We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic and dangerous shower!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Belfast Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Belfast Central
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very basic and dangerous shower!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed in the Travelodge for one night on 29 October 2011. We were expecting a basic room and that was what we got. We were on the corner of the building so had a peculiar triangular shaped room but it was large enough for 2 people.

The website mentions that there are no toileteries in the room but having forgotten ours I expected to be able to purchase some at reception. This wasn't possible however, so we had to go out shopping to get some shampoo and shower gel.

The bed was firm but comfortable. The first thing we noticed when lying on the bed was that the polystyrene panels on the ceiling were all out of place, leaving huge gaps looking up into the ceiling cavity! My husband had to go around the room adjusting them all so we didn't feel like something might fall on us in the night!

The shower was atrocious. I had meant to mention to the hotel staff when we left but as we were in a rush I didn't get a chance. Firstly the instructions on the wall in the bath don't seem to be right. It says that the left tap is for turning on and off and the right tap is for temperature. However, after turning on with the left tap, the right tap would only make the temperature change from very hot to scalding! We had to turn the left tap to increase the cold water flow and get a temperature that was comfortable, however, every minute or two the shower would suddenly turn freezing and you would have to run to the end of the bath to escape it until it returned to normal!! This almost resulted in me falling out of the bath when trying to escape the cold spell with shampoo in my eyes! It could have been quite dangerous.

We paid £62 for the room for one night. I think this must be a more expensive rate for halloween as it certainly is not worth this amount.

We would only return to the travelodge if we couldn't get anywhere else.

Good points - location is great for city centre. Staff were friendly. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent and reasonable. (see separate review of Olio.)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Tommadi
Thank for taking the time to leave your review.
I was pleased to read you were enjoyed our location and found our staff friendly.
I am sorry for the problems you encountered with the shower and I would be grateful if you could contact me with your room number to have the shower repaired.

Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    242
    216
    130
    150
See reviews for
86
326
105
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Otane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights in October at this hotel. First room had broken lights, flat pillows and was like being in a box. There was a window but it was a false window. I queried the bedside lights and was told maintenance would come and look at it. Two hours later I went down again and was told maintenance would fix it in the morning. I asked for new room but was told hotel was fully booked and that I couldn't have another room. Next day I asked at lunchtime when would maintenance fix the lights and was told I could have a bedside lamp to plug in. i asked for a new room and asked for one with a window. Was given the room above the front door which was smaller and dingier than my first room. The noise from the front door disturbed us all night. Sorry Travelodge Belfast but you gave us a very poor impression of your wonderful city purely by neglecting the basic needs of a traveller. On the website parking was advertised. On arrival we were told they hadn't had a chance to change the website but there is no parking. They sent us about 3 blocks away to try and find a parking building in the pouring rain.

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Beverley W
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay.
Our maintenance staff did look at the bedside light but due to a replacement part needed were unable to rectify the problem and as you stated we did offer a plug in desk lamp.
Unfortunately as the hotel was fully booked we were unable to move you on the first night, the room you moved to the following day is the same size and has three double glazed windows.
On our website the car parking options listed are on street outside the hotel (which is free after 6.00pm and all day Sunday) or a discounted rate at a local NCP.
If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

regards

Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I found the staff at the travelodge in Belfast to be very helpfull and friendly, even going so far as to print out a map for us of the best way to get to our next location in Doublin.
This hotel did not have a lot of frills, and the room was not huge; the walls were a little thin,that being said,suprisingly, the hotel was very quite,warm and clean.
Complementry coffee or tea in the room.
The location was excellent, within walking distance of the city ctr, close to the "hop on hop of", tour bus location, (good value for the money and recomended, approx 1.5 to 2hrs long), it is very close to a famous pub "The Crown" which is another place i would highly recomend, for the frindly staff good food, the atmosphere and the Guinness beer.
One tip i would give is to be carefull getting into the shower as it had a tendancy to run hot and cold at random interviles, the shower is a little high to get in to, which is not to good for those that have trouble raising there leg past knee level, the shower is very good, but tempermental and touchy, but once you master it,it is worth the time fiddling with it.
Over all i liked this hotel and would recomend it as a friendly place to stay whiling exploreing in the lovely city of Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear billCanada
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and shall pass on our comments to our team who really appreciate it when customer takes the time to acknowledge their hard work.

regards


Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

A few years ago, we had the misfortune to stay in the Travelodge in Derry City for two long nights. Not only was it basic, it was shabby and unpleasant. Yes, it was clean but there was no remote for the television and the buttons in the set also seemed to have been removed. The carpet was worn and there wasn't so much as a bar of soap in the bathroom.

Planning a trip to Belfast, I checked prices at a number of hotels. I only wanted a room for the night as I was going up to meet pals. I had noticed that Travelodge had rebranded and so I decided to give it another try. Their hotel in Belfast is in such a great location - beside the bus station, behind the Crown Pub and about 3 minutes walk from the city centre were all factors influencing my decision to stay there. And price too. At €47 for one night (excluding breakfast), it was good value.

The staff were helpful and very friendly. I asked for a quiet room and the Receptionist was at pains to explain that all she could give me was a very dark room. I said that was no problem as all I wanted was somewhere to sleep and shower. She was right. It was dark with only a slit of a window but that suited me fine.

The standard of the room had improved dramatically. It looked new, fresh, very clean and there was soap in the bathroom! (I had remembered to bring all toiletaries this time!) There was a TV (with remote!) and Tea/Coffee making facilities. It was basic, very basic but it was perfect for an overnight or short stay.

Negatives? The shower was insane. I followed the instructions but the temperature went from very hot to extremely hot to scalding. There was also a machine in the room that beeped at regular intervals throughout the night disturbing sleep. The heater and air conditioner were off so I have no idea what it was.

Would I stay again? Absolutely. I got more value than I expected for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGMcShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Orbeeque
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am pleased that you have noticed the improvements we have made.
If you could contact me at garry.gaynor@travelodge.ie and let me know which room you stayed in I can investigate the beeping noise and have the shower repaired.

Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

It's a Travelodge so you've got to expect basic amenities, that said we certainly weren't expecting the odd layout of our room. It had a sofa in front of the window which could be made into a sofa bed, maybe this was a family room but it was certainly very small, there was a tv mounted on the wall in such a way as it could not be seen from either the sofa or the bed! We pulled the sofa round and found a way that worked and luckily the cleaners left it there each day which was good.

The kettle provided on the desk didn't stretch to any of the many plug sockets in the room so we had to balance it on the window sill each time we wanted a cup of tea! Finally the light in the bathroom was so bright and so directional that when you lay down in the bath it felt like you were in a police interview room!

Location is brilliant, if a little noisy given the Irish Pub round the corner playing fiddle music til 1am, other than that it's great for the Europa Conference Centre, Bus Station, City Hall and other central attractions, there's plenty of pubs on your doorstep including the famous Crown Bar and also a Tesco Express just round the corner.

Staff were really nice, happy to help out with maps and recommendations, something I don't expect from a Travelodge. If I was going to Belfast again on the cheap I'd stay there.

Room Tip: 5th floor and above, rooms ending in 01 will be further from the noisy pub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Dear MattyLion
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your positive comments to my staffs who really appreciate it when guest acknowledge their efforts.
If you could contact me with your room number I will arrange for the television to be put on a swivel bracket so it can be watched from anywhere in the room, my e-mail address is garry.gaynor@travelodge.ie.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We only spent 1 night at Travellodge and on reading reveiws was a bit worried.

On check we were early I asked for a high floor quiet room receptionist explained obviously city centre hotel they couldnt guarantee a quiet room . Then Gary said the rooms with the very small windows had just had new airconditioning units installed yesterday and i was most welcome to have a look , again i was a bit dubious obviously as the reports on the rooms with small windows.

Well we had the best night sleep in the room 207 comfy bed brand new pillows air con unit worked perfectly not at all loud .

Could not fault service at hotel everybody was very helpful especially Carmena receptionist on check out

We parked outside hotel on the street no problem at all

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear edhall
Thank you for leaving the time to leave your review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed you stay.
We use guest reviews to help us improve our service and as you mentioned we have now installed new air conditioning units and are trialling new pillows.
I trust you had a good shopping trip and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Room was clean and comfortable great for one night stay....your in the town so expected noise when we stayed!! Would stay again so central to bus station pubs and shops all walking distance!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, General Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear holidaymaker12
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I was please you found the hotel clean, comfortable and enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Belfast
Kind regards

Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Belfast Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Belfast Central

Property: Travelodge Belfast Central
Address: 15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Belfast Central 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Belfast is the ideal location to base yourself while working or visiting Belfast. The train and bus stations are across the road from the Travelodge, which features on all major routes. The universities of both Queens and Ulster Belfast are within a 10 minute walk. There is a vast array of restaurants, pubs and clubs locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Belfast Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Belfast City Hotel Belfast
Travel Lodge Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing