We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tara Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
House Belfast(Belfast)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,734)
Filter reviews
2,734 results
Traveller rating
2,170
459
74
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,170
459
74
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomcity centreporridgesmall hotelnespresso machinebotanic stationdvd playerstudent areabotanic gardensminute walkqueens universityexcellent breakfastoff street parkingrestaurants and barsulster museumblack cab tourcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,270 - 2,275 of 2,734 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed in the Tara lodge with my daughter for one night and i have to say it is one of the nicest places i have stayed in. The rooms are gorgeous, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds and well equipped with everything you need for your stay. The breakfast was excellent too with a great variety of food to suit all tastes. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.
It is in a good location too, within walking distance to the bus station and city centre shops. There are also lots of nice bars and restaurants around this area too. Overall i higlhy recommend the Tara Lodge and it will be the only place i am staying in from now on when i am in Belfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrygal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hotel was very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful, only downside was there was some construction in the street which was quite noisy but it did not spoil our stay....oh and the breakfsat was great.......

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The service and amenities were fine, the room extraordinarily attractive and comfortable. In a lovely location on a quiet street near Queens College, a lively shopping street, a train and a bus stop and the Botanical Gardens. However, the visit for me was ruined by their "filtering" of my wifi access to the Internet. This blocked my use of perfectly innocent social networking sites as inappropriate. I accuse this hotel and any like it of police state policies! I've never experienced this is any hotel in Europe, the US or Latin America. Fortunately I was able to go to a cafe across the street which had uncensored, free wifi. Avoid this hotel, and perhaps Northern Ireland, if Internet is important to you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear laciii

I am so pleased that you found our rooms so attractive and comfortable. That you found our location so good was great to hear.

I am very surprised that you would not recommend Tara Lodge and that you have advised other tripadvisor users to avoid Tara Lodge considering you extended your stay with us from three nights to six nights, 24 hours after your arrival, despite the fact that you had already experienced the limited filtering of our free WiFi system. Indeed I discussed this matter with you on the morning of your third day and you didn’t feel strongly enough about the issue to cancel the remainder of your stay.

We offer free WiFi as an added bonus for our guests. We also offer the free use of a computer and printer for all our guests. I would reassure any WiFi users considering a stay with us that our minimal filtering is in place to protect our IP address only.

Kind Regards
Nora Douds
Tara Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

All the other reviews have it right - well located in university, Botanic area of city, about 10 mins walk from the centre. Close to lots of restaurants. Well served by many bus routes. The hotel is clean, efficiently run with terrific staff who were very knowledgeable about the city, the attractions and restaurants. Thanks for the recommendations! The breakfasts were amazing. Room and bed perfect. Free parking on site.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Ideally situated in Belfast, Tara Lodge is a high quality hotel offering all the facilities you need. The rooms are impeccable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The staff is helpful and rather kind. We appreciated the variety of choice for breakfast which was excellent and served with efficiency. All in all, it's an address to remember and to recommend to anyone who wants to discover Belfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leprechaun2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews