We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly reccomended.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crescent Townhouse
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Thoroughly reccomended.......”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Four adults and 2 kids for 2 nights stayed in 2 of their suites. The Empire is in the old style with a beautiful canopied bed and the ensuite had a roll top bath and a walk in shower. Lots of lovely fluffy white towels and excellent quality Molton Brown toiletries. The O'Neill Suite is modern with a seperate living area with a couch. Breakfast was delicious both mornings - cooked fresh to order - served with freshly brewed coffee.
It was quite noisy on the Saturday night as we were on the first floor - however this did not detract from the stay. Dinner was included on the second night - two courses from the early bird menu and I was delighted to be served fresh pasta as my starter. The pork was a little disappointing and it was more like a gammon - but overall the meal was nice. The kids had to order off the bar menu but luckily we don't have picky eaters.
The one problem was the internet. The Wi-Fi is chargeable at £4 for an hour - which in most hotels is FOC. It didn't work after a couple of attempts and we were given a full refund and an apology - however it would have been nice to have internet access for the weekend.
We will be back the next time we're in Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAnnDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    179
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
28
222
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Excellent staff reception very accommodating and friendly. Great offers for weekend stays too!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professional45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Found this hotel via internet search and booked two rooms at B&B rate.
We had been traveling around most of Northern Ireland - causeway area etc. and were going back to Dublin. As none of us had been to Belfast before we decided to to a short stop and see the town.
Had a hard time finding the hotel as the motoerway sign was different than the direction given. There was construction going on and so maybe it was some detour or something but hotels should keep their directions up to date.
Arrived and ther is no parking out in from of this hotel. No parking dedicated to the hotel at all. This is near a university area and in a city so parking is a premium. Being from NY we knew that they hotel must have some arrangement with a local lot. Anyway the receptionist was rude. Rude to the point that we could have been invisable. The older members of our party had to carry their luggage up the flight of stairs throught the library and down a few more steps and down a hallway. Which ironically was across from a meeting room with a wheelchair lift, that had a elevator next within the stairwell next to their room. Now, I and others who are young didn't mind the carring the luggage but to find a elevator next to the room of the people who need it was awful not to offer to let them use it.
Parking is on the street/square, metered, a pond and hour for a three hour limit starting at 8 am. The hotel should look into getting some type of parking pass or day permit for guests. the Hotel is located right off the Botanic subway line which would make it great for anyone arriving by train or from airport.
Rooms are contemprary in decor and were very clean. Decor reminded me of Ikea. Bathroom was small but utilitarian. Huge closet.
We had rooms facing the side street, which is actually a main road. The front of the hotel is on a side street of a square.
The double paned bay window our rooms had did little to keep out the street noise and they is a lively club on the opposite corner that goes until 4 am. So, expect to hear drunk co-eds yelling and screaming at each other with loud music. Other than that the room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the adjacent restaurant. We had eaten there for dinner - 50/50 on reviews of quality of food.
Did not see any business center or fitness area. Library area seemed to have internet access as there was someone using a laptop in there upon our arrival, and tea and coffe making facilities.
We walked down to the city center and was able to take advantage of the sightseeing tours of the city.
The receptionist (same girl) did charge us separately for the breakfast, which upon checkout the on duty receptionist (guy) fixed for us and even offered to let us use the elevator to bring some of our bags down - he actually went and got them for us.
All in all for what we paid we thought the quality was good.
We didn't find the city all that tourist friendly or at least those serving the tourist to be.
This hotel would be great for a younger college to 30ish crowd that was going out to party esp. at the place accross the way. Not for families, children or Sr. Citizens. I wouln't recommend this hotel to any of my friends as I think they are not of this hotels target demographic - young and hip.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NewburghNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed here on a Saturday night in May. For £99 we got B&B and an evening meal. The meal was fantastic and I have to say the breafast in the morning was the best I have ever had in a hotel. Freshly cooked for you and nothing was any trouble to the restaurant staff. The room was lovey and clean and in my opinion nicely decorated, the extra treats of tea/coffee, biscuits and the lovely Molton Brown toiletries were an unexpected delight for this minimal price in a city centre hotel.

The only problem we encountered was the noise outside the hotel but as it was a Saturday night I suppose it is to be expected. I did ask the receptionist if we were staying again was there a quieter part of the hotel and she said to ask for a room at the front so we would definately do that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night only, thankfully.

Arrived at the hotel and was greated by the most grumpiest receptionist!!! Teresa i think i heard a member of staff staying, stood for a few mins while she back stabbed an other member of staff in her words " who does that stuck up cow Jean think she is" I must admit that was a bonus on our behalf as we were in utter shock... who says these things in front of resients... Oh yeah Teresa does!! Very rude. Checked us in anthen turned her back to [--] about some one else.... Firts Impression, that was strick one!

Went to our room which was surprising basic compared to all the comments we had read on this... Went to run a bath and found an insect crawling.... That was Strick 2 at this stage all i wanted to do was get out and see anything but here!!

Went down stairs YES a hell lot of stairs i might add....to see an elderly couple sruggling to carry there case, my patner carried there bag to the third floor as they were given no help! doesnt surprise me much the reception was sitting eating when we went passed again! We need directions to city centre but just aske on the street as we didnt even want to look at her again as she had already put a downer on our meant to be romantic weeekend in belfast.

Shopped for a while an came back. We ate in the restraunt hands up 5* to them the food was excellent an we enjoyed it enderly. Then went to our room to chill only to be interetuped to ask if we ha been smoking in the room!!!!!!!! No we are non somker and the person on the phone then said well its against hotel poily to smoke in that room as its non smoking!! the cheek of that we requested a non smoking... so y ring? i was utterly fuming.

It was a hard night sleep aswell with the noise from out side the room.... To be honest we would never visit this hotelagain put it down to bad service and ignorant staff......

Restraunt is differnt tho girls worked off there feet which was no surprise it was so busy top class!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Booked a double room in Crescent Townhouse last minute for the Sunday-Tuesday of the first bank holiday weekend in May.

On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and were upgraded to the Empire Suite at no extra charge and without asking! Very impressed. The room was extremely spacious, plush and comfortable with all the amenties (tv, bed, chairs, wardrobe, drawers, tea making facilties) and a little bit extra (stereo, more tv channels, cookies and bottles of water, hairdrier)

bathroom was huge, with a walk in shower, ample sized bath, sink and toilet-along with many Molton Brown miniature toiletries.

We were booked into the restaurant on the first night of our stay, and although I had the 'flu at the time, I could not fault the restaurant staff or the food one single bit! Everything was brilliant!

I did not have any real problems with this hotel, just a few warnings that (a) the water is roasting in the bathroom so just be careful (but am not gonna complain about having hot water. (b) there is no lift, so if anyone has walking difficulties do request a room on first floor (i am lucky not to have this issue but i appreciate that others may want the heads up on this (c) it can be noisy outside due to the location of the hotel (this again did not annoy me that much-but may want to bring ear plugs)

Overall, a great weekend in a great hotel. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

First time at this hotel and we were not disappointed. When arriving at the hotel we learned that we had been upgraded to the Empire suite. The room was very clean & spacious with a roll top bath in the bathroom. Excellent food, (best steak in Belfast) really good service from all the staff. Will definitely be back........

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Dukes at Queens
#13 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Townhouse

Property: The Crescent Townhouse
Address: 13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR, Northern Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#17 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#18 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the bustling Queen's Quarter, the historic Crescent Townhouse Hotel and our friendly staff are ready to welcome you to Belfast where we will endeavor to make your stay as special and memorable as possible. This well-appointed boutique hotel has been carefully and thoughtfully designed to give a contemporary feel in a classic setting. It features traditionally decorated rooms with comfortable, modern amenities including a flat screen TV/DVD and free Wi-Fi. The lavish Suites are decorated in traditional Victorian style fitted with dark mahogany canopy beds, floral drapes, antique wing armchairs and a roll top bath and walk-in shower. A wide range of food is served at the hotel's restaurant, which includes specialties made with locally sourced ingredients. The breakfast, with many options to choose from, is served daily. You can choose to include the breakfast in your accommodation package or purchase it separately. Metro Bar offers a more relaxed welcome with a full bar food menu available every lunchtime and evening. The atmosphere is lively, warm and friendly and the famous Belfast banter goes on well into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crescent Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Townhouse Belfast
Crescent Townhouse Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing