We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

From arrival to departure the staff at Dukes go out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay. Beautiful, modern rooms and a menus to suit all tastes. I have stayed at many top hotels in both the UK and in Ireland and would not consider anywhere else when in Belfast. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brennster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    229
    78
    25
    19
See reviews for
67
416
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

A modern, clean, spacious hotel with excellent facilities. The Bathrooms both in the room and the public areas were spotless and very well furnished. Parking can be difficult in the daytime due the the local university however this is a small price to pay for this great value accomadation. The ambitious food menu is well delivered to great value and service levels all round were top rate. I have recommended already and will be back myself too!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PastryDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Booked one night dinner bed and breakfast in the Dukes and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of our rooms and the wonderful dinner we had. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we had a lovely stay in Belfast. We'll be back to the Dukles as it is great value and very well located in the city.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank manub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

this hotel was fine regarding cleaniness and location, it is small but rooms are nice enough. my overall reason for never returning to this hotel lies in my experience with one staff member at reception. i had booked this hotel for my sister and her family as a gift on my credit card.the hotel had double booked the room and hence rang me the morn after my family was due to arrive, saying the guests never arrived to the hotel. With no way of contacting the family due to mobile coverage,it led to much anxiety to the family of their whereabouts. Only after repeatedly talking through the booking, did a different staff find the guests on the system. As the staff had originally said the first night would be put on my credit card, i rang back later to ensure that once the guests had paid the remainder in cash, it wouldnt be also charged to my card, i was subject to shobla, a receptionist who repeatedly insisted i had called twice and booked this hotel twice on separate occasions and was lucky that the hotel was not charging me twice. when i protested that this was definitely not the case, she repeatedly told me how lucky I was that the hotel was not double charging us. she would take no responsibility for the hotels mistake and the anxiety their mistake had caused our family even though i had not rang and booked the same hotel for the same dates twice under my sisters name and my own name!!i told her i was unhappy how she was speaking to me and that her demeanour lacked manners and good customer service. it is so disappointing that in the current economy when hotel breaks arent something we can afford to do regularly that this the type of staff that treats her customers in such a way is working and dealing with customers on a daily basis. this is a four star hotel and if i had been in her position, i would have been so apologetic for the panic and anxiety the hotels mistake had set on a family who could not contact their young daughter,son in law and 2 year child. she seemed unaffected by my unhappiness with her service and only softened her tone once i said i would be taking this experience further. i hope others do not experience this as there is so many hotels in belfast of good quality such as the malone lodge which i stayed in a few years ago and only didnt return due to been booked out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinfemale2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_125, Manager at Dukes at Queens, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Having Researched this review .It is not a fair discription.
2 Rooms were booked under 2 different name on 2 different dates.
We tried our best to resolve the situation and did not charge the no show.
The lady who actually stayed in the Hotel ,assured us she was extremelly happy with the service provided .
Dukes at Queens strives to provide the best Customer Service possible at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Well run, efficient, friendly hotel. Rooms have been recently refurbished so excellent quality - great breakfast. Staff very helpful - hope to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed here using their GBP99 for 1 night, B&B including an 4 course meal for 2 adults.
Fantastic spot, really first class. Not a single fault.
On street parking in front of the hotel is perfect. Staff from reception to bar, 1st class. The rooms are reallt top quality, lots of space, lets you plug in your Ipod, and play music using surround sound. Bed was huge, as was bathroom.
I have stayed in 5 Star hotels of a similar standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We are both from Belfast but live now in London and we got married in August just around the corner from the hotel, at Queen's University. We were looking for a chic boutique hotel which could cater for us and for our friends and when someone suggested Duke's, remembering it from years ago, I was dubious. However, it is not the same place now! It was absolutely fantastic. We stayed and I got ready in one of the hotel's two beautiful suites and my photographer and make-up artist both had nothing but good things to say about the space and light. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and scrupulously clean. The staff couldn't have done more for us, even decorating our room with balloons and rose petals on the night of the wedding. The breakfasts were lovely. Our English and Dublin-based guests raved about the hotel, which we completely booked out (save for one room). Keep up the good work, Duke's!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing