We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tara lodge”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmun, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tara lodge”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hotel was very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful, only downside was there was some construction in the street which was quite noisy but it did not spoil our stay....oh and the breakfsat was great.......

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    425
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
296
1,389
141
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The service and amenities were fine, the room extraordinarily attractive and comfortable. In a lovely location on a quiet street near Queens College, a lively shopping street, a train and a bus stop and the Botanical Gardens. However, the visit for me was ruined by their "filtering" of my wifi access to the Internet. This blocked my use of perfectly innocent social networking sites as inappropriate. I accuse this hotel and any like it of police state policies! I've never experienced this is any hotel in Europe, the US or Latin America. Fortunately I was able to go to a cafe across the street which had uncensored, free wifi. Avoid this hotel, and perhaps Northern Ireland, if Internet is important to you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
Dear laciii

I am so pleased that you found our rooms so attractive and comfortable. That you found our location so good was great to hear.

I am very surprised that you would not recommend Tara Lodge and that you have advised other tripadvisor users to avoid Tara Lodge considering you extended your stay with us from three nights to six nights, 24 hours after your arrival, despite the fact that you had already experienced the limited filtering of our free WiFi system. Indeed I discussed this matter with you on the morning of your third day and you didn’t feel strongly enough about the issue to cancel the remainder of your stay.

We offer free WiFi as an added bonus for our guests. We also offer the free use of a computer and printer for all our guests. I would reassure any WiFi users considering a stay with us that our minimal filtering is in place to protect our IP address only.

Kind Regards
Nora Douds
Tara Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

All the other reviews have it right - well located in university, Botanic area of city, about 10 mins walk from the centre. Close to lots of restaurants. Well served by many bus routes. The hotel is clean, efficiently run with terrific staff who were very knowledgeable about the city, the attractions and restaurants. Thanks for the recommendations! The breakfasts were amazing. Room and bed perfect. Free parking on site.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorient, France
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Ideally situated in Belfast, Tara Lodge is a high quality hotel offering all the facilities you need. The rooms are impeccable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The staff is helpful and rather kind. We appreciated the variety of choice for breakfast which was excellent and served with efficiency. All in all, it's an address to remember and to recommend to anyone who wants to discover Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leprechaun2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Absolutely beautiful decor in bedrooms, thick carpet, incredibly comfy bed and pillows, super shower, steam iron, safe, hairdryer, flat screen freeview telly, Everything throughout was spotlessly clean. What more could you want? Oh yes, delicious breakfast, they even toasted my wheaten bread for me! Really helpful, delightful staff too. Just a little point, although I am not a fan of "nets" , maybe it would be worth putting them in rooms with acres of windows. I felt somewhat visible through the almost wall to wall windows during daylight hours in my room, as many of the houses, including opposite, have been converted into student flats (Tara is very near the university). The hotel is easy 5-8 min walk from the train/bus station, Late opening food, snack, drinks etc shops, oodles of coffee shops and restaurants all aroundand Ulster Museuam just up the street. Can thoroughly recommend Moghul restaurant at the end of Cromwell Road too. Felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APMW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras,Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed at room 20 for five days with my wife and everything was excellent, considering
the price. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a small hotel and the personel was very friendly. We would certainly come back if we revesit Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alefrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I have just returned from a 3 day trip to Belfast with my 8 year old daughter, where I stayed at Tara Lodge. This B & B was excellent in every way! The location was perfect, with just a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre. The accomodation was 1st class - beautifully clean, comfortable and well equipped (VERY comfortable bed, ensuite shower & bath, TV, DVD player, hairdyer, iron.....) The breakfast was also outstanding with lots of choice! My daughter and I opted for the superb cooked breakfast and this was a great way to start the day. All the staff there were extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and polite - it really was a great stay all round. We will definately be returning in the very near future!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna6077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,184 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 44 in Belfast
1,518 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing