We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakdene Lodge(Belfast)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hilton Belfast(Belfast)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Tara Lodge(Belfast)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,531 results
Traveller rating
925
320
139
84
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
320
139
84
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbouncy castlewedding venuewedding receptionleisure facilitiessteam roomrelaxing breaksunday carveryfrom start to finishnext morningafternoon teafunction roomtop classduty managernorthern irelandan overnight stayfantastic hotelscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,147 - 1,152 of 1,531 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

we wanted to recharge our batterys after christmas with working hard.booked a night at the la mon.we arrived early so we could use the country club.we went to reception to let them know we had arrived and the girl said we could check in as room was ready.she was polite and friendly and had a great smile..

we upgraded to the executive suite as the rooms are massive and very clean..it is sheer luxury.even has a fridge in the room.great touch.massive bed.

we used the swimming pool,sauna,steam room,jacquzzi.as a guest its free you recieve a towel when you go to the spa reception.now you have to hire a swimming cap at a cost of a pound.its washed after everytime its used.its a nice touch to stop hairs in the pool.my husband was ok he hasnt any (bald) lol.we came out nice and relaxed.nice size of a pool

we went to the bistro bar for a light lunch and had soup and sandwiches.very tasty indeed.we decided would have a drink as it was so relaxing,then it lead to another one and another one.as usual service first class.the bar manager jim remembers us and was brilliant.he treats everyone the same and is so polite and helpful.pulls out all the stops for you and nothing is to much bother for him.....THANKS SO MUCH JIM..SEE YOU END MARCH...

we used the bistro bar for dinner and we got the deal with our room a two course meal and a drink included..if you love pate try the la mon pate its wow wow.everytime i am there i order it.trying my best to get some to take home with me.hint hint jim lol..we had fish and chips best batter ever tastied.also there chicken goujons as well my wife love there gravy...she is looking some to take home as well jim lol..yet again first class service at dinner and chefs do there customers proud..roll on end march..nothing is to much trouble for them.if you are not happy let them know as they will pull out all the stops to fix it for you.

we would like to congradulate the managing director francis brady on receiving his M.B.E.very well done, well deserved

roll on end march till we go back to see george jones and clubsound...

breakfast was to die for.just want you need in the morning.all tasty and great sausages.warm plates,warm toast,warm tea or coffee,warm ulster fry...

thanks all at the la mon...

Room Tip: upgrade to the exective room...you wont go wrong..its massive
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenhunter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

1. staff very brusque and unfriendly except lounge/bar manager.

2. food not quality i expected ie had seafood chowder muffin was dense and did not taste fresh....chowder had some potatoes cooked and some slightly undercooked , prawns were rubbery ..very dissapointing . had chicken gougons for main and very greasy....

3. breakfast ..seated by brusque staff setting up/clearing tables. offered tea/.coffee . tea placed on table and that was it !!!...........no directions for breakfast.

Ii have stayed in numerous hotels and do know how to get my breakfast from buffet however it was my first visit to la Mon and i would also expect staff to direct me on all occasions (part of customer service)...no one spoke to me until i was leaving the restaurant and said goodbye

4. lacked any atmosphere

plus: the room was spotless and very comfortable and lady on reception when i was leaving was pleasant and helpful

however i booked into another hotel for my second night that week in Belfast

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Have been going to La Mon for lunch on a regular basis for quite some time. Its not the best ambience in the world, but it is functional and good value. There is a well served menu of good honest well presented classic dishes and there will be something to suit all tastes. The soups are wholesome and my staples of mushroom starter and scampi main are always consistent. No matter who I attend with the plates are always left clean. The lunch menu of two courses with drink for £14.95 is great value and will keep bringing me back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintRP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We arrived at La Mon and from the outside we were impressed..Looked like it deserved all the better reviews we'd read on trip advisor. Staff friendly at check in though didn't mention anything about where to have breakefast etc..Got to the room and we were quite shocked - it was very dated with holes in the walls and had hair on the bed sheets. The bed was probably the hardest I've ever slept on! No batteries in the remote control, however when mentioned to reception, they brought some to our door in about 5 minutes.

The bar was reasonable - nice open fire and decent service with a wide variety of drinks.

There was a wedding on the same night we stayed and our room happened to be quite close to the function room so there was constant noise both outside the hotel and in the corridor throughout the night and if we weren't kept awake by wedding guests hollering, the incessant dripping during the rainfall overnight was enough to send us mad!! Sounded as though the guttering was loose..???

We'd a great breakfast the next morning - couldn't fault the food at all, but it then took us 20 minutes to check out.

Overall, La Mon needs some room renovations, better beds and more staff at check out. Definitely wouldn't stay there again! The room we stayed in was more like a 2 star!

Room Tip: Ask if there's a function on when you're booking...and ask if your room is in the 2 star section of the hotel or the advertised 4 star....or just avoid!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We are just home after a 1 night stay in the suite,it was fab and everything that you would need.We had a meal in the restaurant which was fantastic and went on to the entertainment which was also very good,the staff could not of been any more helpful that they were.Would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor luxury suite
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulam351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews