We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

This is a basic hotel. No real frills but good value. I did not find the staff overly friendly. Certainly not rude just OK. Parking is an issue if the hotel is busy. Breakfast was good. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,892
    412
    68
    15
    16
See reviews for
287
1,336
139
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed in Tara Lodge last saturday night and was not expecting it to live up to the glowing reviews but it does. Lovely clean hotel, spacious room (no. 17) with great views at night to the "Belfast eye" and the night sky. Lovely design, clean bathroom (with a window!) and the comfiest bed. Staff were amazingly helpful - and we encountered 3 over the 24 hour stay- full of info and recommendations. best of all- it's so cheap! Great Breakfast, free parking and close to the city. You'd be a fool to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stranded_aoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tyrone, NI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

After reading all the reviews I still expected to be a little disappointed with the hotel.

It was fantastic. Really central location but quiet enough at night. The bedroom was beautiful with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Great wet room which was a brilliant change from the usual showering in a bath! The staff were brilliant and were more than helpful. Overall and fantastic hotel and I will definately return on my next visit to Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicNug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

Minutes after checking in we could see why it was rated no. 1 in Belfast. Immaculately appointed throughout,friendly and helpful staff, wonderfully comfortable beds and pillows, gleaming bathroom and power shower, and then the breakfast.....the best porridge ever and a delicious, freshly prepared traditional Ulster fry. Don't be put off by other reviewers' comments about the location, yes it's lively, but the hotel is a haven of peace and it's only 10 minutes from the best pint of Guinness in the world at the Crown Liquor Saloon. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safc73Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed here one night and found the reception and the dining room staff to be wonderful. We got in and were able to check in early which was wonderful, able to shower from our long flight from the states. The reception desk booked us a black cab tour and we were on our way. They were able to offer several suggestions for food and activities.
Our room was prepared with a baby crib/cot which was great.
The rooms are fairly spacious for Europe, the bed quite comfortable and everything nice.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

My Husband and I stayed at the Tara Lodge for 3 nights during our trip to Northern Ireland. We thought the location was good, within walking distance of all the sights, places to eat (go to Metro just across from the station, the food was excellent) and the nightlife although we didn't experience this as it's not our thing but there are alot of students around the area so it must be the in place to be!. There is also the train station just a few minutes walk away to take you straight the the centre if you want and it cost us £1.20 from memory.
The rooms are a good size and very clean with some nice touches such as complimentary smellies (look and smell a bit better than your normal hotel ones). The lighting in the room was also very good, something needed when applying make up and most other hotel rooms are very poor. We didn't hear anything from other rooms despite the hotel being busy, although at the time of our stay they were digging up the road outside but it didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay. The staff were friendly both at reception and in the dining room. The breakfasts were the best we sampled in any of the hotels we stayed in Northern Ireland with a good choice too.
Overall I would highly recommend Tara Lodge for your stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarotonga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

This lovely, modern, boutique hotel is in a great location, a 10-15 min walk (or a 5 min bus ride) from the city centre, in a student area, with a large selection of restaurants nearby. We went to Scalini's, a well priced Italian across the road & Clements is a nice coffee bar, just round the corner. If you want to go further and like seafood, the Mourne Seafood Bar in the city centre is marvellous & incredible value for money, though book at least a fortnight ahead.

The rooms were nicely decorated, modern art on the walls, very clean, though I found the bed uncomfortable, a little soft, and the pillows weren't great either.

Breakfast was excellent, a great choice of cooked or continental, very friendly service.

One criticism would be that they don't seem very environmentally friendly, towels were replaced every day, and half used soap & toiletries were taken away and replaced. Some people may prefer this & consider that good service, but I think it's wasteful and like hotels that take a greener stance.

Overall - great value for money, great location, helpful, friendly staff, great breakfast. Well recommended & I would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerraIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing