We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hostel Belfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well run hostel Belfast”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom. At first glance we were disappointed with our room which seemed tiny and had a double bunk rather than 2 singles on the floor; however the bunk was rock solid, no wobbling or creaking, and we found the beds very comfortable. Room was very warm (had to open the window at times) but excellent for drying hand washing overnight!
Funny smell was new carpet and fresh paint - so this was a plus rather than minus really. Kitchen all stainless steel, immaculately clean and well equipped. Has a nice mezzanine floor with cool areas to hang out - bean bags handy to power points good for laptop, TV room and library reading room with Chesterfield sofas. Laundry - buy a token from reception for 4gbp and can do a large load wash and dry, includes detergent. Breakfast not included but prices in cafe reasonable or buy your own ingredients from nearby Tesco.
Located about 10 minutes walk from city centre, 5 minutes from Botanic Ave which is home to many funky cheap eateries. Felt very safe here, staff helpful, everything well run and clean.

If possible do the free walking tour (Sat and Sun 2 pm when we were there) - very informative and helps explain the complex and confusing sectarian divide as well as pointing out good pubs and eating places.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Janet O

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that the room was comfortable, if not a tad too warm - we sometimes overcompensate for the NI climate! I hope the new carpet and fresh paint smell wasn't too troublesome, unfortunately we have been so busy that there was not time to let the new rooms settle before we let guests use them - but hopefully you enjoyed the "newness!"

A special thank you from John for mentioning his free walking tour - he has been volunteering with us for over a year now and he is one of our best assets - it is lovely to hear his hard work and dedication being recognised.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    188
    130
    67
    31
See reviews for
40
113
142
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Good points: good location, free parking, good security, decent size room (private twin).

Not so good points: stench as soon as you walk into lobby, kitchen an absolute health hazard ( be warned), fithly carpets in bedroom, stench of urine from toilet, toilet roll and faeces on toilet brush, wet room covered in slime, rotton wood and mold everywhere, very limited with the hours of heating.

If you want to sleep, you will have no chance here, taps and plumbing make a rackett.

This once was probably a good standard 4 a hostel, and could be again, if they fixed the plumbing and heating and most of all hired cleaners that were actually willing to clean!!

My advice pay £10 more and go to an etap or ibis budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Sugsy

Thank you for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel - we take all criticism and comments from guests (both positive and negative) on board and believe them to be essential to our going forward.

With regards to our members kitchen, I can assure you that this is cleaned on a daily basis and as a result of your review has been given a thorough deep clean. As it is the guests kitchen it can only be cleaned once a day by our housekeepers to ensure it is available to guests to use without inconvenience. With regards to your other comments - our housekeepers work extremely hard to maintain and clean all areas of the hostel daily. We are in the process of carrying out a refurb to many rooms in which they are being fitted with new carpets etc

The hotel and hostel market are obviously both very different - different facilities, amenities and ethos. We are a not for profit organisation and we continually strive to ensure our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay with the opportunity to meet new people and share experiences.

I very much hope that you managed to enjoy your trip to Belfast nonetheless and again I thank you for your review.

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location, cheap, clean, friendly, warm and comfortable plus an adjoining café that serves a killer breakfast ...what more could you ask from a hostel? I had a great stay. Keep up the good work :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cathyd1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Cathyd1989!

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel and secondly thank you for your glowing report! It means a lot to us at the hostel when we hear that our hard work hasn't gone unnoticed. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of Alan's "killer" breakfasts in the Causeway Cafe - never a better way to set you up for the day!

I hope we can welcome you back with open arms again in the future!

Cathy (great name ;-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersin, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location and the staff could not be any better !!! we got a private room and it was as clean as a five star hotel room...Free luggage room,amazingly helpful staff ( David).... we really enjoyed staying there,definitely the best place to stay in Belfast...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank runonerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi runonerun!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. We love to receive 5* reviews!!! I am delighted to hear that you found David to be helpful - he works very hard to ensure that our guests are happy and always tries to help them out when he can! It is also so lovely to hear that you found the rooms to be very clean - our housekeepers do work very hard to ensure that rooms are cleaned for all of our guests and often their work goes unnoticed! I hope you and your friends had a great time in Belfast and that you come back and visit us soon!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We love the room very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hostel is very close to the city centre and the best place to start the Causeway coach tour. The bathroom is very clean. The only problem is the bed makes some noise when you try to turn over. Good value for the money.
Will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna1_winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Anna1_Winter!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to read all of your positive comments about all aspects of the hostel - especially that you considered our staff to be friendly and helpful! It is unfortunate that you found the bed to be a bit noisy. I am very happy to be able to relate that we are just finishing a refurb in Belfast where many rooms have just been fitted out with nice new mattresses which should hopefully alleviate this problem!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattaya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Belfast international youth hostel,is just a few minutes walk from Europa,bus and train station.Very cheap rate per night,rooms very warm with ch,beds comfortable,with sheets and duvet cover,lockers with key locks for your clothes and valuables,sink to wash and shave in room.Just outside room,find shower room,on left side,toilets on right.Lifts to bring you up and down.Breakfast served early,huge choice,to satisfy everybody.Its my first choice every time am in Belfast

Room Tip: All rooms so comfortable,fall asleep almost immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank skaterpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi skaterpattaya!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is always a pleasure to welcome back someone we have had staying with us before! I am delighted to hear that you continue to consider us to be your first accommodation choice when you stay in Belfast and we very much look forward to you staying with us again in the future and hearing what you think about our newly refurbished rooms!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

wonderful place to stay in Belfast! nice ans friendly staff and very cool atmosphere! to be highly recommended!!! well situated not far from the train station and city center. good restaurants and pubs around the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank silaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi Silaine - Happy New Year!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us to others! I very much hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Property: Belfast International Youth Hostel
Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing