We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight accommodation & anniversary party”
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overnight accommodation & anniversary party”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Our son, Stephen and daughter-in-law, Wendy organised a 40th anniversary party in August. The party was great, the food was great and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Friends also organised overnight accommodation as an anniversary gift. We stayed in the honeymoon suite - four poster bed - lovely. The only down side was the bells from the neighbouring church on Sunday morning. Might have slept later - but no chance. The staff on reception - Kelly and Sylvia were very helpful. Looking forward to our next party/overnight stay. Thanks to all the hotel staff who made it a very happy event.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaggieT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    43
    47
    40
See reviews for
47
70
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked this hotel because the price was good and it stated it had facilities for the disabled.
The description of the facilities for those with disabilities was completely wrong. Fine if you were only going for a meal (The one redeeming feature of this hotel - great food!) But if you're staying in the hotel - it is NOT accessible to wheelchair users by any stretch of the imagination. I will add a picture of the bathroom to make my point. Entry to the 'Accessible' bedroom had a 90 degree turn as you went in the door - if I had taken my electric wheelchair, I wouldn't have got in. As it was I had to get out of my manual chair to actually get in to the room.
The other issue was noise. The info about the hotel does not tell you that they have live, very noisy, late night entertainment, not finishing until 1am. Add to this guests arriving back to their rooms after this "Entertainment" it's virtually impossible to get any sleep until sometime after 2am. I could hear every word the DJ was saying on the Friday night.... from my bed.
Cleanliness was basic - I don't think the edge of the carpets had ever seen a hoover, but the middle bits were clean, as were the sheets and towels.
The tea and coffee in the room had not been topped up before we arrived - no tea bags, but when they were, we had plenty, but only two milk pots! The tiny cups only held about 3 big swallows of drink, so if you do stay here.... take your own mug.
The staff in the eating areas and on reception where friendly and helpful and listened to my comments when I told them of the difficulties. But I'm not sure if anything will change.
I now understand why they insist on taking your payment on arrival - I would have refused to pay the full amount if it was taken at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the entertainment areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Have now had a meal here three times with different family members always on a Sunday for the carvery and have never been disappointed the staff are so nice and the food has always been of excellent quality

Room Tip: Sorry ticked the sleep quality by mistake never stayed in the hotel so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Positive: The room was basic, but clean. The staff was extremely helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was good with a good variaty of items to choose from. Good location.

Negative: we stayed for the bank holiday weekend. From Friday through to Sunday night there were dj's every night. The music was actually not an issue, but people going home became an issue. We were in a room above main entrance. People were talking/screaming, smoking outside the main door and the taxi's were noisy as well. There was no aircon in the room and we needed to keep the window open. Monday morning at 6:15 am two trucks pulled in and the drivers were having a conversation and pushed noisy trolleys around. Not very nice if u r trying to have some peaceful sleep. If you are planning to have a party weekend this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor above the main entrance over weekends unless you are planning to part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MielieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Reserved a 3 night stay on 28th May for a mid August break,we turn up in August to be told there was no record of our booking and that the hotel was fully booked,i foolishly thought that seeing as though we had booked well in advance,we would be priority and that guests who'd booked after us would be the ones with the inconveinience of being relocated to alternative accommodation,but no,it was us who were told we would be moving,which i didn't really think was fair.
To be fair to Lansdowne though,we were eventually relocated to the very smart Dukes of Queens hotel in Belfast city center with Lansdowne paying the difference after some confusion over prices which means we did eventually get sorted and had a great stay in Belfast overall but we could have done without the hassle over something as simple as taking bookings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Seen some bad reviews so was a bit iffy about staying there but it is a lovely hotel the area is good and safe. The staff are really good and friendly and the girl behind the desk Amanda I think was brilliant very helpful and went or of her way to help us. It was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am very disappointed in the so called 'make over' at the Lansdowne Hotel.
It should be our 'local' but I will not be back.
I have eaten there on three occasions recently and found the standards reasonable and value for money however the experience was overshadowed by the stench of the ladies toilets. The toilets behind the reception area was foul smelling on each occasion and the toilets at the far end of the dining room had not been cleaned properly, had no soap or toilet roll at 12 midday.Following a family meal the waitress proceeded to clean the neighbouring tables with an overpowering disinfectant spoiling what had been a lovely occasion.
The staff were mostly very professional except one male member of staff who served our table with a crumpled shirt and and a badly stained tie.
Come on Metro Inns the people of the Antrim Road deserve better than this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 485bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#39 of 45 in Belfast
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing