We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights so we could attend a family party and see some of the city. We had no problems whatsoever. The reception couldn't be more helpful if they tried, they provided us with local knowledge and iron board etc when required. Breakfast was really lovely and had a selection for you to choose from couldn't fault the waitress's, gave us a warm welcome every morning. The food at the hotel was lovely, they defiantly like their portions over here! And the batman were always friendly.The only fault I could say about staying here is the shower, it's trickles and is a long winded job to wash your hair!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bops03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    78
    60
    42
    60
See reviews for
89
88
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Comfy bed. Very clean room.

Just got back from attending a wedding. The buffet when we arrived at the hotel was lovely. The grand ballroom looked spectacular.The wedding meal was beautiful: probably the best I've ever had.

The end! Firstly the key card didn't work, and it was implied that we were doing something wrong and after 3 failed attempts, the receptionist tutted and came and tried the key herself.... It didn't work. We were finally given another room and hooray the key worked. The shower..... Needs ripping out and starting again. The dribble that you do get isn't very warm. The breakfast serving staff, on the first morning, was totally put out that she had to clear tables so we could sit down. We then had to wait 1/2 hour for a menu (even though there was only 4 people in there). No teaspoons with the tea cup.

Day 2, better service from breakfast staff. Still no teaspoon
Day 3, good service from breakfast staff. Again, still no teaspoon.
The breakfast itself was delicious and perfectly cooked.

The room - hot hot hot! 2 nights with hardly any sleep due to lack of air and then coughing all night. Others complained of the same. Even though the room was very clean, rubbish wasn't always removed.

The Lady Anne! I had fish n chips. I use the term "fish" loosely as it was lacking in the fish department. Chips were nice though. My partner had chicken with sauce and champ mash. Omg! We both had to stop eating our meal as the smell from the very overlooked sprouts were overpowering. We will never eat there again.

This is all a shame as it has the potential to be a lovely place. We started calling the place 'Fawlty Towers'. It was amusing when we were checking out, the receptionist called the manager Basil Fawlty. I believe it's poor management that is letting this hotel down

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here in December with a party of 7. Arriving back at midnight after working in the evening we were told that the bar was shut and could not be reopened. Fair enough - we had a couple of bottles of wine with us so we asked if we could sit somewhere in the hotel and have a drink before going to bed. The night porter begrudgingly handed us some wine glasses and said in a rude manner "you can drink this in your rooms you know". He then proceed to give evil stares at our party before eventually coming over giving rude comments time and time again clearly trying to hound us to our rooms. We were not loud, we were not rude, we were not drunk, we were simply a group of people trying to have a drink and a chat after working late. If he was concerned about noise he could have put us down in the closed bar below. He kept on telling us over and over there was a funeral he had to get ready for the next day and all the pressure he was under like it was all our problem! All we wanted was a quiet drink He ended up threatening to call the police on our group for no reason whatsoever. Completely rude, obnoxious, unreasonable man who has no business ever dealing with customers. Well, rude man - perhaps your employer would like to know that most years I book 15+ hotel rooms in the Belfast area for 3 or 4 nights each and will always wish to have somewhere to chat until quite late on. Most hotels are more than happy to accommodate this. The Balmoral clearly isn't and will not be getting any of my business. I hope it was worth it because that will turn out to be a very expensive bit of rudeness.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sir-Travelalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Have eaten a few times in downstairs grill. It is called Lady Ann or something of that nature. We arrived in bar to be told that grill remains opened till 20.30. So we moved to grill at 20.05. The waitress came to us and said the kitchen would stio taking orders in the next few minutes and we needed to choose from menu immediately. A warning bell that unfortunately we did not heed. The food came, we both ordered burgers - trying to facilitate. The food came , promptly but the meat was blsck, purê burnt as was the topping on it. I ate a little of it and then gave uo. On clearing the plated , we complained to waitress, small plumb blond lady, who simply answered , ah well it is so close to closing time. We were horrified. We pay the same as everyone else, and desserve quality like everyone else. The same waitress did come back to offer a desert. It was pathetic. It was shabby treatment , deplorable in a grill that is normally good but obviously lacks trained staff and any decente leadership on part of management. So final verdict. Take the risk and go to Lady Ann grill but make sure that you get the timing correct otherwise they might screw you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike5401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Was meant to be staying at this hotel on the 29th october 2013 only to be told by the battleaxe on the front desk it was booked for the 29th november 2013....even though it was the hotels fault she did nothing to help me just kept saying there is no rooms available and left me standing with my 6 year old child untill she answered the telephone about 6 times.....would need to go on a customer service course asap!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in ramada shaws bridge instead...very helpful staff with lovely manners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ursulacrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding here and what can I say only.... Awful!!! Do not stay at this hotel the staff are so so rude!!!! I was served my meal that I didn't/ couldn't eat, I have yet to be asked, was everything ok? My dogs have more manners than the staff including the management!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tc4ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here on business and all in all had a very pleasant time.

We got a fantastic offer on the website which was great value for money. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We ate in the restaurant on one evening, food was lovely and Conall our waiter was fantastic! :)

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable There was no wifi in the room and we were right above the function room which was very noisy and the music continued til 1am (not great if you are a light sleeper)

Room Tip: Not near the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxi1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Beechlawn House Hotel
#35 of 44 in Belfast
239 reviews
Lansdowne Hotel
#40 of 44 in Belfast
203 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wellington Park Hotel
#30 of 44 in Belfast
764 reviews
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 44 in Belfast
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing