We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous venue for a weekend event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fabulous venue for a weekend event”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

as the organisor of a group visit and stay to Belfast, I couldnt have picked a better venue than the Ivanhoe - 57 line dancers all together in one place with use of the function room on both nights. Bedrooms were superb, food was excellent and plentyful and everyone got fed at the same time with warm plates. The staff were superb, friendly and helpful and they just couldnt do enough for us. We were made to feel welcome right from walking through the door on Friday and it was the same all weekend. If you are organinsing a group visit, make sure you dont pass on this hotel as the staff made my booking exceptionally easy. My ladies enjoyed it so much that I have been asked to do a booking for next year and some of my ladies are talking about doing a city break shortly and will book in the Ivanhoe as they had such a good experience there - brillient - see you next year probably with a 70 seater bus !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WENDYIRWIN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    101
    54
    24
    21
See reviews for
127
85
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just spent a fantastic week-end here, the rooms are spacious, the bathroom was lovely, cleanliness excellent and the food was delicious, huge portions and lovely fresh vegetables.
All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to please. Yes I was also one of the 57 line dancers and here's hoping we will be back next year! Could not find fault with this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I thought my room was noisy as it was facing the road then realised that the windows were open sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just had a great weekend at your hotel, 57 line dancers all there for the weekend, & not one thing to find fault with, the rooms were a great size, the staff were friendly, helpful, and very efficiant. The food was fantastic, portions were so big i could'nt finish my dinner on both nights we were there. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginac1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you all at The Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Popped in for lunch on Saturday as we have done many times. Arrived about 12.40 to find only two other diners in the lounge!! Anyway ordered the Cheeseburger with chips and a Pensioners Special of Roast Chicken, ham, stuffing etc.

Service very good all the staff are lovely. Didn't have to wait too long. Pensioners special was small in fact it looked totally lost on the plate. Don't get me wrong there was enough on the plate but a smaller plate would have made it look more appealing though the verdict was that it was alright.

Cheeseburger not much to say really - pretty tasteless to be honest. Have to say do not like their chips anymore - bigger than normal chips and the ones I had looked too well done for my liking and tasted the same.

Have to say been going to Ivanhoe for many years but going by my last experience I won't be back. Staff are good but the poor quality of the food let it down big time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. It would appear that you have visited Ivanhoe on more than one occasion and have been happy with our food. We can only apologise that you did not enjoy your experience this time. We will certainly be taking your comments on board and correcting these matters which you have highlighted. Ivanhoe has been very popular with regulars and passing trade for many years and always has had a high standard of cuisine. We have recently received our award for 5 out of 5 for score on the door and take our presentation and delivery of our food very serious. Again thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and we most certainly will be addressing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The reason for my stay at the Ivanhoe was for the location due to family residing nearby. To be honest, I was not expecting much for £70 per night and I was very pleasantly surprised ! The hotel room had a modern vibe in comparison to the hotel exterior. The best thing about my stay at the hotel was the bathroom facilities, there was large power shower in the bathroom, which was a nice touch. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good, I would most definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsrmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

business trip one night

staff very friendly and helpful........room comfortable and clean.. staff at reception gave excellent customer service ..explained re breakfast etc "call if you need anything " ..

restaurant food delicious ..wholesome and plenty ..staff helpful and friendly

breakfast ..not huge selection but sufficient.. again staff looked after me throughout which made it all ok

would recommend and will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, Co Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I am a true believer in you get what you pay for and I paid 70GBP for 1 night in this hotel, it was a breif stop before we headed to the airport and that was all I would have wanted.
The hotel is simple, relatively clean and the staff are very friendly however thats about where it stops, there is no character, the rooms are basic, not particularly comfortable and there were people screaming and shouting at 03:00, this is more of a Motel than a Hotel ok for a couple of nights if on business or a stop over but dont spend too long here it will depress even the happiest of people.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#17 of 45 in Belfast
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel

Property: Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Address: 556 Saintfield Road | Carryduff, Belfast BT8 8EU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Belfast suburb of Carryduff only a 15 drive from the city centre and close to George Best City Airport and the harbors. This property is situated on the A24 which is the main route to Newcastle Co Down where you may visit the beautiful Mountain of Mourne areas or Downpatrick to visit St Patrick's grave and continue onwards to the beautiful Strangford,Lecale areas. The hotel has 29 outstanding en suite rooms with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and tv set. Wifi is also available throughout the building. The newly refurnished restaurant is open from 7 am right through to 9.15 Pm each day and 8.15 Pm on Sundays. The hotel has two public bar areas and comfortable out door areas for you to dine or enjoy a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing