We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wick”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My first room had a view of the kitchen roof top complete with the on/off buzzing of an extractor fan; blood stain on one of the beds not changed despite daily housekeeping.
Breakfast on the first morning was serenaded by the chef whistling loudly in the nearby kitchen; little choice for breakfast - I had a greasy fry and stewed coffee.
Breakfast on the second morning, there was cleaning of the glass doors going on right beside me; breakfast came on a plate that had been through the dishwasher so many times the surface was scratched and rough.
I asked for a room change and was promptly given another room - that had another extractor fan right outside - seriously?! There was also the sound of dripping water, also kitchen noise of plates clattering and again chef whistling.
Internet stopped working - phoned reception and no-one picked up, tried again shortly after, the first lady on reception was good but when I phoned 2 hours later the second lady was abrupt and obviously couldn't be bothered.
Breakfast on the third morning, coffee was poured from a hot jug and got half a cup, when I asked for a refill the guy took my cup into the kitchen to refill - ?; a chef came out and instructed how the room was to be laid and that then started around me.
Reception staff do not acknowledge guests, no customer service.
I emailed reception 3 times and no response back at all.
When I went to reception to check out early and explained the above the only reaction was to print off my bill - 2 reception staff present and neither bothered to try and resolve.
Rooms are nice and modern but staff are not hotel staff, they have no idea.
No response needed from the hotel please - too late.
NITB - this cannot be a 3 star hotel.
Wish I had of read tripadvisor before I booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissBushmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    97
    51
    24
    21
See reviews for
121
83
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a comfortable stay at the Ivanhoe. The room was spacious and neat with a good breakfast. The place is a bit far from the city centre, but has ample and free car parking. All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingskv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is a great place, friendly reception staff, friendly helpfully staff in the restaurant, good clean rooms and nice Guinness... Nuff said!
Don't be put off by the main road, the rooms are on the back side so really peacefull.

Room Tip: Also close to an Indian if you fancy a change for dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevaDave27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just had our wedding here on 14th july,must say we had a brilliant day.Very professionaly done from start to finish . The meal was beautiful and very warm,no one was waiting for ages to be served unlike a few weddings i have been at,not bad for 120 guests. We had a party from england over who were very impressed with the hotel and the service .Everyone keeps telling us it was the best wedding they were ever at . My thanks to Paula for the professional and friendly way she dealt with our wedding . Also like to thank Paul Withers for his fantastic disco , the dance floor was never empty from first song to last . All in all a brilliant day !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelly5916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights whilst visiting family and were really pleased, so clean and comfortable.Our room was enormous and spotlessly clean. I have to say the housekeeping staff should be very proud. Staff were very keen to help out and Joanne helped us to print return flights. Ruth at breakfast was lovely and chatty making sure we felt at home.
We have stayed many times in hotels in the centre of Belfast and been disappointed with level of cleanliness and service yet paid much more than The Ivannhoe. Thanks and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louxloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Visited the Ivanhoe for lunch.....just fantastic! The staff who looked after us...from the 'front desk' until we left were so kind, helpful, polite.....just can't say enough about them! The Bistro was very busy (good sign!)....still loads of room though! The Dining Room was closed but the staff opened it to give my mum a little more room, as she uses a wheelchair.....this was just brilliant as it meant she didn't feel in anyone's way! I can't say enough about the Ivanhoe....except to say...visit it...soon!! Super menu...with excellent choices to suit all tastes and not expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have stayed in this hotel probably half a dozen times and have just booked my next stay. For value for money it cannot be beaten. The newly re-vamped rooms at the front of the hotel are beautiful, spacious, clean and well laid out. The bathrooms are very modern, large and well supplied with towels/shampoo/bodywash, and hand cleanser. All of the staff from young to old are professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a great selection of cereal, fruit, toast, and cooked breakfast menu aswell. I have eaten on an evening in the restaurant, although this was over a year ago now, I chose from a 'saver' menu and the meal was adequate in size and nice, though there was perhaps room for improvement. There is a very large car park and it takes around 10/15 mins drive into the city centre and is on a main bus route. The only negative is if you happen to get one of the 'newly refurbished' rooms and it is iver the bar/function area, it can be noisy!, not a problem if you are in the bar or function obviously but as I stay there for work it can be disruptive. One time I stayed there the man behind reception actually told me he was allocating me a quieter room as there was a function on which I thought was very thoughtful of him. The hotel is on a busy main road but I have never found traffic noise a problem as it appears to be well insulated from the road. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, hence my return time after time.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjwagdomEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 44 in Belfast
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel

Property: Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Address: 556 Saintfield Road | Carryduff, Belfast BT8 8EU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Belfast suburb of Carryduff only a 15 drive from the city centre and close to George Best City Airport and the harbors. This property is situated on the A24 which is the main route to Newcastle Co Down where you may visit the beautiful Mountain of Mourne areas or Downpatrick to visit St Patrick's grave and continue onwards to the beautiful Strangford,Lecale areas. The hotel has 29 outstanding en suite rooms with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and tv set. Wifi is also available throughout the building. The newly refurnished restaurant is open from 7 am right through to 9.15 Pm each day and 8.15 Pm on Sundays. The hotel has two public bar areas and comfortable out door areas for you to dine or enjoy a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing