We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it could do with an update”
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Yes it could do with an update”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as friends of ours were holding their engagement party here.
Checking in the guy was very friendly, there was a mixup with booking.com charging me a deposit and the lansdowne not knowing about it....after showing him that the payment was actually taken out it was rectified very easily and we kept the money there for breakfast.
My first impressions of the hotel was it reminded me of a youth hostel....the room wasn't what I was used to but for £45 for a double room, what did I expect? Yes it is very basic and it would need updating but it was very clean and just what we needed.
Everyone had a good time at the party and ate breakfast the next morning...£7.50 for a full cooked breakfast and it was very tasty....well needed after a night of drinking!
The staff made our night even more enjoyable....nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to help. if the hotel was graded on it's staff it would be 5star!
Would I stay at this hotel again?....yes! Would I recommend this hotel? Yes if you were attending a party that was being held there....not an ideal hotel if you want to stay close to the Belfast city centre as it's in the North of the City.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    43
    47
    40
See reviews for
47
70
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The lady who checked us in on arrival was very friendly. The room was not great but the worst thing about it was the bed.... it was broken and lumpy and the base was absolutely filthy and did not have a cover. the bathroom was also very dirty - behind the toilet (which you can see from the bath) was shocking. It was cold in the room and there was only a thin layer on the bed so I asked at reception if they had an extra blanket and was told that they do not have any extra blankets available. The rooms need an upgrade - especially the beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and found everything to be excellent. Checked in late at night due to delayed flight and the night porter was very friendly and checked me in no problems, I was happy to find the bar still open when I checked in and the bar staff were very nice.

After reading the reviews I was worried about breakfast, but found it to be very good, a range of cereals, fresh fruit, tinned fruit and fuit juice, tea and coffee plentful and I must say one of the nicest coffees I've ever had. Cooked breakfast choice is full fry up, pancakes with syrup, eggs benedict or porridge. I opted for fry up both mornings and was not disappointed. The waiter and waitress were very helpful.

I stayed in room 102 and it was a very large twin room and was clean. There was a very large flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee, iron and ironing board in the room. The shower had plenty of hot water.

The reception staff were very helpful and arranged taxis for me no problems. Always very chatty and friendly.

I have read many of the reviews for this hotel and agree it is in need of updating, but I think for the price you pay you get a superb service. I would stay again with no hesitation :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed for 1 night. The room 107 was spacious but the bathroom needs updating the sink tap had greenish stains not shiny silver and had a smell coming from it couldn't tell from where as the room had been serviced, I presume pipes behind the wall/boards.
The other down fall is one cant order take way from outside. Cooked buffet breakfast would have been nice than served up plate from the kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

my son and I shared a twin room for five days and found it spotlessly clean. the cleaners came every day and kept it that way. We loved the Ulster fry grill breakfast and didn't need lunch. WE WOULD GO BACK AGAIN ANTTIME.

Room Tip: ASK FOR A FRONT FACING ROOM nicer view of mountain and hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardoynebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Mixed emotions front desk were helpful and wasnt the priciest hotel, however was dated, breakfast was odd, and the bar wasnt great
Still a bit of a bus ride into belfadt city.. Other options available, would not reccomend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myagolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There's a lack of cleanliness throughout, which is more due to a lack of effort than damage or draining. Dirt has been allowed to build up, rather than give things a wipe over with some spray and a cloth after each guest has left.

The TV remote was absolutely caked in grime, as was the telephone (which was broken. The bed base had broken casters, meaning it lay on the floor in a V shape, and the mattress was clapped out. At least the sheets and towels were clean.

My bathroom was not as bad those in other reviews, but the cleaners clearly weren't keen on touching the toilet lid as it had several dried "substances" on it.

Food was above average, although the attitude of some of the staff needed to be improved.

I've never stayed in a hotel as dirty as this before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#39 of 45 in Belfast
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 657 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 4EF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iconic Lansdowne Hotel is now under the new ownership of Metro Inns.Situated in the picturesque Cave Hill area of Belfast just 3 miles from the City Centre and just a stone through away from some of Belfast's popular tourist attractions, with our newly refurbished bar and restaurant and conference rooms the Lansdowne Hotel meets the needs of business and leisure traveller alike. The private hotel offers free Wi-Fi has easy access to all major air, sea and land routes. The bedrooms provide everything you require for a stress-free and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Court Hotel Belfast
Belfast Court Hotel Lansdowne
Lansdowne Court Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing