We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent really great”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent really great”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed last night great in every way staff so helpful,room fantastic and so warm and clean.Breakfast great-will stay again.Maybe they should think of a restaurant and bar for the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,923
    418
    70
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,359
141
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My experience with Tara Lodge was excellent from start to finish! Great start to a relaxing, stress free night away when you find a highly secure (free) car parking facility for guests located to the rear of the hotel. We entered the reception area of the hotel where we enjoyed a very warm welcome, and could immediately see how clean the hotel is, finished to a very high standard. Our room was excellent - flat screen TV, iron & ironing board, DVD player and luxurious beds with crisp white sheets which you just can't wait to fall into! Some advise however - although the beds are extremely comfortable, it is certainly worthwhile taking yourself downstairs for the exceptional breakfast on offer! Catering for all tastes, the breakfast is cooked fresh as you order - just what everyone wants! Again, the staff were very friendly and more than helpful, making our stay enjoyable to the very end. My experience only proves that Tara Lodge is well deserving of their recent award and I already look forward to my next stay!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We arrived ridiculously early after the ferry decanted us sooner than we expected, but they were still able to accommodate us, despite us checking in before 8am on our day of arrival...!

They could not have done more for us in terms of service. Breakfast the following morning was excellent - individually cooked for each person, and they let us tweak the menu to our own tastes. By far the best hotel breakfast I've ever had.

Location is just out of the city centre, but within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants nearby - both gourmet and pub grub, so the lack of an evening restaurant in the hotel is not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isoflurane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Very nice and clean Bed and Breafast, very helpful staff
helping me with my flight arrangements.
Large rooms, quiet. Great breakfast .
Slightly epensive for a BandB but will come again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pafkamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Nice spacious room, excellent breakfast options, very polite and efficient staff, very clean, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I didn't really truly believe the reviews that I read on Tara Lodge, but I booked anyway on the strength of the recommendations. The place exceeded my expectations. We also had the best breakfast that we have had in any hotel in the past 20 years. And the staff are the friendliest that I have met in any hotel.

This hotel doesn't have an evening restaurant or a bar. It doesn't need them as there are loads of them (and quality ones) nearby. It's a better place because of that.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRMMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here as a little treat for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel has a rather strange location but is centrally located. We walked to the centre to the Christmas Markets and also on to the Odyssey Arena as well (a bit of a trek but it was a beautiful night!) The hotel room was lovely and there was a nice range of toiletries and flat screen TV. I had read the reviews on breakfast and i certainly lived up to expectations. The waiter was extremely helpful and good humored and knew that I was definitely there for the porridge with the wee nip of Irish whiskey! We were treated so well and would certainly hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s10cud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing