We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, though noisy, especially on a Saturday night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, though noisy, especially on a Saturday night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights. A budget hotel, the rooms were reasonable, and the location good. Staff very friendly and helpful, and breakfast quite good. Unfortunately WiFi was generally not working. My wife enjoyed the £3 cocktails, but the drawback was the noise from the hotel, especially on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: High, and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    229
    112
    58
    51
See reviews for
52
321
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a Saturday night and all I can say is never again, the noise from inside and outside the hotel makes sleeping impossible, the main bar was filthy. The rooms are what you expect from a budget hotel. but the breakfast was minimal to say the least. All in all a very unpleasant experience !

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Paulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Reception staff were lovely but not a good experience with bar and waiting staff. Very rude. We made a complaint when leaving and were told that it would b dealt with and we would receive an email 2 confirm that, this never happened.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi76Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at Madison's a few times over the last few years, and have always found it perfect. The staff are always so friendly, and will bend over backwards to help - including getting me a full cooked breakfast, 15 mins after breakfast was over (many place would just say no, breakfast is over). The rooms are always immaculate, and the beds very comfy. Location wise the hotel is very close to the centre of belfast, without being too close. Its only a few mins walk from Queen's University, and within around 10/15 mins you would be in the centre of the city. All in all a great little hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms I've been in a great - even those overlooking the road, the noise is quite minimal onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've stayed at Madison's several times during my trips to northern Ireland. The location is ideal for walking to just about any point of interest in the city. Out the front door to the right, your just a 5 minute walk to the Botanic Gardens & Queens University. To the left, about a 20 minute stroll to the city center with lots to see on the way. The hotel restaurant serves decent food and has a bar that comes to life in the evening. If your ever in need of something to do on a Sunday night, Go to "The Empire" and check out Ken Haddock and his band. He never disappoints! There are several good Italian, Chinese and Indian restaurants all within 2-3 blocks of the hotel. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Some rooms are very nice while others are a bit dated. Ask to view a couple of rooms to make YOUR own choice! All in all an above average place to spend a few day's.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here with my husband and as always had a great time. Staff very friendly especially Stephanie who really couldn't have done enough for us. Food was faultless and given the restaurant was fully booked as the police and fire games was on this was an added bonus. Would recommend this hotel to everyone and can't rate it highly enough. We hope to return again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmythFamily_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in July. Quite a good location about a ten minute walk from the centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was very nice and is served until 3p.m!!! We arrived very early in the morning and reception were very happy to look after our bags until check in. This is a good hotel in a good spot.
My only moan would be that you need more plug sockets in the rooms madisons!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dukes at Queens
#14 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Property: Madison's Hotel
Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 en suite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing