We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly staff only too willing to help guests with tours etc”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Have been visiting the Tara Lodge for ten years now and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms are lovely and spotless. It is always a pleasure to go for breakfast as not only is the food excellent but also the staff are always ready to help or advise on places to visit while in Belfast. Every year someone new is added to our party and on almost every occasion they want to go back to the Tara. This in itself speaks volumes for the hotel. The area the hotel is in does tend to get noisy if you have rooms to the front however this is more than compensated by the friendliness of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,210 - 2,216 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

For the last 10 years my party and I have had our September break in Belfast and stayed in the Tara Lodge Hotel, I have always found the Staff friendly and helpful, The Rooms Excellent and Clean, The Breakfast Choice Excellent I would no problem recomending The Tara Lodge

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHaddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Location: A little way from the action, but that is not a real issue. The area could get busier and noisier when students return, and that is something that is probably hinted at in the information which makes it clear that the Hotel is near the University. We hadn't expected the railway line to be across the road, but it wasn't particularly noisy.
Services: Staff and breakfast excellent.
Room: Very clean and comfortable, but the bathroom has a couple of design flaws - in such a luxuriously appointed room, the bath should be full size (not that there is much that can be done about that now) and the toilet-roll holder was unusable because it was wedged up against the radiator.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayfields_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights early in September 2010 and we had an amazing time. The hotel staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble! The breakfast is a must - we had the porridge one morning and a fry up the next. Highly recommend both!

The only issue is that the place is in the middle of student land and as the room was really hot, we slept with the window open - which was difficult when the pubs closed and then later when the clubs closed! It's not a major problem as the UK is not really hot - otherwise I'd recommend Air Conditioning as it is a little difficult to sleep with the noise outside. Although it wasn't that bad as we are looking to stay here again next year when we go back to Ireland for a holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waughthewaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

stayed here for 3 nights. good location with plenty of restaurants/cafe/bars/shops within 3min walk. Please note that there is free parking & that was great as other hotels dont have this and many of them dont have any parking facility at all.
You must try the local indian at the top of the road.
Staff were very nice,rooms were clean and well proportioned and very comfortable. It does not have a restaurant or bar but having said that the Breakfast was excellent & you really dont need the restaurant as the the local eateries/bars are so close.
All in all was pleasantly surprised both by the hotel and the location. You might be a bit put off by the vacant flats wich appear neglected & some indication that the street looks a bit run down but dont let this prevent you from staying here.
In conclusion I dont have anything bad to say about tara Lodg.e

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ges1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

What a wonderful gem this hotel is….it is spotless, has a super friendly and informative staff, (thank you Nuala). We had a complimentary bottle of bubbly and two champagne glasses waiting in our room on arrival for our anniversary…such a thoughtful gesture - our room was very spacious and well appointed, with a great bed and lovely linens, super shower and lots of amenities. no plastic glasses or cups here! The breakfast room was a bright and beautiful area with lots of clean shiny windows – service was very efficient and the menu offered was excellent with lots of choices (breakfast was also included in the rate). The hotel provides free internet (plus a computer and printer in the lobby) and secure parking. It is also very well located.

The hotel made us a reservation for dinner at Beatrice Kennedy’s…..within walking distance…what a fabulous restaurant this is – great food and much ambience…check it out.

No wonder Tara Lodge is #1 on Tripadvisor – it deserves to be. The management and staff should be very proud of their establishment …and as clients – we can recommend them highly!

Carole and Art Collier
Carrying Place, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Thanks to the reviews here about various hotels we picked out Tara Lodge and it certainly deserves its high standing in the top places to stay.Situated in a quite area with the only noise being the train pulling away in the morning from the station behind. its also close to the university and loads of restaurants.The free parking on site was also a big reason for us to stay there so that the car could parked up safely for a few days and leave ourselves to enjoy the city without the stress of finding a place leave the car.Tara Lodge was spotless clean throughout and with friendly staff the only thing we regretted was that hadden't planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 47 in Belfast
2,653 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#4 of 47 in Belfast
1,631 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing