We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was just a lovely experience from arrival until departure , the room was just something else the bed was really comfortable, the room itself was huge, set in such a inspiring area, idea for long walks or a base for surrounding area. the meal was just beautiful and plenty of it, on a final note the staff each and everyone we came in contact was just lovely and very professional .I can't recommend enough

Room Tip: We have a suite and it was everything and more than we asked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayceeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Jayceeni for your great review of our hotel.
It is great to hear from all of our customers whether good or bad as it helps us to continually improve on our offering.
We hope to one day welcome you back to our hotel where you can see many of the changes we will be implementing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    283
    125
    71
    44
See reviews for
426
355
18
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at La Mon for three nights recently and were extremely disappointed in our expectations. We arrived to a somewhat unprofessional welcome where no porter met us to assist us to our room, which we would expect of a four star hotel.

The room was very basic, overlooking a car park which was extremely noisy. The room was small and cramped with a very small bed and we felt there were little touches lacking compared to other four star hotels we have stayed in.

We ate in the bistro the first night and the food was tasty enough but the environment lacked any atmosphere. The furnishings were poor and lacklustre and it felt more like sitting in a supermarket cafe than a four star bistro.

We were excited about having access to the country club and it's facilities , we found them to be poor and were astounded to learn that if we wanted to use the facilities we would have to wear a bathing cap at all times, which we were expected to pay for. This was relayed to us by an extremely unprofessional member of staff. I decided to book a back massage ( I was stressed enough!!!) but could only reach an answering machine where I left a message with name, room number etc but I'm still waiting for that massage!

Most of the staff were friendly enough and I feel that the problem lies more with the managing aspect of the hotel. A little more effort and it may come up to par with a glorified Travelodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dempster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Mrs Dempster,
Thank you for your comments once again with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. I know I had spoken to you on departure with refernce to your issues and I once again sorry that La Mon did not meet up to your expectations.
The room you had booked was an internet exclusive premier standard room which are smaller than our other room types. We do have Premier Plus, Deluxe and also various levels of suites that are a lot larger and these room types can be found on our website.
I do agree with your comments on our Bistro and this has already been addressed with refurbishment scheduled for January 2015. Our Restaurant, which I don't think you tried, is also undergoing full refurbishment this September so hopefully your issues with atmosphere will be very different in the future.
As I said it would have been great if you had spoken to me or one of the management team during your stay, with regards to some of your issues eg Pamper Beauty Parlour which is privately owned. We may have been able to rectify some things to give you a more enjoyable stay. Often after your stay is over, it is difficult to change a guests perception once they feel let down. I am sorry that on this occasion La Mon did not match up to your expectations however thank you for your comments which will all be taken into consideration.

CC Eileen Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were married at this hotel and return every years for our anniversary. This time around was just as lovely and relaxing as our first stay.

The room was spacious and the bed was huge! The room had a TV with a wide selection of channels, tea facilities and a clean bathroom with deep bath and wonderful shower. The room was spotless throughout and was very quiet meaning we got a good night's sleep (important for parents of a toddler having a night off!)

The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and we were entertained with an impromptu pianist at the baby grand piano. Breakfast the following morning was good quality with a great selection of hot food, cereals, porridge, croissants and pastries.

We used the country club for the first time this stay (free for hotel guests). The pool area is lovely and very clean and quiet. There is a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which left us feeling refreshed.

The only thing I would mark down on this occasion was the lack of entertainment in the evening time. There isn't much by way of entertainment outside of the hotel and on a Friday night I would have hoped there would be something on for guests.

Also, there was a fault with the lock on our room door but we only noticed this on leaving and told reception who said it would be dealt with immediately.

Overall, a lovely relaxing stay, perfect for some quality time with the husband and quiet time away from baby!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge and have a special room, book the Castlereagh Suite or similar. This have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastBelle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear BelfastBelle84,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor for La Mon Hotel & Country Club.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team, and we ultimately strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests.
The Management and staff at La Mon are very much aware of continuity, and focused on improving on and maintaining quality within the Hotel.
All of the team are informed of our positive reviews, and are an integral part of the Customer Satisfaction cycle.

Thank-you once again,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our trip was organised by the National Trust and Just Go Holidays. From the moment we entered the hotel we were aware that it was some thing special. The staff were attentive but not obtrusive. The room was delightful and comfy. The food was excellent in variety and service.

Three rings on the fire alarm and free drinks the next night seems a wonderful exchange rate but is in keeping with all that you did for your guests.

Many thanks for making our visit to Northern Ireland so enjoyable.

Don and Anita Fletcher

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonF705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear DonF705,

May I take this opportunity in thanking you for your extremely positive review for our Hotel on Trip Advisor.
All of the staff at La Mon work tirelessly to provide a high standard of hospitality, and are continually developing ways to improve our service.
We listen intently to our Customer feedback on a daily basis, and this forms an integral part of the Management Function of our Hotel.
Our overall personal guest experience is the key success factor at La Mon, and we are continually encouraging our customers to return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second time going to see this show and second time around it was great, we also had the buffet meal, im such a fussy eater I didn't really like what was on the menu so as usual nothing was too much trouble for maitre'd Jim, he asked the kitchen staff to put some chicken on for me and I can't thank him enough as well as the kitchen staff, so all in all a fantastic night was had by all of us, as usual la Mon is still the best hotel around and we won't be going anywhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank karenhunter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear karenhunter1984,

May I take this opportunity in thanking you for your extremely positive review for our Hotel on Trip Advisor, and indeed your return loyal custom.
Our La Mon Live Evenings are always an enjoyable event, and caters for all.
All of the staff at La Mon work tirelessly to provide a high standard of hospitality, and are continually developing ways to improve our service.
We listen intently to our Customer feedback on a daily basis, and this forms an integral part of the Management Function of our Hotel.
Our overall personal guest experience is the key success factor at La Mon, and we are continually encouraging our customers to return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a Just Go coach holiday party from 1st to 5th June 2014. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had all of the home comforts we needed. We ate as a private party in a separate dining room, and the food was excellent; we were offered a great choice of options and portions were generous and well-presented. Service at meals was attentive and efficient. We had to leave very early in the morning and were offered a good breakfast by cheerful night staff. The hotel is in a lovely, quiet rural location and has a spa and beautifully kept grounds. We would certainly recommend it to others as a great place to stay where you will receive a warm and friendly Irish welcome!

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet and only has 3 floors; I imagine any room would be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor for La Mon Hotel & Country Club.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team, and we ultimately strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests.
The Hotel always welcomes our tour guests with open arms, and it is great to hear that visitors are enjoying our Northern Irish hospitality, and tourist offering. The numbers of visitors to Belfast and further afield have now such a world class tourist destination which is growing and improving year on year.
The Management and staff at La Mon are very much aware of continuity, and focused on improving on and maintaining quality within the Hotel.
All of the team are informed of our positive reviews, and are an integral part of the Customer Satisfaction cycle.
If you you return in the near future, be assured of the very best of attention.

Thank-you,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in La Mon hotel and country club lately on a getaway in Belfast. The hotel is located at a nice distance out of the city to give you the country feel, its beautiful grounds and crisp white building are inviting. The staff could not be faulted, we were greeted by a very polite and helpful girl on the front desk (I think she had pink/red glasses and blonde hair),she gave us lots of information about activities in the area and how to get around the city. We also had dinner in the bistro which could not be faulted, both girls who served us were very friendly. The leisure centre was nice and quiet (sunday evening) and very relaxing. The bedroom was also relaxing, quiet and comfortable. Overall we could not fault our stay, thoroughly enjoyed by both of us we would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reecie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Reecie M,

Thank-you for taking the time to review, post stay in La Mon Hotel. All feedback we receive is invaluable to the future continuous improvement program that is implemented in the hotel.

The ultimate 'customer experience' is one our key goals, and all areas/elements are considered and continually appraised from the moment our customers arrives till the departure. Thank-you for your praise of all the team; all of the front of house team have been trained to a very high standard, and all have completed the ‘World Host’ program in recent times.

The upkeep and key maintenance of internal and external areas, are very important to the hotel, and further plans will include refurbishment and development of our restaurant/bar areas and Riverview suite in our Grand Ballroom Facility.

Thank-you once again for your valued thoughts

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mon Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Property: La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Address: 41 Gransha Road | Castlereagh, Belfast BT23 5RF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mon Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mon Hotel is a superb 4 star venue, 15 minutes from Belfast City Centre. It is complete with a luxury Health club, including a 15m Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, Tennis Court, Putting Green, Beauty & Hair Studio. Moreover La Mon's 120 luxury bedrooms and Award Winning Cuisine offers the chance to escape the bustling city and retreat to an altogether more luxurious and informal environment. Perfect for a Family Break or a Romantic Weekend Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Mon Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mon Hotel And Country Club
La Mon Country Hotel
La Mon Country Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing