We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 star all the way”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nice hotel , nice food and awesome cocktails .the rooms are spotless and clean .breakfast in the morning is a menu where u can pick a cooked breakfast ,eggs Benedict or fry is very good . Will book again soon

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasdowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    246
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
71
440
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend stay. Great hotel, room was spacious, modern and very clean. Extremely comfortable bed. We had a big bath and shower in a spacious bathroom. Overall can't find fault with the room. Really friendly and helpful reception staff, made a point of acknowledging your comings and goings and helped us with directions etc. The reception staff really make the hotel stand apart we thought. We ate in the hotel one night and had a really tasty meal. Great cocktail menu!The area that the hotel is in is very studenty as so close to the university and a lot of the houses are obviously student rentals and look run down so the area itself isn't the most asthetically pleasing. However it is only a 15 walk into the city centre and there are plenty of places around the hotel (coffee shops, ATM, restuarents etc). We parked on the street (free street parking) and had no problems. Would definately stay here if was in Belfast again.

Room Tip: Room 102 was very nice and had a bath and a shower :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early November and found it to be an excellent choice. The room was spacious and everything was top quality and well maintained. Breakfast was included in our reservation and their dinner special was very reasonable. The receptionist helped us numerous times on all kinds of requests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Five of us stayed here for my friends Hen Party, from the moment we entered to the moment we left nothing was ever too much trouble.
The receptionist was extremely welcoming and friendly and a pleasure to talk to.
The bedrooms were amazing! They were huge, with the most comfy beds i have ever slept in, even my bed at home seems rock hard to these. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was immaculate with a huge bath aswell as a double shower.
Breakfast was made to order, and was delicious - i had the eggs benedict, plent of choice of cereals, fruits and juices too.
We had a cocktail course with Chris the bar manager who was brilliant, teaching us to make long island ice teas and strawberry daquaries. We also had the pleasure of him being there on the evening, where the bar has a dj on a Friday and Saturday til 1am where we can dance the night away.
All in all i have to say this hotel in one of the best i have stayed in for a long time and most definatly intend to return soon :-)
Thank you Dukes for making my friend's Hen Party a pleasure, and for looking after us.

Room Tip: me and my friend stayed in room 106 and this was huge and the beds were AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 288MelissaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel has the friendliness of a boutique hotel – greetings as you arrive and leave each time. Best part of the room was a modern, clean bathroom with heated towel racks. Large LCD TV, free wi-fi, iPod docking station, safe, big desk, 2 chairs and cookies and chocolate supplied each day. No iron. (All the more reason to have non-iron clothes on a trip!) Very convenient to Queens University, the Botanical Gardens, and all the related restaurants and businesses, including a grocery store and a Starbucks. On a very quiet street as long as there are not celebrations going on. (Young men in Ireland were notable for their celebrations.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Good location in the middle of the university area which made it a bit unique. Modern but has retained its character. Very friendly and attentive staff throughout. Parking is fee on street beside the hotel and around the back, we arrived in the evening and got a space.

I would stay again for the convenience, it is fairly basic so I would look at what is available first. We made the booking as it was the best value available on the day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Enordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the dukes at Queens the rooms were a very high standard, with the bathroom decor was exceptional and very clean. You had the choice of a bath or a high powered shower. My only big problem with this hotel was that none of the windows in the entire hotel would open ? Yes it sounds cazy but true, so I expressed my concern to the receptionist who was not helpful at all ? She just told me that all rooms have air con in them, but if you have asthma then that would be a major problem for you. Air con in rooms is not good for people with an asthmatic condition 100% true. I would not stay at this hotel again for one simple reason, if you want fresh air in your room then dont book and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If like me you want to open your bedroom window for fresh air, then dont stay at this hotel as none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing