We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ricky and the Tara Lodge are the Best B&B in all of Europe!!!!!”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank
2 reviews
“Ricky and the Tara Lodge are the Best B&B in all of Europe!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

From the first moment we walked in the door we were greeted with a great smile and wonderful attitude. Ricky called the Black Cab tours while we dropped our stuff off in our room and the cab was there within minutes. He also arranged our Giants Causeway tour, with a pick up at the hotel. They have free internet access, phone in your room, oh and the rooms are amazing, so beautiful and clean. The bathrooms are amazing as well. The English breakfast was the best I had our our trip and it was very nice how the sun came into the breakfast room in the morning. Don't stay anywhere else than the Tara Lodge. Oh, if you are in the mood for Italian, take a little walk around the corner to Carlito's. They are new and have great great food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcasmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,936
    419
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,373
141
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
414 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Straightforward 10-15 minutes walk south from Europa Bus Station. Tara Lodge is just 50 meters of the busy Botanic Ave in a quiet side street. Helpful staff, particular the receptionist in calling the Black Cab Taxi Tour company and advising us on good restaurants. Excellent breakfast. Quality room. Good double bed. Spotless. Be aware that the back of Tara Lodge is meters away from Botanic railway station. When departing from Botanic Station, the diesel-electric rolling stock of Northern Ireland Railways make a lot of noise when you sleep with the windows open.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is a little gem. The only tiny grumble is it's location. The street that it's on is a bit run down and as a lone female I felt slightly uncomfortable walking down it at night. Apart from that it's wonderful. My room was superb, the location's peaceful, it's very convinent for the University and only ten minute walk to the city centre, the breakfast was great and the staff - particularly the receptionist- were really helpful. It's great value for money too. I'd certainly stay there again and would really recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJosie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The girl who checked us in couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, the bed was pure luxury. Tara lodge even provide a dvd player, as well as complimentary wifi internet access. The breakfast choices were excellent, the Tara lodge is ideally located so you can get over the fact that there is no bar. There are plenty in the nearby Botanic area. Any staff we came into contact with were very friendly

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letaylors03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This is a great little hotel, staff friendly and can't do enough for you. Clean comfortable room with plenty of toiletries in the bathroom. Also the hotel is very well appointed about a fifteen minute walk from the city centre. I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2010

All the staff were most pleasant & extremely helpful.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tara Lodge. I would certainly recommend it to any friends or aquanticies who are travelling to Belfast. Thank you for making it so pleasurable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHemelHempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uppsala, sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I stayed at three different hotels in Belfast. And if you don´t fancy for a bar or restaurant at hotel this is the one. Best bed and a lot of pubs and restaurants nearby. Back at hotel very calm.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuttetummelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,161 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing