We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with my partner, could not fault this amazing place, staff were extremely friendly, annexe room was gorgeous, very clean and had everything you could possibly need for your stay, perfect location near to city centre and a large choice of restaurants and breakfast in the morning was lovely, was also able to book game of thrones tour for my partners Christmas present through them which was thoroughly enjoyable! Will definitely return and recommend this brilliant hotel to anyone staying in Belfast :)

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eleisha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    404
    66
    15
    16
See reviews for
272
1,280
136
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went over to be close to my dad who was having an operation at The City Hospital, only 10 minute walk away. The staff we all so friendly and helpful at this tricky time. We meet 6 of the receptionist over our stay and they were all lovely. When my dad was in ICU the next week, the first place I rang was Tara Lodge. My mum and I stayed for a week. The decor is stylish, there is a calm feel, it is clean and comfortable. The staff can not do enough to help but also know when to leave you alone too. They were closed over Christmas and Boxing day and Ricky, the waiter, found me a place to stay for my children. The breakfast was great. The Tara lodge is within walking distance of many restaurants and a 20 min walk into the city centre. The University is 2 minutes away. There are buses around the corner and the Botanic Avenue train stop, which is great. I would highly recommend staying here. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 5 nights at Tara over the Christmas holidays. Plane arrived very early in the morning. Thank you to the manager for letting us in to get some much needed rest. Staff was so attentive and friendly we didn't want to leave. Breakfasts were awesome. Tara deserves it's number one rating.Would definitely stay here again.Tans so much.Peggy.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richmac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You must visit !!

Flew from England to Belfast on 4th Jan. Choose this hotel based on reviews and I'm so pleased we did

Amazing welcome with recommendations of where to eat that night (chose local Italian and they weren't wrong Amazing)
Our room was in the annex so we didn't enter through main hotel, we liked this idea.
Everywhere is spotless I'm a little ocd and couldn't find fault with the room or the communal areas.
Everything has been done with quality from the fabrics to the shower gel. Even had a coffee machine and bottle water in the room.
Breakfast loads of choice and really good quality. The server was a lovely lovely man who give us advice on where to visit.
Every member of staff is super polite and helpful, there's not 1 thing I can fault on this hotel. My words to describe it would be quality. It's better than a lot of 5* hotels I've stayed in.

You are a 2min walk from a street full of food outlets and restaurants and a 15 min walk to the main areas. Excellent location.
Titanic and all the touristy things are not too far either

We wouldn't stay anywhere else
Thanks for a wonderful 3 days

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holidaysilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night and could not fault it..... Location was very good, room comfortable and very clean. There was a fab choice for breakfast, to suit all tastes. Staff were very friendly and helpful also. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby, within walking distance. Will definitely return.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had our wedding venue a 2mins walk from Tara Lodge. Every member of staff couldn't have been more helpful from the day we booked several rooms. The hotel was spotless, comfortable and convenient for everyone of our guests. We returned to Tara Lodge after our wedding venue and the small touches to our room where so special and much appreciated. Breakfast is amazing here. Definitely one of the nicest hotels you will stay in Belfast. I couldn't have had a better experience. Well done Tara Lodge!!!!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lora1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead T, Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are so delighted you allowed us to play a small part in your big day! It was important to all of us that everything was perfect for you - so I'm glad to hear it was. The whole team wishes you and William many happy years together.

Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,
Sinéad
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Tara lodge for new years eve. We booked in for 2 nights stay. Big shout out to Olivia at reception, never have we been checked in like it and ererythng explained straight away ,this girl knew her stuff and always with a beautiful smile. Rooms are spotless, warm, and the bed was like sleeping in a CLOUD best night sleep ever, lovely toiletries, so nice to wake up without the noise of housekeeping hoovering, doors banging etc pure bliss. Housekeeping do a marvellous job with out the noise, benefits of a smaller hotel.
Coin and all the staff at breakfast amazing , Thank you ,very discreet not in your face and coffee was a constant.. breakfast WOW ,amazing selection,hot,plenty of it,beautifully presented,cooked to order,fresh I could go on, to the people who cook and prepare keep up the great work. We had a fantastic experience and look forward to coming back very soon, and have already taught about booking for next new years, would highly recommend this hidden gem. Another plus is the parking ,a lot of the larger hotels parking is extra or not available so another bonus. It is in walking distance to town,clubs,restaurants. Tara lodge made our new years stay extra special.
Amanda and David

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _amandawhelan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing