We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lillies!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maranatha House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maranatha House
Ranked #7 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork Ireland
1 review
“Lillies!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

I know id chosen the right place when i walked into see a great big bunch of lillies in the hall!! this house looks and smells amazing! both at breakfast time and any other time! a quiet place, nice staff, great great breakfast (im a massive potato bread addict now!) and generally very pleasant to stay in. walk to town was about 25 mins which was ok, there are some other restaurants nearby which are great! ill def revisit.. if even for more potato bread!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    72
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
77
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed for one night on a short visit to Belfast. When I made inquiries via email, I was advised to phone instead; the person I spoke to by phone wasn't the same person who responded to my email, and had quite a short and abrupt manner which almost discouraged us from booking.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a young woman aged mid-20s, who promptly showed us to our room, and left. She gave the impression of being completely disinterested; perhaps someone's daughter roped in?
The location is approximately 10/15mins from the Central Station, and is close to some neighbourhood shops, a park, and appears to be on a bus route (we had a rental car), so convenient to Belfast City. The entrance and common areas are lovely and well maintained, with modern furniture in the breakfast room and lounge. The guesthouse is three stories, and our room was on the 3rd story - room 10.
Room 10 contained a double bed (2 singles bolted together) plus a single bed, and ensuite bathroom. There was a fitted wardrobe, a fitted desk (with a chair similar to the breakfast room), and a bedside locker. There was also a 15 inch flat screen tv on the wall, and the desk contained a kettle, milk packets, coffee and tea plus cookies. The linen looks fresh, the carpets were fine but the furniture looked very dated and there were some marks on the curtains. The room looked down onto the rear of the property, onto the yards of other houses and a small alley, with a view towards Sturmont. The wall showed visible damp in the corner, which while possibly fixed, hasn't been painted over.
The beds were very comfortable with a soft mattress topper between the mattress and the bottom sheet, although very cool to get into! Perhaps an electric blanket or the offer of hot water bottles wouldn't go astray over the winter months.
The bathroom was ensuite, and included a toilet, sink and shower; the fittings looked relatively modern, but wallpaper was lifting in several places, and as someone else has previously mentioned, the sink shelf was covered in cigarette marks. The shower had very good pressure and hot water, but the height of the shower head was fixed quite high and isnt able to be moved.
Overall, we were at this stage a little disappointed, but the next morning, we had breakfast, and our opinion improved with a good meal. We both had a full cooked breakfast, and while the portions were average rather than ample, they were well cooked (my partner pointed out the bacon as an example of how I should cook it!), and both the potato and soda bread were lovely. There were 3 types of juice, fruit, several types of cereal and also yoghurt, so if you weren't keen on a cooked meal, you were still well catered for. The gentleman running the breakfast service did a very good job, and considering all the other tables were occupied, we were served very quickly.
Apart from the girl meeting us at arrival and the breakfast service, we didn't see nor hear anyone, and got the impression (rightly or wrongly) that no one lived onsite.
We paid £70 for the two of us including breakfast, and my partner put breakfast at £20, meaning accommodation worked out at £50 for the night, which is acceptable. If it wasn't for breakfast however, we would have left very disappointed. When you choose an alternative over a hotel you expect the personal touch, and it wasn't really present here apart from breakfast. I think if we came back to Belfast, we'd try for a hotel first, but would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlinterested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbree254, Manager at Maranatha House, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Hi,

Thanks for your review ! I was 'The gentleman running the breakfast service did a very good job, and considering all the other tables were occupied, we were served very quickly.'
You were staying in Room 10 which was completed renovated at the start of this year - see photos on our web-site. Thank you for bringing the service issue to my attention - sometimes we ask part-time staff to fill in for the manager on her afternoons off and unfortunately a situation like this occurs. However we have now rectified this for the future. We would love to have you back to stay with us when you next return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Lovely b and b that is about a 30 minute walk from Belfast centre and a 15 minute walk to local pubs and restaurants, The advantages of this place are that you can park for free (parking in the centre is expensive). The rooms are modern, spacious and clean and have all the amenities needed. There is a lot of information readily available about local activities and day trips. There is a nice park across the road and the neighbourhood is a nice safe place. They cook a great breakfast and the menu had something for all appetites and tastes. The coffee was freshly ground and the lounge and dining room are really modern and comfortable. Marion was on hand to offer us some advice on places to eat etc. Overall this hotel was perfect for us because we had a car and wanted to explore the coastal drives of Northern Ireland and it is perfectly located to get to Belfast City Airport (10 minute drive)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford on avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

When visiting Belfast in the past I stayed in the larger chain hotels
This hotel was a very pleasant suprise with great breakfasts

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superbeesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Booked online - no problems. We stayed in a large ensuite double/triple bedroom, clean and well-decorated, with plenty of extra facilities (nice to have a hairdryer and iron). Although on a busy main road there was no disturbing noise at all. The excellent breakfasts really set us up for the day, and the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. This guesthouse had seemed a bit off the beaten track compared with some others but in fact it was very convenient. We didn’t bother with buses as it was only a 20 minutes walk into town over Albert Bridge and past the station, or half-an-hour on the scenic route through Ormeau Park. And even in the rush-hour the local taxi driver got us to the City Airport in 15 minutes. Definitely the place we’ll want to stay next time we’re in Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crwydrgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed here last Saturday and found the place to be spotlessly clean and a very comfortable twin room with en suite. The facilities were great right down to the choice of bed side biscuit and complimentary tea and coffee room facilities. Nicely placed off the park and quiet enough to avoid the husstle and busstle of the city centre yet 10 min walk to town. The clincher for me had to be the breakfast or full monty Ulster fry ! Absolutely supurb, and set me up for the day! I didn't need to eat for the WHOLE of the remainder of the day! Fantastic service and will definately recommend and visit again, well done and thanks.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed here just about 2 weeks ago and loved it and Belfast so much we stayed an extra night! The B&B was very clean, wonderful service, and the breakfast was something to speak of! We walked back and forth to the city (about a 10 min walk) a few different times and enjoyed the walk. It is also located close to the City Airport (about a 10 min drive). It was the best placed we stayed on our trip around Europe and we will be coming back here one day!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawrhoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maranatha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maranatha House

Property: Maranatha House
Address: 254 Ravenhill Road, Belfast BT6 8GL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maranatha House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Maranatha House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranatha Guest House Hotel Belfast
Maranatha Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing