We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I haven't a bad word to say”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“I haven't a bad word to say”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This would be my second time my partner and I have eaten in the main restaurant here. They do a great deal - 4 course meal for 2 plus bottle of wine for £35. Even better that the rose wine is one of my favourites - Sutter Home. Of course that may not be up the street of the someone looking for a more expensive wine :). There is a good enough selection of items on the menu or starters, main and dessert, the portion sizes are big, the service is fast and friendly and the food is gorgeous! This time we split the chicken tempura and breaded mushrooms then got a sirloin steak each. The starter was very tasty and served with salad and a lovely creamy coleslaw. The steak was like a little bit of heaven with onion rings and I went for garlic butter. The girl serving us mixed our steaks up so my partner couldn't abide by the blood on his plate. They cooked him a whole new dinner and took off the supplement charge for the 2 steaks (£2.50 per head). I think the Balmoral is a 3 start hotel with a 4 star service. Will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    81
    67
    43
    61
See reviews for
93
94
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

lovely hotel it really is a home away from home staff cant do enough. weddings in here are fab Ive been to quite a few and always had a wonderful time the rooms are clean and have everything you would need and if they dont just ask.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres Moray
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Spent two nights here as we were attending a family event close by. All in all an ok experience the only negative comments I would make was the amount of noise emanating from the function room at night. First night of our stay a wedding reception was in progress and we accepted the fact there would be some noise. in actual fact it wasn't to bad. the second night however was a completely different ball game. A boxing venue had been arranged for most of the evening and this was followed by a disco. We went to bed at 11pm but sleep was impossible. I complained to reception at 12.20am and was assured the disco would terminate at 1am. it did but then the noise of people going home went on for a long time after ie car horns, taxi engines people talking and shouting. the fact that I had complained made me think that management may have contacted me but they didn't. As I have indicated an average stay, food good, hotel clean and well maintained and staff excellent but guest consideration at night when a function occurring, very very bad and for that reason couldn't stay again which is a shame as everything else was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I recently got married at the start of May 2013 and I had my wedding reception in The Balmoral Hotel. I could not have asked for better. The food was delicious, the staff were more than helpful, and it was an all round great day everything went so smoothly and it was all down to the staff and their help. The room was decorated beautifully and everyone commented. If like us anyone is planning on getting married and doesn't want to travel too far, i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have been to the hotel on a few occations for Sunday Dinner. The Meals are very nice always very busy. The service has always been good and the staff are all very friendly. We have never stayed in the hotel so I can't comment on that. Sunday Dinner you can get a four course menu for just under £15.00 very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_susan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and found the hotel to be perfectly adequate for our needs. The level of service was generally good and drinks were reasonably priced.

The food was a bit of a let down, I had 3 meals here and didn't particularly enjoy any of them. The rooms were fine, average size, pretty clean but nothing to right home about. Location was also a bit far from Belfast town centre for our liking.

In summary I very much doubt I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed for one night, was attending the the new age holistic fair at the Kings Hall, the hotel was nice, staff helpfull, the room was nice, bed comfortable, had a drink in the sports bar, good atmosphere, then ate in the restaurant, had the thickest gammon steak i have ever saw, food was great and reasonabley priced.Never had breakfast as at £10 a time i thought it a bit much, but i did have breakfast a previous time when it was included in the booking for an extra £9 or £10 pound for two and it was really nice, an ulster (irish ) fry ans as much toast and rolls you can eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Beechlawn House Hotel
#37 of 45 in Belfast
247 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,329 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 45 in Belfast
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lansdowne Hotel
#40 of 45 in Belfast
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing