We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”
Review of Park Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed at the Park Avenue recently on an overnight trip to Belfast. We choose the hotel as it is a little out of the city centre and in a quiet location, but still only a few minutes from the city centre. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and even helped us get our TV sorted when we had a problem later that evening. We upgraded to an executive room which was extremely comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast next morning and the lady in charge of the dining room could not have done any more to make sure we were well looked after. Overall we had a lovely stay and our only complaint is that we weren't able to stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

My usual hotels in city centre were all extremely expensive/booked so I decided to try further afield
It's still only a few mins from Vic sq etc

Lovely quiet hotel and staff were friendly
I upgraded room and found it to be of nice standard

Only thing I would say is it doesn't quite FEEL 4 stars

Parking is free which is unusual for Belfast
Breakfast included was nice
Wifi also included, although signal in my room was terrible...not sure is that the same throughout or was I just unlucky

Only other point to make is it's quite near a heavy unionist area which can be a little intimidating to drive through..!

But I would stay again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Irish_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

booked in last minute got a great deal on the internet, lovely hotel rooms were very modern and the beds were so comfortable. staff very friendly and the night porter helped us out to get some food after our concert. breakfast was lovely plenty to eat.

will stay here again if im in belfast.

you can hear airplanes tho this didnt bother us in the slightest but might other guests

Room Tip: we stayed in room 301 which had a lovely view over belfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scunnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice quiet hotel, well appointed rooms, friendly staff...felt safe with my family. Staff recommended great taxi tour and The Titanic Museum. Free parking was also nice. They also have a great pub/ Restuarant downstairs. Good food, nice people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENMASIELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here with my other half at the start of March. The experience was excellent, and I would recommend a visit. The hotel appears to have been refurbished not so long ago and the reception, halls, dining rooms etc. all appear to be pleasant and well kept. The room we opted for was one of the suites, so it was very spacious and provided everything you could have asked for in a hotel room. As an aside, the hotel is located outside of the city so a car is a must in my opinion.

The staff are excellent. Before and during the stay, they were more than happy to help on numerous occasions. The night porter was very warm and welcoming in offering use of the bar when it had closed for the evening! We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. While the dinner was brilliant, the breakfast could have had a slightly better selection/a full buffet. That's a small point in comparison to the overriding number of positive factors.

One key thing is that it does not feel like 'just another hotel'. You can be sure to have a very enjoyable stay here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite after booking! It works out at better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepEmComing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Myself and two friends visited Gelstons bar/restaurant in the Park Avenue hotel on Thursday 27th March for lunch , as we have done several times a year without any problems. I ordered Portavogie scampi with chunky chips and a portion of peas ,and was extremely disappointed. The scampi pieces were small ,tasteless , and mostly consisted of breadcrumbs, an embarrassment to the Portavogie fishing industry .I received nine chunky chips on my plate and a number of crispy ends consisting of batter, with a small portion of peas .My meal in short lacked quality and poor value for money ,considering it cost £9.95.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Enjoyed a meal in the bar, choice on menu was very good. Bar service was excellent.
The reception staff on entering were not particularly helpful, they were talking and looked more annoyed that I interupted their conversation, not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. One particular girl named Louise was rude and clearly could not be bothered to help. But we did enjoy our meal in the bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AKSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Stormont Hotel
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,085 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#11 of 45 in Belfast
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Hotel

Address: 158 Holywood Road, Belfast BT4 1PB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Belfast
#14 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#20 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £94 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Belfast
Hotel Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing