We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay outside the city centre”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good place to stay outside the city centre”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for one night when I came for a job interview to Belfast. A very good hotel. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.
Had a very nice and relaxed time here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    242
    79
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
433
30
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

From the minute my fiancée and I set foot in this hotel we were met with nothing but class. The lady at the front desk greeted us and was both courteous and polite. In fact the same can be said of all the staff.

We booked a deluxe room and that is what we got. It was huge. Both a walk-in shower and bath, a massive tv c/w iPod docking station, table and two massively comfortable chairs, ample storage space, all mod-cons, and a bed that was as big as it was comfy. Cleanliness level was superb throughout the room and the hotel too. The room also had complimentary wi-fi which is always a huge bonus.

We didn't eat in the restaurant/bistro area but the food looked very tasty and the decor was outstanding. We did however have a breakfast which was served from the hotel set menu. Both my fiancée and I enjoyed it enormously and would recommend that you try it. The options were great and we opted for the Ulster Fry. There was of course more health conscious options on offer. Cereals, fresh fruit etc etc.

The location is excellent. A mere 10 minute brisk walk from the city centre. There are countless restaurants of all varieties close by as well as cinemas, shops, and it's located just around the corner from Queen's University and The Botnaic Gardens. Definitely the nicest scenery in Belfast and ideal fr a couple looking to go for a stroll.

I'd definitely rate this hotel 10/10. Understated excellence. I'll be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe. It's huge and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RememberTheTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed in Dukes on 15th Dec. to attend a graduation cermony in Queens. The hotel was faultless. We parked overnight in University Street. When we returned to our car the next morning over £1,000 worth of damage had been done. The PSNI officers told us vandalism is a real problem in the area. So beware of on street parking !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lizzyannemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I booked this hotel for my husband and I to stay in on a night out in Belfast, we ended up not even leaving the hotel. The reception staff were very friendly on arrival and despite their being a problem with my booking, which was my fault, check in was still quick and efficient. They were willing to help us with any plans we wanted to make for the evening either inside the hotel or out in the town.

Our room was on the second floor and was absolutely huge with a glorious king size bed, sitting area and all the mod cons. A huge flat screen tv and i-pod doc which could be controlled from the bed. The bathroom was also really big with a lovely large bath and a very good power shower (we do judge our hotels by their showers I have to say.) There was a constant supply of hot water at any stage of the day.

We had booked a dinner package, again the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly despite being very busy with some large christmas parties in. The food again was really nice and didn't suffer due to the christmas party bookings which does sometimes happen in hotels and bars. The restaurant was really luxuriously decorated and is a great place to spend an evening, which is what we did. There was an acoustic singer on while we were having our meal and later on there was a a dj both of whom were really good and made you want to stay.

Although we were at the front of the hotel we didn't hear any noise from people of traffic outside. Breakfast was good, with kind a large selection of cereals and then the option of made to order hot breakfast. Again the staff were really friendly and always interested in having a chat if you want to.

On checkout we and one of the receptionists that checked us in and as usual friendly and efficient service.

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough, our stay was fabulous from start to finish and I have no doubt that if i need to stay in Belfast again I will be booking a room here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I have just had a wonderful weekend staying in Dukes hotel. The friendly staff and the excellent service we received helped make our weekend very special. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms fabulous. Food fabulous. Cocktails fabulous. We had a great time dancing the night away in Claudines. This is the second year we have stayed here and it keeps getting better. We will be returning next year and probably during the year too. Our experience was so much better than we have had at supposedly 5 star hotels in Belfast. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If your looking for a stylish hotel with lovely staff then this is the place to stay! I booked this hotel for me and 8 friends for my best friends hen do in October. From booking I had to make two changes and the hotel staff was happy to help. When we arrived, we were so pleased. The room was the superior which was only £10 more, and what a room.....it was huge, comforting and modern. The staff were always on hand to answer our many questions, book taxis and recommend countless places. They never got tired of us asking, always wanting to make sure we had a great time. The bar served fantastic cocktails and the breakfast is superb! I can't recommend this hotel enough and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaznewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Spend a weekend with the wife at Dukes, it was our second stay here. First stay had blown us out of the water.

The hotel rooms are large, clean and nicely decorated. Some nice features such as surround sound and an ipod dock. Bathroom very big, but quite cold, no heating and heated towel rack was not working. Mini bar not present and would be nice to have. No wifi coverage in the room, but a (short) cable supplied.

Receptionist was very welcoming and chatty, but not quite sure how efficient ( we never got any feedback as to whether the towel rack was (going to be) fixed after we reported it broken.

Restaurant was ok ( and just about).
Breakfast was fine. Full Irish was good. The buffet is quite limited ( no jam, just marmalade, milk was warm rather than cold, the yoghurt pots were also not very cold)

We had dinner on one night and whilst it tasted very good, i do have a few comments.
We both had our eyes set on a particular starter that they didn't have, unfortunately the waitress didn't know so had to come back to us, which is never a good start.
The fact that this starter was not available on a Fri night at 7 PM raises the question whether it is a menu filler or whether they actually serve it at all.
The description of the food is not what you get. Chicken and barley broth had one barley grain. The colcannon potato cake, was actually cabbage with a crushed potato in it and the hot brownie with white chocolate sauce , was actually a room temperature brownie with brown chocolate sauce.

Now... like I said the food was good , but why set wrong expectations with your guests ? I would still have ordered the same food if it had been described properly, now I feel that kitchen was using short cuts..

The 2 night BB and dinner I don't feel was particularly good value as you end up paying supplements for 3 out of the 8 mains. They also have a dinner for 2 incl wine for £ 30 where the supplements don't seem to apply and includes the wine which is not included in the 2 night BBD deal.

I also found the restaurant staff to be less friendly than the general hotel staff.

I will definitely stay again at the hotel but will not be having dinner.

Room Tip: I'd say all rooms are excellent, some are just bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Harold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,161 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing