We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern, but bit half-baked!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very modern, but bit half-baked!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spend there with my boyfriend in a double room one week in the first half of the year 2014. The location of the hostel was good, it was near the centre of Belfast – a capital of Northern Ireland (310 000 inhabitants). But when you travel there by ferry you have to get to the hostel by a taxi (there is bad connection through the city transport from ferry to the centre of Belfast).

For an average price (39GBP per room and night, compared with other six hostels through UK we stayed in during our half year internship) we got a very modern furnished en-suited room furnished by basic equipment without wi-fi signal. The bathroom was also modern, but there was a problem with clogged drain of the “shower” that was only a shower and the drain in the floor, so we got the water all over the bathroom during showering that was quite unpleasant.

There was no such thing as a common living room, only some armchairs in the hall, but upstairs there were TV lounge, library, etc. The kitchen was large, but there was no freezer and it wasn’t equipped much. There was no free tea/coffee/sugar as it is usual in hostels through the rest of UK. Also the kitchen was shared by Causeway café that had some advantages (the possibility of buying breakfasts), but also disadvantages (crowded in the morning and closed in the time of lunch, because of cleaning). The wi-fi worked only in the common rooms and there was quite unusual system of getting passwords (on small papers, every password expired after 24 hours).

There was a possibility to do your laundry for 4GBP per a load.

The hostel was worth the price – average. Whole hostel was very modern, staff was present 24 hours a day, but someone was kind, someone not so much… Our final evaluation and impression of this hostel is positive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello Iveta-and-Lukas

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland.

Best Regards

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    186
    126
    67
    30
See reviews for
39
109
142
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

First things to complain about: WIFI didin't work in rooms and there were lot of young people who didn't care about the silence time, so don't forget to bring earplugs. I mean it! Walls were very thin and our room was next to an elevator and a stairway, it was really a mission impossible to sleep without earplugs and I almost lost my nerves with the youngsters and with the stairway and elevator doors banging. Price is too high for this hostel I think and atmosphere was a bit "cold". This Youth hostel was a bit disappointment compared to another Youth hostels I have stayed before.

Still after all this hostel is ok, I have seen lot of worse budget hostels so don't get wrong thought. Staff is really nice and helpful, room was big, clean and nice. Without the noise during the night and with a bit cheaper price we would have been very happy and satisfied.

Room Tip: far away from the elevator and stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Jhis

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel.

As a not for profit organisation it is just not feasible for us to be able to offer FREE wifi throughout the hostel to our guests, however we do offer this facility throughout the ground floor and common rooms of the building. Many hotels in Belfast city centre charge from £15 per day for any wifi connectivity.

It is disappointing to hear that you found the hostel to be noisy, as Belfast's largest hostel we do indeed accommodate youth groups from across the globe and it is obviously sometimes difficult to ensure that they keep the noise levels to a minimum. I am very sorry to hear that on this occasion you were disturbed.

With regards to our prices being too high - depending on the room type you chose to stay in, we charge between £12 and £22 for a night. Whilst you may be able to find a cheaper bed in an independent hostel, you cannot be guaranteed the standard of their offering. As the only Hostelling International branded hostel in Belfast, our guests can be assured that we meet the global requirements of cleanliness and comfort and we believe this to be worth the extra couple of pounds - it is good to read that you encountered this in your review.

Hoping you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Although the staff was very polite and helpful, the room that my boyfriend and I stayed in was filthy. There was gum and grime all over the carpet and the bathroom was unhygienic. The sink looked like it had never been cleaned. The sheets were clean but given the state of the rest of the room we didn't feel comfortable using the comforters or pillows. Although they say "you get what you pay for," we have paid much less in other hostels and gotten much cleaner rooms- a clean room should always be provided, no matter the price. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpp1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Ipp 1289

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel.
I am so disappointed to read your feedback, there is indeed absolutely no excuse for an unclean room and I am horrified to hear that this was your impression. We most certainly do not operate a "you get what you pay for" organisation. We pride ourselves on offering value to our guests - affordable but clean and comfortable accommodation, and I am so sorry to hear that this was not your experience. I can assure you that we do have a team of hardworking housekeeping staff who work tirelessly to ensure that all rooms are maintained to a high standard. We have obviously failed on this occasion and for that I sincerely apologise.

Wishing you all the very best on your travels.

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Kevsville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Disturbed sleep on both nights stay.
Lots of noise from the plumbing (taps are push down and make a loud thud when reset).
This was heard from other rooms. Especially in the early hours of the morning, when people were leaving early to travel.
Very Grumpy and Rude Night Staff. Had no patience or consideration for folk who had just arrived. Day staff more friendly and helpful on my visit.
Hostels do not have to be like this.

Room Tip: Room 222 (Twin) - had a broken Radiator which could not be turned off. Room very Hot. This room also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spurto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Spurto - thank you very much for your review of our Belfast International Youth Hostel.

Ensuring that our guests have a good nights sleep is one of the most important aspects of our service and to hear that you did not experience this is extremely disappointing. We have "push down" taps for environmental reasons - to reduce the amount of water we use throughout the hostel as their design ensures our guests use only the water that they need.

I am so sorry to hear that you found our night staff to be grumpy and rude; this is inexcusable and please be assured that HINI do not tolerate such behaviour. If you would like to contact me on marketing@hini.org.uk to discuss this further please do so.


Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
89 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We went there for the weekend. It was the cheapest we could find. It is located in a very good neighbourhood. If you want to visit the peace walls or the titanic monument, the fish etc of course you need to walk. They don't allow take away food in the rooms and I agree with this policy, but they don't provide you with handwash or towels. And another bad thing with this hostel is the bathroom has one floor for shower and toilet and can get watery in there! And you cannot get wifi in your room! It could be the best choice if they fix these little but, important for me, things!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Dennis S

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our location convenient to many of the important tourist attractions of Belfast and hope that you enjoyed them all!

Unfortunately at present we do not provide handwash in the public facilities but this is something that is being addressed and will hopefully be introduced very soon. However, at present both towels and soap can be purchased for a small fee at reception.

We understand the importance of free Wifi to our guests, which is why we recently introduced this free service to our guests throughout the common areas of the hostel. Unfortunately with our building being so large and with HINI being a not for profit organisation, it is just not economically feasible for us to provide this service throughout the entire building. We also want to encourage guests to come into the common areas and mix with each other! Also, many accommodation providers in Belfast City Centre do not provide free wifi at all and charge up to £15 per day for this!

I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Ireland and will consider returning!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The lack of soap for toilets makes it a bit less sanitary; people can be cheap and find it an inconvenience to wash when no soap is provided. Even periodic hand sanitizer dispensers would be better.
Only 2 lockers for 4 person room.
Love the cafe!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Michelle D

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Belfast International Youth Hostel.

Unfortunately in the past, providing soap in the toilets was not considered a requirement by hostels, However, I TOTALLY agree with you that it is far from sanitary and have indeed been requesting that this issue be addressed now for a number of months. I have been assured by Management that dispensers will be introduced into the public facilities very soon and so I can only pass on these assurances to you.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I enjoyed staying in the hostel more than I anticipated, really! Its location is excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable. The hostel also has a great cafe that serves good food, though they also provide a well-equipped self-catering kitchen. Service was great too, and I love the fact that the staff were very accommodating, making me feel safe and welcome.

Overall, the hostel offers great value for money. I would definitely come back here if I visit Belfast, and would recommend it to anyone travelling there as well, especially those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadirah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Nadirah S - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel and for leaving such lovely feedback. It is very much appreciated by all of us here at Hostelling International Northern Ireland.

We very much hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again some time in the future!

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Property: Belfast International Youth Hostel
Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing