We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and Friendly service”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
1 review
“Very professional and Friendly service”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I booked Tara Lodge as a main base for a colleague who travelled to Belfast for work. We used the hotel on and off for 3 months and we couldn't have been happier with the service. Everything was handled very professionally and in particular the receptionist, Janine, was always on hand to help make our bookings easier in what could have been a logistical nightmare. Nothing was too much trouble. My colleague has also reported that the hotel is very friendly and the location was great. Overall, as a business, we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    431
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
301
1,410
142
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Firstly the online directions were 1st class. Arrived,parked in the free (secure) car park and entered reception to be greeted by a very pleasant receptionist with an equally pleasant smile. We checked into our room, very pleased, clean, tidy well appointed room with the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. As we were leaving to go out for the evening the receptionist was a font of knowledge on everything from where to eat,drink be entertained right through to the best taxi company to use on our way back. Excellent. The location of the Tara Lodge is also a major plus. On your doorstep you have a variety of pubs,bars, restaurants, niteclubs,live venues etc and yet we heard no commotion at all whilst in our bedroom. Breakfast was faultless and coupled with the excellent service, again, from our waiter it has convinced us that Tara Lodge will be our resident stop over every time we are in Belfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugsterefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed a night in this hotel with our two young children. The staff couldn't do enough to help us. The cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms were great. Everything you needed was there and the breakfast was superb. Kids loved the creamy banana and honey porridge and fresh fruit salad. Hubby loved the porridge with bushmills! I loved the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We totally endorse all the positive comments shown on this site regarding Tara Lodge. Our room was booked for 3 o'clock in the afternoon but, Janine the Receptionist allowed us to use it from 9 a.m. and, offered us breakfast as well !!. Nora, who served the fresh cooked breakfast, has the loveliest smile and brightest personality we've ever come across at that time of the morning. Great service and a bit of cheerful craic from Colin & Dave who served us the next day. Superb location in a quiet side street, 2 mins from all the bustle of Botanic Avenue. It seems Nora is the Manager and, if so, all credit to her for leading an outstanding team. The hotel is great, the staff are outstanding and they really made a difference to our visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyJugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I spent along time surfing the net looking for a small boutique hotel in Belfast that would suit all our needs, good location, modern, quiet, secure parking, no smoking, excellent breakfast with porridge, only 10 mins from city centre, a few mins from Queens museum and near great restaurants. This hotel ticked all the boxes and didnt disappoint. The staff were so nice and helpful especially Ricky.

The room was a bit hot on the second night and it would be great to have a top sheet to use instead of quilt. If I had asked, they would have given me a lighter quilt.
Anna - Co Clare

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita19624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

A welcoming hotel with staff who are helpful and friendly, we would highly recommend the Tara Lodge if you are looking for a small hotel handy for both the university area and getting in to central Belfast.
We could not fault the room for cleanliness and comfort, and the breakfasts were of a high standard with lots of choice - and offering local fare like special porridge and Irish soda bread and farls, as well as the full Irish!
Can't find anything negative to say!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Loved the place straightaway. As soon as we walked in the guy at the desk gave us a little guide and details on where we wanted to go, better than if we went to the tourist office. Breakfast was gorgeous, cooked to order, and staff were really pleasant. And most important, the beds were really comfy! There's a very short walk (4-5 yards) outside between the two blocks of the hotel to get to breakfast, but for us, this just added to our feeling of privacy. Would definitely go back, both to Belfast and to the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmurt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,203 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing