We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay hotel ok location not great”
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Mixed emotions front desk were helpful and wasnt the priciest hotel, however was dated, breakfast was odd, and the bar wasnt great
Still a bit of a bus ride into belfadt city.. Other options available, would not reccomend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

There's a lack of cleanliness throughout, which is more due to a lack of effort than damage or draining. Dirt has been allowed to build up, rather than give things a wipe over with some spray and a cloth after each guest has left.

The TV remote was absolutely caked in grime, as was the telephone (which was broken. The bed base had broken casters, meaning it lay on the floor in a V shape, and the mattress was clapped out. At least the sheets and towels were clean.

My bathroom was not as bad those in other reviews, but the cleaners clearly weren't keen on touching the toilet lid as it had several dried "substances" on it.

Food was above average, although the attitude of some of the staff needed to be improved.

I've never stayed in a hotel as dirty as this before.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I are just back from an over night stay in the Lansdowne Hotel and I must stay we were well chuffed with our find!!
I found the Lansdowne Hotel on line and rang to make a late booking on Easter Monday for the next night. It was a bit out of the city but we didn't mind.
We arrived and checked in the reception is a wee bit dated but very clean and friendly. Our room was a double with a comfy bed and a very large tv. The room was a wee bit dated but was very clean. A fan was in the room which was a bonus on a very warm April evening. The only down side was the bathroom was a bit on the small side but yet again all we needed and very clean.
We were meeting family and had a coffee in the bar where me and himself decided we would have dinner. A young guy ( Andrew, I think!) seated us and served us throughout. Our 3 course meal was FAB!!!!!! and far from expensive! Good to get a steak cooked as I asked!!
Breakfast was served from 7am in the dinning room which was spotless! Good range of juice and cereals and boy did the cooked breakfast go down well with poached eggs and a waiter that had a cheery welcome!
Overall we had an excellent stay with FAB food and was very reasonably priced. We will be visiting again soon!! Thank you to all the staff!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Arrived the first day for a couples holiday with my husband and my mum and her partner. Had stayed in Dublin the night before and loved the city.

Met and greeted with a smile from two of the three girls/ ladies on the desk... If looks could kill the third would have wiped us out..

Rooms were clean and had a lovely view to the side (201 and 202). Sheets were changed daily and towels replaced- thumbs up there. Beds comfy if like me you like a softer bed.

Ate in the bar area on the first night. The breaded mushrooms were lovely as was the ribeye steak my husband had. My mum had the chicken in bacon sauce and her partner had a ciabatta burger which he also enjoyed. Couldn't complain even if the waiter was whipping plates from under your nose whilst you still chew your last bite... Bit hasty.

Disco and DJ on a Friday night. All 80's, loved it being an 80's baby :) second night the band was a no show, which was disappointing as we were assured at 10pm they were on their way. By 11 we were told they had double booked so we had waited 2 hours for nothing.

Breakfast is £7.50 per person and isn't buffet. The food was dry, toast cold and the selection in the middle of the room was very limited and didn't have all described on the menu given.

The last night (Sunday) was a U2 tribute band... This was fantastic however the crowd of rowdy, disrupted kids climbing over the bar furniture and the just as rowdy parents ruined it all! The place was heaving with locals (who'd come for the carvery which apparently happens every Sunday-we had no idea) who had no regards for the residents of the hotel, what so ever. You could tell the locals from the residents as they were the ones served first at the bar and not ignored like they were invisible and just by the looks on the faces. Residents pushed to the back of the hotel, where I might add is very drafty, whilst locals and their children run riot.

Through out the night things only progressed to blocked toilets, sick in sinks, flooded bathroom floors and over flowing waste paper bins. There were glass bottles kicked over in corners and food trodden into corridors up the stairs. Mouthy women falling all over the place shouting at the bouncers. Glass bottles being broken in the car park. Drunk young men practically crawling to their cars to drive home after copious amounts of alcohol.

We watched the band until it finished at 12 but the noise from locals carried on till nearly 2am. We are party animals normally but being we had to be up at 7am to go to Dublin again to catch our ferry back to Hollyhead, we decided to go up earlyish. May as well have stayed down with the crowd.

Unfortunately Belfast will not be a place we stay again. We enjoyed our sight seeing but the Lansdowne and it's ethics really
Put us off.

We will be back to Ireland for Dublin!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30_Mrs_Greeny_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The music from the bar could be heard in the rooms upstairs. It was very hard to sleep.
The food was not great. I would not stay here again.
I would rather pay more money to get a better hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddy31620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Clean, tidy, much cheaper than many others and good customer service but bed was uncomfortable and there was a DJ playing music until the early hours (stayed on a Friday night). Breakfast was fair and drinks in the bar were reasonably priced. Didn't try the restaurant as we found a good steak restaurant 5min walk up the hill. On a main bus route into the city and large free car park.
Although the public areas have been renovated and modernised (and are very nice) the bedromms (or at least ours) was dated and needed some TLC

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar/restaurant to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolly47826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on recent family business to Belfast. We had a very comfortable, overnight stay in a good location with friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent homely and enjoyable. I will certainly return soon as there is another family event in the near future, where we can be assured of another relaxing stay in close proximity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetter1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,416 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#39 of 45 in Belfast
263 reviews
The Crescent Townhouse
#27 of 45 in Belfast
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Wellington Park Hotel
#34 of 45 in Belfast
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing