We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived to find that we could not park anywhere near the hotel. Don't be fooled by the impressive photo of the hotel front. It's not as it is in reality. We immediately wanted to leave and asked about cancelation policy but because we had booked through a third party we could not cancel. We were shown to our room which was ok and quite comfortable but cold. We soon found out that we did not have wifi as advertised and when we asked were told to sit in the public areas. We then booked a table in the restaurant as reviews were good. Big mistake. I can only describe the food as awful. Even the coke was flat. The waitress was very apologetic and helpful but that's the only positive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pabloblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    246
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
71
440
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here recently for 5 nights. The hotel is lovely, nice decor, clean and the restaurant made excellent food. The staff were very helpful, kind and polite, even when I requested that they ask the people in the room next too me to turn down their music. It's a shame some of the guest weren't as thoughtful as the staff. However, I was in a room facing the road and the windows just didn't keep the sound out. If I was to stay there again I'd definitely ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: If you need good sleep ask for a room that does not face out on to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupal937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

this is a great hotel bed was really comfortable kirsty on reception was very friendly welcoming and efficient -a credit to the hotel .food was excellent particularly the cooked breakfast. one slight quibble we were on the first floor for the Friday night and the noise from the entertainment was too much we found out that there was a birthday party but we didn't really appreciate being woken up by it the Saturday night on the second floor was really quiet we will be back soon

Room Tip: definetly ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertfromstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fantastic: we were warmly welcomed by Kirsty and immediately felt at ease in this hotel. The elegant furnishings and chandelier in the reception area create an excellent first impression. We soon found ourselves ensconced in the elegantly-furnished Claudines enjoying happy-hour cocktails. Rooms are immaculately clean and luxuriously furnished. We dined in the restaurant - the first-class service complimented our delicious dinner - which was reasonably priced at £29.50 for two people, including a bottle of wine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine1188932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 23 years under different owners but this group is by far the best. This hotel is with in easy walking distance to the city center and also on a main bus route. All staff are most helpful from the reception right through to the night porter. The hotel offers live entertainment at the weekends, has a wide and varied menu to suit all pallets not forgetting the excellent standard of cocktails on offer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious we would highly recommend this hotel as its very good value for money and well worth a visit as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and i stayed here for our wedding anniversary after we had visited some friends in Antrim. We paid £130 for two nights with continental breakfast one day and full breakfast on the second. The hotel put some swan towels on the bed with roses which was a lovely touch for the event.

The lady that checked us in was a bit miserable, her customer service skills leave something to be desired, but the second lady on reception in the morning was full of the joys and chatted away, she was so lovely, i believe her name to be Reine (i might have got that wrong). Reine checked us out on Tuesday morning and and generally added to the atmosphere of the hotel, the hotel should be proud to have her.

The room was nice, very spacious with extremelly comfy beds and pillows. The bath was huge and the shower was massive and powerful, i could have stayed in there all day. The room was quite dark as it was grey and red, and the window was very small but nothing really to complain about as it was fine when the lights were on. The main hotel is coloured purple, which i think could do with a bit of redecorating but you cant keep everyone happy.

The location is great, close to bars and restaurants and about a 15 minute walk into the top of the city centre. Please go to the Empire theatre on an evening as they have some great entertainment and is free entry. The parking is off street and had to park a few streets behind the hotel but the car was fine and we didnt have any difficulty getting parked.

The only thing that i can suggest to improve on is the breakfast as the continental breakfast left something to be desired when compared to other hotels we have stayed in.

Generally a good hotel, in a good location, reasonably priced. It did what we needed it to and would stay here again if we were coming back to Belfast in the future.

Room Tip: check offers on website as we received a cheaper rate for the Sunday night. We stayed in 111 which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie_cade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly, you can't fault the friendliness and helpfulness of the bar, breakfast and especially the reception staff.

Our room was a great size and well decorated. Value for money wise it was well worth it.

The room wasn't perfectly clean - mattress has seen better days but on the whole a well recommended place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing