We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crescent Townhouse
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Crescent Townhouse (CT) is located in a nice part of Belfast with lots of restaurants, bars and pubs nearby, with Queens University Belfast a 5 minute walk away.

Check in was very professional. We asked about a nearby restaurant and if it would be open so late (it was 10pm), and we were told by Matthew (night manager) that he would look it up and let us know.

There are no lifts, so if your room is on the top floor and you have heavy bags, it is a bit of a trek. CT is a townhouse converted into a hotel. The top floor is a smoking floor. The CT was full, so I could not change rooms. I left my window open for a few hours, and the smell had abated.

The room is basic. A queen size bed with blanket and 2 pillows (what is it with British hotels and 2 pillows?). There was a really small TV, tea/coffee making facilities, a fan (no air con), a radiator (how do you operate one of these?), a wardrobe with iron/board and a bathroom with Molten Brown Toiletries. There was a shower over bath.

The room was functional. I know it is not cleaned properly. My toilet was not cleaned, the sink wiped over hurriedly and shower not cleaned at all. Toiletries were not replaced, neither was bottled water.

My room was at the back of the hotel, and I had read in other reviews about noise from The Empire nightclub. Well, I could hear it, so I can't imagine how bad it is at the front of the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent. It is all served to order. With only one waitress, service was slow, but not because of her, it was just busy.

The hotel bar also is excellent. Open till 2am on a Friday night. With great Guinness. Matthew who had checked us in at 10pm was now serving drinks at 1 am. He was a very jovial chap.

Overall it was a good hotel. If the rooms were cleaned better, it would be excellent.

Room Tip: At the back and lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    183
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
29
225
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were bumped to this hotel when the Tara Lodge up the road took more bookings than they had rooms. I can advise that the 2pm check-in time is strictly enforced as we arrived at 1:51pm and were told to come back at 2pm and no we can't look after your luggage. The room we were allocated must be described as magnificent. It was huge and very grand (think old world charm). The main issue with the room was that it shares a common wall with a nightclub (either next door or two doors down) and the music was extremely loud until they closed. Breakfast was pretty good. Hotel is in a pretty nice and interesting part of town and is very close to a train station which is handy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which share the common wall (i.e. west wall)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

Great value for money. Large, beautiful room with big windows and an excellent bathroom. It has a beautifully decorated library where you can sit in comfortable armchairs and read or work in your computer (wi fi in the bedroom a litlle slow). Breakfast nothing special but OK. Didn't try the restaurante. Beats 4 stars chains by a mile.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

my friend and i went for an evening meal, and selected the 2 course with a glass of wine for £13.95. the food was absolutly lovely, cooked perfectly and portions were just right. their was a good selection on this menu and the normal a la carte. the staff were very attentative and the restaurant had a good atmosphere. really enjoyable night out! highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

As I was working in Belfast for two days , i decided to take advantage of a deal I found on the Internet .1 night for two evening meal with two glass of wine and two full breakfast £89 . On arrival I could nt help noticing the 3 stars above the door of this splendid building situated in the heart of the university area .the receptionist was very helpful and explained about the facility's and the wi fi connection .are room was of good size , clean ,modern and bright , if you wanted to be picky , you could say there wasn't a bath , but the shower was lovely and a free selection of Molton and brown a delight after a cold day working out side .after watching some tv ,witch I have to state was small , I decided to make my way down stairs for a dinner . This was just wonderfully , from the service and the food , excellent , the meal was included in the deal ,but note that starters and deserts are extra , but did nt mind paying as they where delicious , compliment to the chef who obviously has been round the block .
After the meal we had a few drink in the hotel bar twelve ,nice , a bit quiet for me and to be honest is lost for atmosphere and a big fire , they had a heater which was nice , but just did nt look good in a hotel who is trying to upgrade . Across the road you have the empire which is very busy with entertainment every night , I decided to make my way back to the hotel and realised my room window looked straight on to the empire , oh god , don't listen to me but if you have an early start the next day don't stay in that side of the building , the noise was unbearable , but with a few pints in me and lovely meal I slept well .
The next morning i made my way down passing reception , and could nt help noticing the receptionist on duty looked as if she had been in the empire all night , not a nice experince for quests , still i was looking forward to my fry , and it was lovely , although I did have to ask for toast , it was just great . If your parking your car don't leave it on the main street at the empire as the next morning from 8am it is a freeway from that time and your could end your nice visit with a lovely parking ticket .
Altogether a lovely time in a hotel with a 3 star rating which should without doubt should be a 4 star ,I will be back as Arnald would say and so close to the botanic railway station .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binflynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I recently booked a nights package at the Crescent Townhouse hotel, including a bottle of wine and chocolates (which I must add where from the Chocolate Room on the Lisburn Room - yummy). The package included dinner, bed and breakfast and I added the extra few pounds to stay in a suite. The room was beautifully tidy with a lovely lounge area, bathroom with Belfast Sink and a walk in shower. and a lovely bedroom area. All in all an excellent stay and I would well recommend one of their package deals. It is close to the Empire Bar so maybe not perfect if your not into very loud music..

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite... well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPUDSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

myself and my partner stayed at the aqbove hotel for one night from the time we entered untill the time we left we had a excellent night away from home we bought the 99 pounds package connected with the empire which was fantastic we had a great night out and a great dinner also included in the package my only moan would be is that rooms could do with a mini fridge and a welcome surprise is that you can upgrade to a suite for an extra twenty pounds breakfast the next morning was also brilliant will def be back to the cresent townhouse

Room Tip: rooms at the back of hotel are alot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Townhouse

Property: The Crescent Townhouse
Address: 13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR, Northern Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#17 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#18 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the bustling Queen's Quarter, the historic Crescent Townhouse Hotel and our friendly staff are ready to welcome you to Belfast where we will endeavor to make your stay as special and memorable as possible. This well-appointed boutique hotel has been carefully and thoughtfully designed to give a contemporary feel in a classic setting. It features traditionally decorated rooms with comfortable, modern amenities including a flat screen TV/DVD and free Wi-Fi. The lavish Suites are decorated in traditional Victorian style fitted with dark mahogany canopy beds, floral drapes, antique wing armchairs and a roll top bath and walk-in shower. A wide range of food is served at the hotel's restaurant, which includes specialties made with locally sourced ingredients. The breakfast, with many options to choose from, is served daily. You can choose to include the breakfast in your accommodation package or purchase it separately. Metro Bar offers a more relaxed welcome with a full bar food menu available every lunchtime and evening. The atmosphere is lively, warm and friendly and the famous Belfast banter goes on well into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Crescent Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Townhouse Belfast
Crescent Townhouse Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing