We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really handy location”
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Bailieborough, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really handy location”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Situated near Queen's University, the Botanic Gardens and the Ulster Museum and only a 20 min walk into the city centre, this hotel offers a great place to stay. The staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful, especially Cheryl who was a mine of information on what to see and do, pointing out a few free hidden gems. The hotel is a bit 'tired' in places, but bedrooms/bathrooms clean and well equipped, and the food was great value with cocktails attractively priced at £3. Will definitely use the hotel again as a base to explore Belfast some more

Belfast city itself is compact, with fabulous architecture, and plenty to satisfy those wishing to do some serious shopping. Recommend you take the open top tour bus to learn the interesting history and see some amazing sights.

Room Tip: There's a noisy AC/extractor affecting rooms on level 3 but was thankfully turned off overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    229
    112
    58
    51
See reviews for
52
321
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Staff extremely helpful and pleasant especially David at reception. Room was lovely and bed comfortable. Bathroom could do with some work. A good choice for breakfast with good service. Would recommend this Hotel.
Ross and Wendy from Scotland

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We booked in here for 2 nights so we could visit the city and the titanic exhibition.
The hotel is 20mins walk to main city centre or about £4 pound in a cab. Its a shoppers paradise with every top branded shop available to the bargains of primark (pennys) and dunnes stores.
The titanic quarter is a good 35mins walk from the hotel or £6 pound in the cab one way.
The hotel itself is very nice and very reasonable for the price we paid. The staff are second to none they couldn't do enough for you the reception staff 10/10 the bar staff also 10/10. The bar does happy hour of cocktails £3 for decent size cocktail time is from 5-7.
We had a meal with our package and it was fabulous the breakfast all doe it was nice very bland and simple.
The room 308 which was a double was a decent size and very clean the bed was comfortable also. The bathroom consists of a bath/shower and was a decent size.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a decent hotel without breaking their budget.
Myself and my wife will definitely visit again no doubt.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Madison was perfect in every way for our 4 day visit to Belfast. The hotel was clean, tidy, the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food we ate was fantastic and value for money, all washed down with half priced cocktails as well, fantastic. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobParry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is not good, not bad, but average. It could improve when it comes to cleaning. The staff was nice and helpful. Rooms facing the street are very noisy because of the bar in the entrance area. But my main complaint is that the Internet did not work properly. I was there to work, and chose the hotel because it was close to the university and had Internet connection. It had a very bad connection, off and on. Nowadays a good connection is mandatory. I spent a lot of time getting online. Very annoying

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I honestly don't know how anyone can complain about this hotel for the price! For £80 we had a double room, 2 course meal, bottle of pink Prosecco (which was lovely btw) and breakfast included - sure its for nothing! We are getting married in June and this was our last wee treat before the wedding and didnt want to spend too much. I have to say I couldnt fault it! Staff were lovely, location is great - walking distance to practically everywhere in city centre, our meal was gorgeous and of course my favourite - the cocktails! These are not horrioble cheap pre-made cocktails, they are proper cocktails and great value at £3 between 5 & 9pm! Madison's has always been my favourite choice for cocktails even when not staying in the hotel!

Unfortunately we didnt make it for breakfast as we indulged in one too many cocktails, but I am sure it was lovely too. I would 100% recommend Madisons to all my friends, and will definitely hope to get another nights stay in it again soon. Thanks to all the staff for a great night away :)

Room Tip: We had no specific room requirements, although it was over looking the bottle bins which I though mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinéad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If the room had been clean I would be giving this place a 3 or 4 as the prices really are very good, particularly if you take advantage of packages with food. Bath tiles were dirty, grout stained pink with soap scum, stained shower curtain and room corners had a build up of dust and dirt. Bed wasn't that comfortable and we just had 2 flat pillows despite asking for extras before going out for the evening. A bag of rubbish was hanging from the room window handle and fell to the ground when we opened it in the morning/ not sure if it was left by guests or cleaners. We thought the location was good and stayed on a Tuesday so had no problem with noise. Bar staff and porter were friendly and made great cocktails. Bar area could do with a good clean before people go there for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#27 of 44 in Belfast
473 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 44 in Belfast
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dukes at Queens
#13 of 44 in Belfast
806 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,184 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Property: Madison's Hotel
Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 en suite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing