We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxing base in Belfast”
Review of Somerton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerton House
Ranked #10 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Somerton House is a quietly located, large, traditional B&B within easy reach of Belfast city centre. It is located in a peaceful, respectable area very near the ferry port and a good night's sleep is assured. Upon arrival off a late ferry, with my motorbike, I was welcomed by Mannix, the owner, and offered a space off-road on the front forecourt. As I was staying 3 nights I was allocated a double room by Mannix who was a very amenable and informative host during my pleasant stay. I would recommend this B&B to bikers as it is run in a very professional manner and lies on the north side of the city so it's perfectly situated for touring the Antrim coast. Breakfasts are great and cooked to order, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the accommodation is good value. It was my first trip to Belfast and I found the locals to be very friendly and down-to-earth and the city has plenty of culture to explore as well as great bars and eateries. The striking new Titanic Museum is spectacular and a must!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent a week in Belfast, and we visited several cheap places for breakfast. This place was definitely the best, and not any more expensive than any of the others. It was quite busy, but we still got our food quickly. The man who took my order was very helpful and patient when I had questions about the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEX C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed here with my partner and my brother. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by the owner. He was very friendly and offered us advice about shops, local buses etc. We arrived around 10am in the morning and were shown straight to our rooms.
The room was very clean, airy and very comfortable. My brother had a single room upstairs and his was also clean and even had a skylight which let him look out over Belfast.
We had an ensuite, which was useful and towels were changed everyday.
The beds were made everyday also.
Breakfast was yummy, with either continental or fried offered. The only down side was the portion size. My partner has a big appetite and the fried breakfast consisted of one egg, one tomato, one sausage, one rasher of bacon half a potato farl and half a soda bread. he doesnt like egg or potato bread, so that made it even smaller. Although it was enough for me and was cooked perfect.

Free wifi and computer use available, which my partner and brother relished.

All the staff were pleasant and were willing to help.

We will be staying here again, as we did really enjoy ourselves.

Room Tip: Get the en-suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our double room was spacious,well furnished and the bed comfortable. The bathroom with shower was small but adequate. Breakfast was acceptable. The host and staff were very pleasant and knowlegable about the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Definitely among the best B&Bs we encountered during our 14-tour of Ireland/Northern Ireland. Our room/bathroom was immaculate, sunny, breakfast delicious. Mannix, our host, is a personable, kind host, and we felt completely at home during our two nights in Belfast. Can highly recommend this B&B, without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Cute b&b, friendly staff, clean room, great breakfast over all very happy, loved how dark the room was at night

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank caz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed here in April on my first night in Northern Ireland - the room was good, the breakfast great and the staff were very friendly - recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,418 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
The Gregory
#1 of 51 in Belfast
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maranatha House
#8 of 51 in Belfast
284 reviews
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
#9 of 51 in Belfast
369 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton House

Address: 22 Lansdowne Road, Belfast BT15 4DB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Somerton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing