We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice & Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stay here when working in Belfast and enjoyed another two night stay along with a work colleague earlier this week. Food was excellent as ever. Warm welcome and very reasonable prices on drinks / food for a hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and although I was missing a towel on the first night this was very quickly resolved. Enjoyable quiz on a Wednesday night which is open to those staying at the hotel as well as regulars. My colleague (female) commented that she would happily stay here on her own and feel comfortable eating down in teh bar / restauarant as a single female - a good sign for the Lansdowne!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    40
    46
    38
See reviews for
44
64
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Lansdowne is in need of a little TLC but the staff are friendly and very helpful, we were always met with a smile, a friendly greeting and answers to our enquiries. The food is excellent and the meals are very reasonably priced. The rooms are of a decent size and the laundry was changed on each day of our stay.
if you are staying above the bar area on a Friday or Saturday when there is live music the go down and enjoy it rather than trying to sleep, we found that the regulars were friendly and only too willing to engage in conversation.
I would .like to thank the lady on reception who brought a razor to my room and the barman who knew the answer to a pop music question that was bothering me!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in august, for a girlie weekend had a great time. Staff are more than friendly. Location is perfect just a bus ride away from city centre. Stayed for Sunday Lunch, food great, a carvery!! Would definitly stay here again. comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Our son, Stephen and daughter-in-law, Wendy organised a 40th anniversary party in August. The party was great, the food was great and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Friends also organised overnight accommodation as an anniversary gift. We stayed in the honeymoon suite - four poster bed - lovely. The only down side was the bells from the neighbouring church on Sunday morning. Might have slept later - but no chance. The staff on reception - Kelly and Sylvia were very helpful. Looking forward to our next party/overnight stay. Thanks to all the hotel staff who made it a very happy event.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaggieT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked this hotel because the price was good and it stated it had facilities for the disabled.
The description of the facilities for those with disabilities was completely wrong. Fine if you were only going for a meal (The one redeeming feature of this hotel - great food!) But if you're staying in the hotel - it is NOT accessible to wheelchair users by any stretch of the imagination. I will add a picture of the bathroom to make my point. Entry to the 'Accessible' bedroom had a 90 degree turn as you went in the door - if I had taken my electric wheelchair, I wouldn't have got in. As it was I had to get out of my manual chair to actually get in to the room.
The other issue was noise. The info about the hotel does not tell you that they have live, very noisy, late night entertainment, not finishing until 1am. Add to this guests arriving back to their rooms after this "Entertainment" it's virtually impossible to get any sleep until sometime after 2am. I could hear every word the DJ was saying on the Friday night.... from my bed.
Cleanliness was basic - I don't think the edge of the carpets had ever seen a hoover, but the middle bits were clean, as were the sheets and towels.
The tea and coffee in the room had not been topped up before we arrived - no tea bags, but when they were, we had plenty, but only two milk pots! The tiny cups only held about 3 big swallows of drink, so if you do stay here.... take your own mug.
The staff in the eating areas and on reception where friendly and helpful and listened to my comments when I told them of the difficulties. But I'm not sure if anything will change.
I now understand why they insist on taking your payment on arrival - I would have refused to pay the full amount if it was taken at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the entertainment areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Have now had a meal here three times with different family members always on a Sunday for the carvery and have never been disappointed the staff are so nice and the food has always been of excellent quality

Room Tip: Sorry ticked the sleep quality by mistake never stayed in the hotel so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Positive: The room was basic, but clean. The staff was extremely helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was good with a good variaty of items to choose from. Good location.

Negative: we stayed for the bank holiday weekend. From Friday through to Sunday night there were dj's every night. The music was actually not an issue, but people going home became an issue. We were in a room above main entrance. People were talking/screaming, smoking outside the main door and the taxi's were noisy as well. There was no aircon in the room and we needed to keep the window open. Monday morning at 6:15 am two trucks pulled in and the drivers were having a conversation and pushed noisy trolleys around. Not very nice if u r trying to have some peaceful sleep. If you are planning to have a party weekend this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor above the main entrance over weekends unless you are planning to part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MielieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#35 of 43 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Hotel
#38 of 43 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing