We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst experience in long time” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Belfast Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Belfast Central
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Cardfff
2 reviews
“worst experience in long time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Advertised as wheelchair accessible I couldn't even get through the front door without assistance and I'm not small or weak. It was a marker of things to come. Complete nonsense describing this room as accessible - no space between bed and desk, the fixtures were in poor state of repair or broken, and really not just bad but dangerous too if you have limited mobility and try to function there. I went out to other places to go to the toilet in the end, and worst of all not only was it too cold but there was no hot water when I need to get to my early flight - a member of staff admitted it is switched off after midnight!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Neveragain42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear neveragain42.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Since your stay we have had a discussed your stay at length on the telephone and I appreciate your advice. We are planning refurbishment in the near future and will ensure the structural issues are included in the design. In the meantime we will make the other adjustments to make the room more accessible friendly. And as discussed once we have completed the work we will invite you back to “road test” the room.
Regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    241
    215
    130
    150
See reviews for
86
324
105
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Researched hotels in Belfast city centre on booking.com and travelodge was the cheapest but still came in at £229 I stayed 2 nights with my girlfriend. Friday till Sunday. I'm a bit shocked at the different reviews the service was good as I asked a couple of times about buses and different attractions. The room was tidy aswell as the toilet with hands wash and soap. It was everything you needed really the door has two locks also and was very secure. After the first day we were supplied with new clean towels as expected as the maid changed our rooms. Not much else to really say really enjoyed our stay I think the majority or the bad reviews about this travelodge is people expecting Hilton quality because they didn't spend the extra pennies on a better room. Location was in the city also and had no problem with the 2 minute walk to the shopping centres. Hope you found my review helpful thanks for the lovely stay.

Chris

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrismclauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Chris
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the hotel location and facilities good value for money.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Like many other reviews on here, this hotel is a bit grim and the excuse that it is a budget hotel doesn't wash as you can get better value elsewhere , premier inn is much better. The rooms are small and comfortable enough but the bathrooms are only surface clean and in need of complete refurb. The night we stayed the receptionist seemed unable to cope and was overheard being very curt to customers on the phone. The icing on the cake was what I could only describe as a' bouncer' on the door as we returned from a night out , checking names and room numbers as we entered the hotel, something I have not encountered anywhere on my travels before- gave the impression of being very rough! I would definitely give this place a miss and opt for a nicer guest house or other budget hotel which is better value for money-£ 80 was definitely not worth paying here!

Room Tip: Less noise if room faces on brunswick st
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sarah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sarah Q
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. I can assure you that the rooms are cleaned thoroughly. We check names and room numbers to prevent non-residents entering the hotel and causing noise problems and is common in most city centre hotels.
Regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

For start location is perfect very central right next to crown bar.
A lot of drunks in the area, could be noisy on weekends, or evenings.
Decor fairly old, badly lit. Rooms very small, the one I stayed smelled really badly. But it doesn't surprise me. There is no quality in this hotel at all. W.C didn't work properly. Breakfast is a total waste of money, total disaster. Go somewhere else. The reason I only give it 2 stars is that staff was very friendly and helpful, otherwise complete nightmare. I don't know how they could get away with this kind of substandard. This is the worst hotel I have stead for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Globetrotterr
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry you were not entirely happy with your stay with the exception of our friendly staff. Please be assured that all comments are reviewed and investigated to help us improve our product and service.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed there for night. But spend 70€ for crap room. All filty, view to the back of the house. Felt like in underground... Everybody can walk in and out of hotel anytime, without asking room number... Didn't feel secure at all... Never ever again in travelodge. Don't save money on your hotel, cos will ruin your stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Andris C
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. I can assure you the hotel is secure and strictly for residents. The entrance is opposite the reception desk and is always monitored.
Regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Reception smelt fusty, bathroom was in need of attention - mouldy grout, taps over bath needed replacing as there were no markings on them - there IS NO HAND HAIR AND BODY WASH - it's a bar of cheap soap. Can't believe that in this day and age there is not a hair dryer in every room. Paint is peeling, colours are tired and carpets need replacing. I feel sorry for the people who work there and have to try and keep the place looking as good as they can.
Good location and good value for money but I don't think I'll be going back if I can help it.
If you can afford the Premier Inn on Alfred Street - go for it! It's much better and its worth the extra you may have to pay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that's not overlooking the road or Fibber Magees at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Tubalt
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all feedback good and bad as this helps us to improve our service. We are currently trialling a number of different shampoo & shower gels in the hotel and will soon be placing these in all of the rooms. Hair dryers can be collected from reception.
regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's Tavelodge - not the Ritz. If you're on a budget, Travelodge is a great choice. It's comfortable but tired. Needs some money spent on a re-vamp.
That said, it was clean and comfortable and if you're just looking for somehwere for a one night lay-over or you're ona budget, I'd recommend it.
It also has one of the best locations in the city. City Hall is less than 5 minutes away on a lazy stroll and everything else is right on the door-step.
There is an independent restaurant bolted on / attached to the Travelodge with a direct access door and breakfast is available there.
The bed was comfortable and the sleep quality was good.
That said, there si a supermarket with a service door at the back of the hotel whch takes early morning, very noisy deliveries (around 6-45/7.00am in my case).
Would I stay there agin - Yes - for the location and ease of getting to everything Belfast has to offer.

Room Tip: There is a supermarket service door at the rear of the hotel which takes early morning very loud del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artifex1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry G, Manager at Travelodge Belfast Central, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Artifex1954
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As a regular traveller and contributor to Tripadvisor with 24 hotel reviews we particularly appreciate your comments and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us.
Kind regards
Garry Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Belfast Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Belfast Central

Property: Travelodge Belfast Central
Address: 15 Brunswick Street, Belfast BT2 7GE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Belfast Central 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Belfast is the ideal location to base yourself while working or visiting Belfast. The train and bus stations are across the road from the Travelodge, which features on all major routes. The universities of both Queens and Ulster Belfast are within a 10 minute walk. There is a vast array of restaurants, pubs and clubs locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Belfast Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Belfast City Hotel Belfast
Travel Lodge Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing