We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of crappy”
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I stayed there for 3 nights and they put me in a room above the glass recycling that starts at 9:30. The room had no air circulation and opening the window only brought the exhaust from the deep fryer of the restaurant next door. Kind of miserable. The final straw came on the last day when the key card electricity broke leaving us in the dark. They tried to fix it - but 2 attempts still did not fix it for long. Our final morning I had to shower in the dark. Requests for a new room were not forthcoming. Our other party shared a triple and HATED the room. Waste of money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank plevi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for Madison's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2008

I stayed one night at Madison's. The hotel itself is not bad; rooms are comfortable, elagant and clean. The worst is the noise from the nightclub...I can't understant how this can be permited! I complained, of course, with no satisfactory results. It was noise no only until 1 am, but also constantly (in room 105) from a door downstairs (the door of the nightclub's wc) which was all the time opening and closing.

I didn't like neither the breakfast, it was very poor.

The best of the hotel is its location: in a nice street, full of restaurants and 10-15 minutes walking to the center.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vidalson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Stayed here for the weekend recently.

Hotel room was clean, and comfortable. Had a great stay, ate out in town on the friday night, and decided to try out the hotels restauraunt on the saturday nite. The meal was actually nicer than the previous nites and left me wishing i'd ate there both nites. Good atmosphere and the staff were very attentive.

Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellerfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

My partner and I got this stay and concert tickets as a Christmas present. I was concerned when I read other reviews and probably wouldn't have booked it myself.

The exterior facade of the hotel is nice but there were lots of cigarette ends lying outside the front door and on the steps because I suppose guests can't be bothered to use any of the large ashtrays provided.

The reception area is small but functional and staff were friendly and efficient. Although one night was already paid for £200 was taken on the credit card because the receptionist said it's policy to take the nightly room cost (£80) plus £20 irrespective of whether it's paid for or not. That didn't bother us but it might bother some people.

The room was fairly average in size but very clean and has tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The bathroom is lovely with the usual range of products. The room is cleaned daily, with fresh towels and products replaced. Breakfast was a choice of 2 juices and 5 cereals with the main part of the meal being ordered from a menu and was of a good standard.

The hotel is very central in terms of being able to walk to shops, cinemas, theatres, etc. Although it has no car park there's plenty of parking available in side streets. If you miss the first 4 spaces on either side of the street parking is free. It's clearly a university area and there can be some high jinks at night but all in all it was pretty harmless.

The nightclub was closed for renovation when we were there so obviously there was none of the noise issues mentioned by others. I gather the hotel is often used by hen/stag groups at weekends and as we were checking out someone was phoning to book 9 single rooms which might give some weight to that theory.

All in all it was fine. It's a 3 star hotel and that is exactly what you get. If you want 5 star facilities and service then this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank togsseniormoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

I stayed one night at Madison's in a larger suite room.
It was clean, comfortable and stylish. All the staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent.
If you are planning a night on the town in Belfast then this hotel is perfectly situated for the walking to Belfasts most popular night spots.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slow_type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

Stayed one night at this hotel. Well placed, just outside Belfast city centre.

Good standard room but single bed meant I didn't sleep much. Also there was some noise from the nightclub or another bar which kept me awake for a short while.

I ate at the Japanese restaurant across the road, which was excellent and cheap.

Breakfast in the morning looks good although I only had cereal.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

I stayed in this hotel with a group of friends at the beginning of October. The hotel itself is quite grubby, and the rooms smell stale and smokey. The bathrooms were fine, actually quite nice in contrast to the room. The staff were quite rude and incompetent, asking for payment upfront for a whole room, despite the fact that my room mate had already paid her half, and then telling me to get the balance back from someone else. Totally unprofessional! Breakfast the next morning was an absolute joke. The service was terrible, it was like having breakfast in a dreary nightclub, and the milk was sour, etc......had to keep asking for basics like glasses, forks, etc.....just very very poor. I wouldn't waste your sterling on this place, pay the extra and stay somewhere nicer!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucia012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#27 of 44 in Belfast
482 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#4 of 44 in Belfast
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,561 reviews
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £30 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 en suite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing