We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Right from the booking to checking out, all I can say is it was great!

I had to stay in Belfast for 4 nights last week, and booked the hostel through a website. I booked the double ensuite, and was willing to pay the double occupancy, but the moment the night receptionist knew I was on my own, discounted it to single! He was really pleasant to deal with and went out of his way to ensure my comfort!

The room was immaculate and the facilities on site were great also!

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fnib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi fnib!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to read such positive comments and to hear that you enjoyed our stay. We take the comfort of our guests seriously and I am glad that we met your expectations. I am pleased to hear that you will return again in the future and we very much look forward to welcoming you.

Best Wishes

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Belfast International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Never have I stayed at a more clinically abysmal hostel. The staff seemed as though that had a mandate to be nasty and unbecoming; interrogating guests rather than welcoming them. Also, the stairwell was filled with urine.

Would recommend sleeping at a taxi rank in the rain over booking at this hostel ever again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi Ben B - What a lovely review from a lovely guy!

One thing you omitted to say in your review is that you visited Belfast International Youth Hostel as part of the Shamrocker tour group who not only subjected our Belfast staff to a tirade of abuse but also thought it acceptable to cause damage to our property and disturb our other guests from whom we received multiple complaints about your behaviour and how it impeded on their stay.

As Belfast’s largest hostel with 202 beds, we play host to a diverse and wide range of groups of all ages from across the globe. During your stay we had a French school group residing with us; needless to say, the antics of your group in the early hours of the morning, did nothing to impress these young travellers and only for our staff (whom you rudely and disrespectfully refer to) managing to diffuse the situation we would have felt it necessary to relocate an entire coach load of students. Perhaps you should also take the time to read the previous reviews of the BIYH by our guests, even those negative reviews all pay testament to our staff, who without a doubt are our biggest asset.

On a final note, it is unfortunate for us that you were not one of your group that was physically removed from the hostel – you could have had a lovely night under the stars at the local taxi rank and our staff would have had one less headache.

If you wish to discuss your comments in detail or indeed contribute financially to any of the damage your group caused, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is run like a prison, the staff are the rudest people i have ever come across. I was on a tour group that recommended this place, but I wouldn't even let a dog stay here!!! I had tried to get in the door & was refused entry as I was trying to get my key out. I was then thrown out on the street (being a 26 year old woman) who had just arrived in the city. I tried to ask for another place to stay in the area, as it was the middle of the night & was just told to FECK OFF!! I asked for a refund & again was told to get off the property. I was shocked, scared & didn't know where I was or where I would go, I was on my own!!! Not the Irish charm I thought I was going to receive on my first holiday to Ireland. I wasn't the only person on my tour that had problems getting into the hostel after dark. I am appalled at the situation I was forced into, as this was my first experience travelling on my own. This has put a dampener on me wanting to travel again on my own!!! MINUS CRAIC!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJBlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi JJBlogs!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a constructive review. The tour group which you were with was Shamrockers - their last ever visit to our Belfast hostel and for which the staff breathed a huge sigh of relief when that last bus drove off.

I can only assume that you feel the place is run like a prison because as part of Hostelling International we do indeed have strict rules which we adhere to, to ensure the safety and comfort of all our guests. As Belfast's largest hostel with 202 beds we have a duty of care to International visitors which includes young children and we take our responsibility to ensure their safety and wellbeing as utmost importance. Unfortunately, this duty conflicted with the itinerary of Shamrocker Tours to "go out, get drunk, abuse our staff, our building, pay heavily discounted prices, complain and leave."

Also, lets be clear. You were not thrown out onto the street. You returned to the hostel at 2am and refused to show your key card to gain access to the hostel. Again, to ensure the safety of our guests we make it very clear that to regain access to the building after 10pm you must show your accommodation card to the night receptionist. I'm sure you would agree that if you were a young girl travelling solo, staying in a dorm room, you would sleep much sounder knowing that our staff take this precaution and do not just allow anyone off the streets to access the building. You were also given several opportunities to show your card and only when you started swearing at our staff was the door shut on you. You were not and are not entitled to a refund - it was your choice to behave in the manner that you did and we take pride in ensuring such behaviour is not permitted in our hostel.

By all means, please feel free to get in touch with myself to discuss your issues further.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I went on a school trip to Ireland! This is one one of the places we stayed there! It had a wonderful breakfast and wonderful people, and was really a great place to stay and a great center of the city to go on all the tours in Northern Ireland. Although it was a hostel it really had a high class feeling to it, and it was very comfortable. If you want an affordable place to stay and not sacrifice comfort, stay here! It is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Issa K!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel and for leaving such kind feedback. I am delighted to see that you were impressed by the facilities that we offer our guests and that most importantly you had "lots of craic!"

I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location is pretty good, the beds were clean and relatively comfortable, and the staff were friendly but that's about all I'd say is positive. The bathroom was a distaster - the shower rooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned or the drains unclogged in a long time and the toilets were the same. The bedrooms weren't really clean, and neither was the rest of the hostel.
Find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Jen, many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is disappointing to receive such a poor rating but all feedback from guests is extremely important to us. I can assure you that all areas of the hostel are cleaned by dedicated housekeeping staff on a daily basis and I am very sorry to hear that they did not meet your standards. I sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit to Belfast nonetheless.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is great hostel to stay if you are looking for friendly and helpful staff, nice location an plenty of space. The bathrooms are separated which is private. There are informations for turism and trips in Belfast
I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolixala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hi!
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our Hostel to others. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A great place to stay - loved the causeway cafe. It's within close walking distance of the shops and cinema, though miles from the hop-on hop off bus stop. good fun walking through the city to get there though. It would have been good if they had some gluten free options for breakfast - other than the chocolate schmoo, which was delicious :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thenextjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel with such positivity! I hope you had a fantastic time in Belfast throughout your stay.

The Causeway Cafe is actually run independently from the hostel but is such a hit with all our guests (and us at Head Office!) With regards to the Café not offering more gluten free options; Alan (Chef and Café owner) has asked me to and he tells me that they have quite a large gluten free range:

"gluten free white and wholemeal sliced bread and bread rolls (to make toasties, sandwiches, and even we can make a full London Breakfast Gluten Free), as well as gluten free porridge (available with gluten free apricot, banana, pecan nut, or honey toppings) eggs (poached fried and scrambled), bacon, cheese, ham, yoghurts, fresh mixed red berries and strawberries, salads, etc etc. We also stock Soya and Lacto Free Milk for those who are dairy intolerant."

I'm sorry to hear that you weren't able to avail of them throughout your trip - perhaps you will come back again and tuck into just a few of the options above!

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,371 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,948 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: £13 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing