We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family getaway ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We took our first trip to Northern Ireland in August '13 to La Mon country club. The sat nav brought us to somewhere else entirely but when we got there we were very pleased. We got a really big room that was very comfortable. Food was ok not great. Belfast itself was beautiful. Didn't enjoy driving in the city as it's all one way system and v confusing. The titanic was wonderful the kids really enjoyed it but they absolutely loved the W5 exhibition in the odyssey. We took a trip to the giants causeway and this was definitely the highlight of the trip. It was very beautiful with sunning countryside. We didn't go to the falls road with the kids as it's not very appropriate but we did enjoy Belfast and la mon was a great base to do it from.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Carrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Carrolls,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor for La Mon Hotel & Country Club.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team, and we ultimately strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests.
I am glad to hear that La Mon was a great base when visiting the attractions of Northern Ireland, and those sentiments are replicated in many past reviews due to our unique location, especially to Belfast, Strangford Lough area and the larger County Down footprint.
The Management and staff at La Mon are very much aware of continuity, and focused on improving on and maintaining quality within the Hotel.
All of the team are informed of our positive reviews, and are an integral part of the Customer Satisfaction cycle.

Thank-you,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we arrived early and the receptionist was very friendly. showed us to the bar where we got a drink whilst our room was still getting ready. She said to the porter to take our bags to the room which was really nice of them.
After getting lost trying to find our room as soon as we walked in I was astounded by the room that we got couldn't believe the size of the room.
When we had arrived in the restaurant for the dinner we weren't given a voucher for our meal but the lady had sorted it out for us.
I had ordered my starter and my main together and told the waitress how I liked my steak to be cooked.
My starter i got was cold. Not explained. could have been warmed. No-one checking on us for the starter. Nice starter thou. Our side plates and butter and the oil where still sitting on the table and weren't cleared away until we had left the table. The waiter assumed my mother was having the steak and after bringing the cutlery to the table and laying it all it only to ask at the end who is having the steak. when my steak had arrived it was well done. I was gutted. I was so hungry that I ate it anyways. It was hard enough to get a staff members attention. As I Work in hospitality industry myself and its great customer service to check on the customers to make sure everything is ok. Service seemed to slow down due to the 13 people in the restaurant not including ourselves
Eventually they did check on us when we were nearly done with our main. When the waiter had started to clear our table I had explained that the steak wasn't cooked to how I preferred it but no apology.
Also got to say a thank u to Gareth for the cocktail making. Had a laugh trying to attempt to make them ourselves.
When we went to check out we asked them for a copy of our invoice and had realised that they had over charged us but the guy had apologized and got it sorted out for us.
Overall it's a nice hotel. Just a few improvements here and there.





Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Kimberley C,

May I take this opportunity in thanking you for your positive review for our Hotel on Trip advisor. A warm welcome awaits all of our guests visiting Belfast and furthermore dedicated attention when using our hotel.
All of the staff at La Mon work tirelessly to provide a high standard of hospitality, and are continually developing ways to improve our service. Service in all of our restaurant areas is ultimately key to our success, and I will be looking into the issues raised and make immediate improvements with the respected team members.
We listen intently to our Customer feedback on a daily basis, and this forms an integral part of the Management Function of our Hotel.
Our overall personal guest experience is the key success factor at La Mon, and we are continually encouraging our customers to return in the future.
I am pleased to say our mixology classes are growing, and becoming a very successful package on a day basis or overnight break, and provides a unique experience for all.

Thank-you once again for your valued custom.

Kind Regards,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As always the staff in La Mon are extremely helpful, the food served is excellent and I have enjoyed both the Sunday roast and food served during a wedding.

The rooms are decent enough and the leisure facilities are good too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Dwd K,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor for La Mon Hotel & Country Club, it is very much appreciated.
In terms of our food product, new seasonal menus are being currently assessed and developed, and our refurbishment program is continually ongoing in the hotel with the restaurant area being planned for the Autumn.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team, and we ultimately strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests.
The Management and staff at La Mon are very much aware of continuity, and focused on improving on and maintaining quality within the Hotel.
All of the team are informed of our positive reviews, and are an integral part of the Customer Satisfaction cycle.

Thank-you,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited for a 4-day break with he National Trust. Our taxi driver said he wouldn't recommend it, because it is 'in the back of beyond!) Suited us...

It's fairly standard 'hotel-type' rooms and ambience. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - the manager came round to greet us on arrival and departure.

Food for our group was overall very good. Breakfasts could have been a little more imaginative by ringing the changes from the 'Ulster fry' a little (custard-like scrambled is not the only way to do eggs!) and the tea from the urn was actually undrinkable. But they happily agreed, and brought a pot!

There's a spa and excellent swimming pool in the basement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Peter L,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.
Our National Trust tour guests are now coming into their 4th year at the hotel and they have been hugely successful.
Your comment with regards to breakfast is something that we are discussing within our team here. We do operate an expansive buffet breakfast within the hotel which also has a cook to order speciality menu which includes, kippers, smoked haddock, Eggs Benedict etc.
As you are part of a large tour group it isn't feasible for us to offer this on a large scale in our function rooms although we may decide to offer an upgraded breakfast or A La Carte dining option for our Just Go guests on arrival.
Thank you again for your comments which help us along with our decisions.
Kind Regards
Lloyd Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was just a lovely experience from arrival until departure , the room was just something else the bed was really comfortable, the room itself was huge, set in such a inspiring area, idea for long walks or a base for surrounding area. the meal was just beautiful and plenty of it, on a final note the staff each and everyone we came in contact was just lovely and very professional .I can't recommend enough

Room Tip: We have a suite and it was everything and more than we asked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jayceeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you Jayceeni for your great review of our hotel.
It is great to hear from all of our customers whether good or bad as it helps us to continually improve on our offering.
We hope to one day welcome you back to our hotel where you can see many of the changes we will be implementing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at La Mon for three nights recently and were extremely disappointed in our expectations. We arrived to a somewhat unprofessional welcome where no porter met us to assist us to our room, which we would expect of a four star hotel.

The room was very basic, overlooking a car park which was extremely noisy. The room was small and cramped with a very small bed and we felt there were little touches lacking compared to other four star hotels we have stayed in.

We ate in the bistro the first night and the food was tasty enough but the environment lacked any atmosphere. The furnishings were poor and lacklustre and it felt more like sitting in a supermarket cafe than a four star bistro.

We were excited about having access to the country club and it's facilities , we found them to be poor and were astounded to learn that if we wanted to use the facilities we would have to wear a bathing cap at all times, which we were expected to pay for. This was relayed to us by an extremely unprofessional member of staff. I decided to book a back massage ( I was stressed enough!!!) but could only reach an answering machine where I left a message with name, room number etc but I'm still waiting for that massage!

Most of the staff were friendly enough and I feel that the problem lies more with the managing aspect of the hotel. A little more effort and it may come up to par with a glorified Travelodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dempster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Mrs Dempster,
Thank you for your comments once again with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. I know I had spoken to you on departure with refernce to your issues and I once again sorry that La Mon did not meet up to your expectations.
The room you had booked was an internet exclusive premier standard room which are smaller than our other room types. We do have Premier Plus, Deluxe and also various levels of suites that are a lot larger and these room types can be found on our website.
I do agree with your comments on our Bistro and this has already been addressed with refurbishment scheduled for January 2015. Our Restaurant, which I don't think you tried, is also undergoing full refurbishment this September so hopefully your issues with atmosphere will be very different in the future.
As I said it would have been great if you had spoken to me or one of the management team during your stay, with regards to some of your issues eg Pamper Beauty Parlour which is privately owned. We may have been able to rectify some things to give you a more enjoyable stay. Often after your stay is over, it is difficult to change a guests perception once they feel let down. I am sorry that on this occasion La Mon did not match up to your expectations however thank you for your comments which will all be taken into consideration.

CC Eileen Bell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were married at this hotel and return every years for our anniversary. This time around was just as lovely and relaxing as our first stay.

The room was spacious and the bed was huge! The room had a TV with a wide selection of channels, tea facilities and a clean bathroom with deep bath and wonderful shower. The room was spotless throughout and was very quiet meaning we got a good night's sleep (important for parents of a toddler having a night off!)

The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and we were entertained with an impromptu pianist at the baby grand piano. Breakfast the following morning was good quality with a great selection of hot food, cereals, porridge, croissants and pastries.

We used the country club for the first time this stay (free for hotel guests). The pool area is lovely and very clean and quiet. There is a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which left us feeling refreshed.

The only thing I would mark down on this occasion was the lack of entertainment in the evening time. There isn't much by way of entertainment outside of the hotel and on a Friday night I would have hoped there would be something on for guests.

Also, there was a fault with the lock on our room door but we only noticed this on leaving and told reception who said it would be dealt with immediately.

Overall, a lovely relaxing stay, perfect for some quality time with the husband and quiet time away from baby!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge and have a special room, book the Castlereagh Suite or similar. This have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastBelle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJacksonGM, General Manager at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear BelfastBelle84,

Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor for La Mon Hotel & Country Club.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team, and we ultimately strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests.
The Management and staff at La Mon are very much aware of continuity, and focused on improving on and maintaining quality within the Hotel.
All of the team are informed of our positive reviews, and are an integral part of the Customer Satisfaction cycle.

Thank-you once again,

Lloyd Jackson MIH
General Manager
La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,608 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,055 reviews
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 45 in Belfast
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mon Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Address: 41 Gransha Road | Castlereagh, Belfast BT23 5RF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £97 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mon Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mon Hotel is a superb 4 star venue, 15 minutes from Belfast City Centre. It is complete with a luxury Health club, including a 15m Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, Tennis Court, Putting Green, Beauty & Hair Studio. Moreover La Mon's 120 luxury bedrooms and Award Winning Cuisine offers the chance to escape the bustling city and retreat to an altogether more luxurious and informal environment. Perfect for a Family Break or a Romantic Weekend Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mon Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mon Hotel And Country Club
La Mon Country Hotel
La Mon Country Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing