We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time here but ticked all the boxes for dietary needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“1st time here but ticked all the boxes for dietary needs”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights with 350 other delegates at conference. Told them as i arrived that required gluten free meals-fantastic. All their curries,risottos,salads for lunch were GF and fresh sandwiches on 2nd day with GF bread that was really good-very unusual to receive this sort of option, especially with this many people. Breakfast had GF bread which didn't taste like cardboard.The rooms were frighteningly warm unfortunately and the spa looked fab just didn't have time to use it. Parking was a bit of a problem for this many too but not enough to stop me returning here again for a similar event.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamcara28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    284
    125
    71
    44
See reviews for
427
355
18
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend for 1 night recently, in the deluxe suite.
Beautiful grounds and The hotel reception staff and porters were excellent.The room was great, although it could do with some minor repairs to plasterwork etc.
I have been to wedding receptions there before and I was always impressed with the food. I have to admit to being a little disappointed in the menu this time though. It is very limited although I must say the waiting staff were very attentive.
My biggest problem was in the bar. There are a very few senior staff who seem to know their business but they are surrounded by kids who haven't a clue, are obviously untrained and have just been thrown in at the deep end.
I would definitely go back but I can only hope that the hotel is going through a transitional period at the minute otherwise it will lose it's previously excellent reputation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigweejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just been at the la mon on a break we had purchased through TreatTicket, it was the romance break, we stayed on a Friday night, let me start by saying that when we arrived we were well looked after and our bags were escorted up to our deluxe room, where we were pleasantly surprised to walk into a lovely big, modern well laid out room with an excellent bed, the shower was super and the room was in a lovely quite position, room 118, we dined in the restaurant that night where the service was fabulous, the food is better than some of the top restaurants that I've been in, the wine selecting available had been well thought through and if top quality, we had the steak which was faultless and the homemade doughnuts, absolutely delicious, the manager was particularly attentive to ensure we were enjoying our stay and a very helpful and pleasant person, we received excellent service and had a wonderful time, we will certainly be seeing you all again, thank you all for making our stay so nice. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor co.down
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the La Mon 4 times within the last year as I find it affordable and fairly pleasant.

However on my last two visits I have noticed that it has been on the decline. For starters the Bistro menu. The menu and standard of food is appalling. It used to be fantastic and pretty much faultless but now it is bland and not worth the price. I am assuming the chef has changed as the menu has had slight changes recently.

Also the temperature of the Bistro. Every time I have dined here it has been very cold. On my last experience I complained to the bar staff and they attempted the lit the fire, after waiting an hour we decided to simply head to our room to get some heat.

The rooms are very well designed, clean and tidy. I think that's the best thing about the hotel and they are good value for money.

The hotel and country club In general is all a bit dated. The spa could really use a revamp.

I am attending a wedding here later in the year and while I would not choose this for a wedding venue I am interested to see how it goes.

I should add that the staff are always friendly and welcoming!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank st13790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello st13790,

Firstly thank-you for your valued custom over the years, and also for taking the time to review on trip advisor.

All of your feedback will be taken on board and discussed at management level accordingly.

I am objectively reviewing on a continual basis all areas of the hotel to ensure the very best experience possible. Improvements, and hotel refurbishments are all ongoing within the hotel, and long term growth in all areas of the hotel are the optimum goal.

I would be interested to hear more of your thoughts regarding our menu offering. Customer feedback and ideas are always taken very seriously, we involve third parties in our decision making and planning process regular on a regular basis.

My e-mail contact is generalmanager@lamon.co.uk
I would be more than happy to discuss further.

It would be our wish for you to return in the near future to experience our renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I spent 2 nights in La Mon from 15th-17th February and from start to finish I cannot find anything to criticise. On arrival as when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of Prosecco which I believe was an added touch given the weekend. On our first night (Saturday) we ate in the Shakespeares Restaurant. As part of Valentines weekend there was a set menu which was excellent value. The food was superb and the personal touch of both manager and chef speaking to us about the food just added to the experience and the chef seemed pleased when I told him it was the first meal I'd eaten in a restaurant without adding salt to it. Not a big thing for most but as a food lover, this was certainly a compliment from me. The attention of staff was second to none and nothing was ever too much trouble. Room service was always on time, well presented and never cold which I sometimes find when you order breakfast to the room. All in all, our stay was fantastic and I would not hesitate to return here and cannot recommend La Mon any higher to potential guests. In a word: FAULTLESS!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from a stay here an annual get together for the girls in the family. We booked for the mixology class. We arrived at the hotel and while our rooms weren't eady as we were early the staff were very attentive and kept us informed what was happening. At 4 O'clock we were taken by Gareth to the room that the cocktail making was taking place in, there were canopies there and they the fun began. Gareth was a great teacher !!!! and kept the craic going we made 4 different cocktails with tasters of each and then we each made out own, Gareth got a little help from one of the management team who again kept the craic going and was able to give as good as he got to one of our company. We then eat in the bistro and the good was excellent. As there was a Michael Buble tribute band in the function room and management advsed us we could go in and listen if we wanted. A special word of thanks must go to the young male bartender who very kindly did all in his power to re-light the fire beside us without firelighters. Little tip he used candle wax. Breakfast this morning was excellent and our rooms 321 & 322 quadruple were large and roomy. I would recommend this hotel for any type of break.

Room Tip: If there is a group of you 321 & 322 were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Fionamcg,

Thank you for your comment regarding your mixology break. You certainly seemed to enjoy the time with Gareth on this popular package.

I am glad the girls had fun and I hope that you had a chance to look into our Valentine's James Huish Michael Buble show.

I will pass your comments onto the team and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Lloyd Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This place offers good service and great value. It is a little traditional in terms of food etc but gives a good, no nonsense offering. It has a decent spa, the rooms are a good size and everyone is very friendly. We used it as a base for touring from and it was always a delight to spend evening there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mon Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Property: La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Address: 41 Gransha Road | Castlereagh, Belfast BT23 5RF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mon Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mon Hotel is a superb 4 star venue, 15 minutes from Belfast City Centre. It is complete with a luxury Health club, including a 15m Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, Tennis Court, Putting Green, Beauty & Hair Studio. Moreover La Mon's 120 luxury bedrooms and Award Winning Cuisine offers the chance to escape the bustling city and retreat to an altogether more luxurious and informal environment. Perfect for a Family Break or a Romantic Weekend Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Mon Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mon Hotel And Country Club
La Mon Country Hotel
La Mon Country Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing