We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed at dukes on a night out in Belfast fantastic hotel one of the best i,ve stayed in, staff were very friendly only had the breakfast which was very nice.The room was very clean with a huge bed which was hard to get out off,bathroom was spotless with a brilliant shower will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 336MARKb336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    238
    78
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
425
30
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Reception staff were wonderful (you know who you are!).
Room 209 very spacious for just one person; excellent bed and linen. I slept like a baby.
Cracked mirror in my bathroom (I was told it was about to be replaced). Shower was good; toiletries adequate rather than luxurious.
I couldn't get my tv remote to work, but eventually managed by manual.
Bar was pricey (a Corona was £3.50).
Lunch was good, and service speedy once we said we were short of time.
Waiter service at breakfast was a nice touch; veggie 'full Irish' was fine, and hot milk for coffee came swiftly.
Overall- I'll come again. Hopefully 5* next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VamosaValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Dukes at queens is a great hotel if you're visiting Belfast. The rooms are very nice, especially the bathrooms, quite luxurious and the location is great for walking to the city center. I found it very peaceful at night after a long day of touring, though admittedly, I didn't stay on the weekend. Oh, and the staff is wonderful. Very courteous and helpful. One of the cab drivers I used didn't have change but the front desk and the people at the restaurant didn't hesitate to get me change. I would definitely return if ever in Belfast again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBqns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyuni
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed in the Dukes and Queens hotel last weekend. A really lovely hotel and so near everything. From the time we signed in to the time we left the staff were were wonderful. Our room was on the second floor huge bathroom,king size bed. Just super. The only gripe we had was that the windows were sealed and so we had to use the air conditioner and as result if felt very suffacating at night time, don't know what it would be like in the hot weather!!. We got a taxi to the Titanic center. Only £3.30. What a place well worth the visit. The staff were more than helpful. Walked back to the shopping center lovely walk. We had dinner on both nights in the hotel. £3o for a two course meal and a bottle of wine. Great value. On the second night we had the meal for two for £4o including a free bottle of wine. The meal was just simply delicous. Breakfast on both mornings was freshly cooked to order. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends. Thanks to all at the Dukes and Queens.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and the windows were sealed had to use ac but very quite otherwise eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agnesDyuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, WALES
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Arrived in Belfast for a long weekend over the Jubilee.

Nice stylish hotel with very friendly staff. The room provided to us, on the second floor, was excellent. Large comfortable bed, large flat screen TV, loads of space, good bathroom, safe, iron, and chairs with a table, perfect. My only criticism was that you could not open the window so no fresh air. The room is controlled by air con. Feels like a bit of fresh air is needed and the breakfast was ok appart from the cholestorol free bacon! As dry as a bone. Splinters everywhere!

Belfast, my second time, is a great city. The hotel is not in the centre of the city but in an area of bars, restaurants etc.. which makes it a ideal.

I would recommend the Titanic museum and around the dock area. To get there I would also recommend the 'Hop on Hop off' Allens bus tour. Takes you there, through the town centre, the area of trouble spots and Stormont.

Excellent time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I were staying in Dublin for 6 weeks, mid-May 'til late June, for my work, and we wanted to break away for a weekend to Belfast. We searched the web for choice accommodations at reasonable prices and came across some very positive reviews of Dukes at Queens and, not knowing Belfast at all, took a chance and booked a room for 2 late May weekend nights at 100 sterling a night.

We were very pleased. Using a 2-day Irish rail pass, we traveled the 2+ hours to Belfast Central, then a short hop by train to Botanic Street. A short walk took us to Dukes at Queens at the crest of Botanic and University streets, and within a very short walk to the botanical gardens and Ulster Museum. Our desk hostess, Jennifer, was very pleasant and quickly and painlessly made arrangements for our Saturday bus tour trip to the Giant's Causeway.

Our room was spacious, clean and unique, what with a modern stand in shower with a large drop-down shower head and what looked like a jacuzzi tub, which we didn't use. The room's tone was modern, the bed a king and comfortable with the typical Irish thick, spongy down comforter. The modern tone contrasted with the hotel's decor, a more traditional, castle-like exterior and interior with deep red and black furnishings and wall decor, accented with silver, mirror-like columns.

The first night we enjoyed dinner on the patio outside, a very nice affair for 30 sterling for 2, while we were entertained by a talented folk singer. The clientele seemed mostly young professionals. We felt quite comfortable, able to watch the people parade pass below us on the street. Botanic Street, which stretches down from Dukes at Queens, is a bustling venue of cafes and shops.

We spent the night listening to the DJ inside spin tunes. We're R & B fans, and he did accommodate our taste a bit along the way. A causeway and rope bridge tour Saturday, and a very pleasant 10 minute stroll to the botanical gardens and Ulster Museum on Sunday completed our stay.

It was a most enjoyable experience, and the large buffet breakfast (included in the rate) of eggs to your liking, cereals, fruits, breads, juices, coffee/tea, was excellent. For a boutique hotel with charm, novelty, superb location, and pleasant, accommodating staff, the Dukes at Queens was a choice find.

Room Tip: Even if your web search says they're booked, give a call. That's what we did, and they made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Hidden gem sounds like a horrible cliche I know but my wife and I are staying at Dukes right now and I am not normally one driven to review anything. This place is great.

Arrived last night to a really friendly welcome, sat on the terrace and listened to an acoustic set while sipping a beer. The standard room is spacious, very nicely decorated and has more mod cons than most hotels in London.

Beautiful bathroom with walk-in shower and a bath. The only drawback is that the website doesn't do it justice whatsoever. Went to dinner next door at Molly's Yard which is also recommended.

And all for £60 per night on Hotwire including breakfast!?!? Ridiculously good value. Off to a wedding today and the sun is out, maybe that is putting a nice shine on things.

Cme stay here!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mjc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing