breakfast is great, especially the 'Power Porridge' - I must recommend this. The surrounding streets are not so nice, but the bars and restaurants are good. Actually you can even decide not Tompa head into the centre.

Perfect place for a weekend in Belfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klompie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently stayed two nights (June 29 & 30) and it was just as wonderful as described on Trip Advisor. The staff was very helpful with directions, especially important as street signs are an endangered species in Belfast. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was one of the best we had during our holiday. The price was also very affordable and a fraction of what we paid in Dublin and Galway for similar rooms.

In fact my only complaint has to do with the drapes. The heavy black-out curtains hang from a basic rod which allows light to flood in above the rod. A simple valance above the rod would solve the problem and then the room would be perfect. This is only an issue for the rooms on the back of the hotel that get the early morning sun. My in-laws had a room on the front of the hotel and could't understand why we said the sun woke us at 5 a.m. Later we visited their room and realized the issue.

If I return to Belfast I would definitely book Tara Lodge again. Pauline even steered us to a fabulous Indian restaurant just at the end of the block.

Room Tip: Front rooms are dark in the morning, but run the risk of possible street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookWormTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I feel this hotel really deserve to be among the top on trip advisor. Good location in a quiet and secure neighborhood of Belfast, just 10-15 minutes walk to downtown. Clean and cozy room. Modern bathroom with nice stand-up shower. Bed were comfy, but pillows seemed a little bit tall and stiff. Room felt also a little bit small-ish. Great breakfast on the morning.

But what really makes this hotel so interesting is the VALUE! It's not a 5-star hotel, but you get ample retrun on the money you pay.

Would go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonlessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing