We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel, spacious rooms”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good hotel, spacious rooms”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

God location, very near botanical garden and Ulster museum. Round the corner are a great selection of restaurants for all tastes.

Hotel rooms are very spacious. Well kitted out.

The hotel is a bit tired but clean and still looks good for a city stay.

Hotel kitchen closed at 8.45pm so after this no room service either. You can get them to order in a take away or you can go and get it yourself and the hotel will give you plate and cutlery and you can east it in your room.

The bed I slept in was soft but the pillows were really full and hard. We did ask for softer pillows but we were given more of the same.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor r207. Good spacious room, looked out to front of hotel, little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thethreecees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    246
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
71
440
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The room we stayed in was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in (room 206). The bed was very difficult to leave and the shower was fabulous. The breakfast was very tasty as was the evening meal we had in our room the first day we arrived. The hotel bar was plush and elegant. In terms of the location the area was very nice about five mins taxi drive from town (£6). Free street parking outside the hotel (we stayed over the weekend).

Thanks to the advice from someone from Belfast we headed out to the Cathedral Quarter - good bars; Dukes of York (great atmosphere people drinking on the street), The Spaniard (good music downstairs but go upstairs for DJ) The John Hewitt Bar (Sunday night live music with Spanish guitarists and singers), The Cloth Ear.

On the Sunday we took a tourist bus around the city - very interesting and well worth the £12.50 each. Make sure to ask at reception as the tourist bus company will send a free shuttle bus to collect you at the hotel and bring you to the departure stop. A very good service.

For shopping head for the Victoria Square shopping centre - a shoppers dream!!

Room Tip: Room 206. We booked through booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I had been looking for hotels in Belfast and were actually going to stay somewhere else, until we found The Dukes: cheaper and just as good, we gave it a try. Oh, we were not disappointed!

The service is extremely friendly, especially at the reception, they were all very nice, smiley and helpful - did not meet the housekeeper but the job was very well done too; the room was very comfortable and clean, and so was the toilet. Ipod station and speakers and little chocolate and tea cookies were just a plus. The breakfast was very basic, true, as there`s not much to choose from in the buffet that is mainly cereals and yoghurt, but the cooked meals you can order will not leave you hungry, don`t worry. And for the price, it is well worth it! And the restaurant was nicely decorated.

The only thing I would say is maybe if you do not like walking you might need to think twice, but it is not like the hotel is far from everything, no! It is very well located, near plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops and not far from the main places you`ll need to go. We walked everywhere and it was just fine, but I do know that there are some people who cannot be bothered walking for 5 minutes.

If I`m ever back in Belfast, I`ll be staying there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZGPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at The Dukes at Queens. The neighborhood was within easy walking distance to the University, Botanical Gardens, and museum and good restaurants and pubs. Parking on the street was a breeze. The bathrooms were lovely and the breakfast was hearty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merryleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were looking for somewhere handy to the centre of Belfast and this had good reviews on here. Can't fault this hotel. All staff were friendly. Room was grand. Breakfast was lovely. Easy walking distance into the city centre. It was a bit noisy outside until about 2am but I'm sure any city centre location would be the same. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

my partner an i had booked here for our anniversary, when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded, the room was amazing with the air-con as we arrived on a very warm day, staff were very helpful, place was spotless, the only bad point was the breakfest the next day, it was nice, but there wasnt much off it, would be back again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricknchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We chose this hotel as it is walking distance to the city but on the right side to get to the Culloden hotel in Holywood for a wedding. It worked out perfectly and we were very pleased with our stay. All the staff were extremely friendly which was a recurring theme throughout our stay in Belfast. The hotel is very modern in attire and our room was a great size with a small sofa, Eames style chair (so comfy), shower and bath, large comfy bed plus a flat screen tv on the wall which meant we could watch the Olympics in bed! It was great having the restaurant and bar attached to the hotel which did good food and a great lint of Guiness! The breakfast (Irish) was amazing, a must. It is also a worth a walk up the road to the Botanical gardens and park, very beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe double room for more space and a comfy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checked01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing