We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Ireland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from spending one night here with my husband. I had two nights initially booked with a specific company but needed to amend this to one night due to family bereavement. I was left on hold on phone for a half hour, no success. I rang hotel directly who said she would sort it. She rang me back to say that she had no success either and that I should cancel booking totally and book directly with them for the same rate which I did.
Check in at hotel was super efficient and friendly. Foyer seemed small and cluttered. Rooms were lovely, spacious , v modern and a huge comfie bed. Dinner in Claudines was tasty and good value. Lovely guy playing guitar in background. Breakfast was cooked to order and was top dollar also. All staff we met especially those front of house were super nice.
Internet wifi was non existant in bedrooms it was available in public areas. Parking is available on the streets. It is free but I was not comfortable with having my southern registered car on the street overnight.
The hotel is v close to Queens university and the botanic gardens which are worth a visit as is the Ulster museum which is also close by. It is a good 20 min walk into town. We went to see the titanic exhibition which was brilliant.
So overall lovely stay , but not quite full marks due to public areas let down, lack of secure parking and poor wifi coverage. I would stay here again though as the price was competitive.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    237
    78
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
423
30
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I overnighted here, arriving to a warm welcome from reception and restaurant staff alike. My room was big, clean, stylish and super comfy. Dinner was reasonably priced, and the pork belly was cooked beautifully, hearty and satisfying, all it needed was some accompanying greenery (beans or cabbage) to finish it off. Breakfast was also very good, cooked to order with plenty to help yourself to from the buffet, including lots of fresh fruit. All round a great hotel at a good price. It puts London hotels to shame. Keep it up Dukes, I look forward to coming back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Finst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeddah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 4 days bringing in the new year. The hotel staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you, the brasserie and bar was reasonable and food was good quality. Our room was fantastic staying in a suite the bed was massive and very comfy, the only downside is the walk into the town centre, a taxi ride is in order. All in all a lovely time was had.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steevo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. We stayed the day before Christmas eve so it was quiet. The rooms were lovely a lot bigger and nicer than I expected. As they were quiet they gave us breakfast to the room , a full ulster fry which was just what we needed after having a few drinks the night before. The bed was big and really comfy , massive tv in the room with a big windowsill with eating area so you can look onto the street. Really enjoyed my stay here. Theres loads of nice restaurants and bars around and its only a 10 min walk from the main shopping area of town.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geeml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked to stay here on the 18th December,to go to a concert after getting a very reasonable deal. The hotel is beautiful and very tastefully decorated, set in an excellent location in Belfast. Loads to do in and around the area.
The young man on check in was helpful pleasant and professional.
We were given the keys to room 114 which we thought was gorgeous. We loved the huge comfy bed and the bathroom was generous in size and the decor was lovely too. It was nice to have the option of a bath or a shower, and both of these were again very large and spacious. Our room was immaculate, and the chocoaltes and biscuits were a lovely touch as well.
We were also delighted to notice the staff had went to a bit of extra trouble for my husbands birthday. Really thoughtful touch Dukes!
Despite having a few parties in for Christmas nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were cheery and personable. We had one drink in Claudines and the atmosphere was lovely. We didnt have time to dine, but the front reception staff were helpful in arranging taxis for us as well.
The night porter was also a gentleman, who had a lot of time for us and very helpful, despite us being a little worse for wear after a night out in Belfast. Ive seen far too many arrogant night porters who just want you out of the way.
We ordered breakfast for our room for the following morning and it was delicious! Service was bang on time as well, and food was piping hot.
Please dont hesitate to stay here, you will be well impressed and the staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home. In fact for us the hotel was beautiful, but its the staff that make the place.
Dukes at Queens is now our first choice for our next trip to Belfast. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladymuck80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The room was confortable, with nice furniture, but there was no water available in the room, and the windiw was very small. The breakfast was definitely poor and the restsurant Claudines was offering relatively poor quality menu as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunfromVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My Partner and I and a friend stayed here this week for one night as we were attending a concert in the Oddessy. From start to finish, everything was excellent. Both receptionists that were on duty on check-in and check-out were very friendly and welcoming. We chose to eat at their restaurant, Claudines and the food was delicious, service quick and efficient and the "couples meal" at £29.95 for 2 courses each and a bottle of house wine was extremely good value. The night porter was very helpful; a lovely man. The standard double rooms we booked are very spacious, had all the amenities one could ask for and the bed was so comfortable, I wished we could have taken it home! My partner and I had a room at the front and there was a little late night street noise but our friend's room was facing the back which he said was very quiet.
We all had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing