We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, sad and tired property”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, sad and tired property”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is NOT a four-star hotel. The hallway carpets are threadbare, the furniture in the room very heavily scuffed. Bathroom fixtures have been updated but the faucet for example was not securely fixed to the counter. My room was on the third floor but had one tiny window way up high, giving it the appearance of a basement suite, dark and dingy. I found the service across the board to be a bit chippy. The wifi works only in the tiny hotel lobby. Room is a decent size and the location is good (quiet quarter steps away from the University and some nice restaurants). All in, I will pay a bit more for a proper hotel next time I am in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carleeopteryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    244
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
436
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
512 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The staff here were all very good during a recent visit to a conference in Belfast. The reception area was also very pleasant, but that's precisely where it ended. The walk up the stairs every day was quite nauseating and just smelled like a toilet, with someone having the not-so-bright idea of having pungent washroom smelling auto-deodorant spraying into a stair well on a regular basis, truly truly awful.

The rooms, whilst spacious, were tired and dated, and the bathroom needed a fresh lick of paint on the ceiling (at the very least) and someone taught how to disinfect and clean the grouting around the tiles properly in the shower area. Which literally came alive with mildew after each and every use of the shower. This is bad housekeeping.

The bar area, where the decent breakfast is served, is quite odd indeed and the decor can only be described as 80s kitsch meets knocking shop. It is quite a sight indeed in the bright glare of a morning, dear me. Please ignore the four-star rating outside the door of the hotel (wherever that rating comes from?) as it ends quite abruptly once you pass the good staff and pleasant reception area. The local area (and bar) can also be quite noisy at night and I was woken on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at Dukes for work. The hotel is modern with spacious rooms. However, there were several minor problems which draws this review down. I arrived at three thirty pm and asked to buy a bottle of sparkling water. Even though there was staff at the bar, the receptionist declined "as the bar did not open until five pm". The safe was unworkable as the batteries would not stay in place. They could not load me an AC adapter, so I had to buy one. The wifi only works in reception and bar area. As they advertise a fitness center I brought training gear, however when I asked I was told that I would have to go to the university fitness centre (5-10 min walk) and get a discount (!). At breakfast the staff were sweet, but hard to find when you needed them. In general the hotel is nice, but suffers from poor service and attention to detail, especially considering their rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runar_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Dukes. The location was perfect with lots of restaurants and bars in close proximity. The room was very spacious and immaculate. I was especially impressed with the bathroom! Will stay again next time I'm in Belfast

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked for hen nite deal included cocktail making only got to make one cocktail no choice bartender made other one compared to other places that offer this very poor hen party was very quiet with the occasional whistle blown and we were told to stop as people eating dinner asked for vanilla cheesecake cheesecake came but it was orange said why it not vanilla oh sorry none left and away she went would have been nice to have been asked if we wanted something different plus cheesecake was freezing in middle then to top it off pillowcase had dried blood some sort of liquid on it too looked like it had not been changed in months did say to receptionist she was disgusted said she would show management apart from all that it is in a good area for eateries and bars

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel has two things going for it - the location and the size of the rooms. The overall experience was not great . The staff were not particularly attentive or helpful- when I asked if I could have a late check out on my last day the first thing I was told was that I would be charged. Normally if they are not very busy most hotels are quite flexible about allowing you to stay on for a few hours but the first thing I was told was that I would be charged even before asking what my requirement was. The staff at the front desk again said that their policy was to charge even if it is a couple of hours. And when I finally checked out even basic things like checking on how the stay was did not happen.The room itself was large and had a comfortable bed but the window was tiny and close to the ceiling so you could not get much light or even see out of the window. And the breakfast was very very ordinary both in terms of choice and quality. Wifi is again available only in the lobby which has only 2 chairs. The location is good though - it is close to the university and the botanic gardens with a lot of little cafés and restaurants in the vicinity and still within walking distance to the city hall. The hotel is overrated and is not a hotel I would return to or recommend .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuma18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.antrim
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved our stay here the room was big and bright lovely big rain shower had no problem getting a parking space in the street behind hotel.only downside was the long wait for our breakfast and the very grumpy waitress (if you don't like working on a Saturday morning get another job).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulsterelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,165 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing