We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding in the Belfast castle, I've lived in the area and I'd visited the Lansdowne a few times over the years and it always seemed okay.

I read a few reviews and although there wasn't anyone raving about it we just thought well a beds a bed how bed and it will only be for a few hours how bad can it be...

It was pretty bad! The ceiling tiles were badly stained, the carpet had iron burns, the taps spluttered everywhere, the bed was like sleeping on springs and the lift smelt of vomit and bleach. My last burning ember of hope was for a good north Belfast fry up in the morning but this to was under average. The bacon was under cooked and the eggs were like bricks!

I've stayed in some bad hotels but this one wins the wooden spoon award! Even if you're desperate and think for the price it will do, I beg you look somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    40
    41
    47
    38
See reviews for
45
64
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shankbridge
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding in Belfast Castle and it was the nearest hotel. On entering the hotel its very shabby and could do with some money being spent on it and as for the rooms they really need a good clean the bathroom was terrible and the carpet looked like it hadnt seen a hoover. The bed was so lumpy and needing replaced although we only paid £55.00 which included breakfast I would not choose to stay in this hotel again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for one night room 200. Huge bed very comfy, Tea & Coffee available, Water was hot. Had a nice sofa in the room, plenty of wardrobe space. Lovely big 42" TV.

I had to call reception as there were no towels, These were brought up with an apology within a couple of minutes.

Cannot comment on the food as did not eat there. Checkout was 12 midday so got a long lie in.

For £29.25 for the night was exceptional value

Well done on value and service.

Room Tip: Room 200 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VISTABOY1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is ok at the most. the rooms are very dated and tired. There is a massive 40 inch tv in each bedroom but this does not make up for the dreadful thin, lumpy bed. the food in the bar is okay but the portions are small. the breakfast is poor in comparison to even a good B&B. Would I stay again...........Not sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarsmad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently stayed in the Landsdowne Hotel in Belfast and the service, room standard was sub-standard. On first sight the Hotel made a fairly good impression on the outside, apart from the slightly tight car park. The lobby already gave way to what could be expected from the rooms. Grubby, untidy and most of all a receptionist who was not up to speed at all. We had booked 2 rooms for three days some 5 months ago, 1 double, 1 triple. On arrival the triple room was not available as "there were so many changes today". As if that was my problem. Eventually we got a separate room for the third person, which wasn't really acceptable. However, we had no choice as alternative accommodation was hard to come by at this time of year.
Next we looked at the room and were overwhelmed by the smell of Febreeze, which eventually on day 2 gave way to a far less pleasant odor of smelly feet and cigarettes smoke. The bathroom floor certainly had not been cleaned in a while as fluff balls had gathered in a number of corners. The base of the bed was not covered and gave good few of a complete scruffy bed base.

As for the hotel as a venue, we did experience that it seems to be a hot spot for parties and gathering, which was evidenced by thumping loud music in the bedrooms for each of the three nights that we stayed. To top it all of, on the last night the fire alarms went off twice, because a smoke machine in the function room had led to the setting off. Needless to say that the guests were not informed why there was a fire alarm in the first place - it was just lucky (for the hotel management) that nobody actually pressed the fire alarm buttons, as one of the bedroom corridors on the first floor were completely covered in smoke. Also needless to say - the fire alarm had woken all residents, including small children in the middle of the night.

I have stayed in budget accommodation before, but this was without a shadow of a doubt the worst - I can only classify this as absolute sub-standard.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend any accommodation here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in Belfast recently and would not recommend it. We were in a family room with our three children, 5, 2 and 1 who were all kept awake until 1.30am by the disco on our first night. For some reason the family rooms are right above the bar and disco area. We complained about the noise as did the family above us on the second floor and were told that they could do nothing. Sadly there was a disco on every night during our 3 night stay. We were moved to the next floor up and further away on the second day however although better the music was still loud. The rooms are clean but need a bit of tlc. The radiator in our room didn't really work. Our bed also had a large hole in one side, we also had the same problem in our first room where the mattress springs were so old and broken that it felt like there was a hole in the bed. Some of the other guests also complained of no heat and broken beds.
The food was not too bad and the restaurant staff were lovely but unfortunately a hotel that asks you to pay upfront says it all! The receptionist himself admitted they receive a lot of complaints. So if you are looking for a family friendly hotel I'm afraid I would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Well we went xmas shopping last friday and booked into the Lansdown,not really knowing what to expect because of the price.Well it was spotless,the staff were first class and the entertainment was prolific,we intended going into the city but instead we just stayed put and had a right good laugh.
We would usually go for a more upmarket hotel but this one is exceptional,i will be staying here everytime i have to visit Belfast for work or play.Breakfast had a fantastic menu and judging by the size of the portions at tea time everyone was happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhead2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#36 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Hotel
#38 of 43 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing