We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great visit, especially if you get to a show.”
Review of Grand Opera House

Grand Opera House
Ranked #10 of 225 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Opera House in Belfast is Northern Ireland's premier theatre, presenting a range of drama, dance, opera, comedy, musicals, pantomime, family and West End shows. Established in 1895, the theatre boasts the majestic Victorian main auditorium designed by renowned architect Frank Matcham. Extended in 2006, the original building has been joined by a striking addition to Belfast's skyline, The Baby Grand. The initiate studio is home to a smaller performance space with 100 seats. Northern Ireland's premier theatre delivers an outstanding programme of entertainment, playing host to some of the greatest names in theatre and music. The theatre boasts a wide array of popular shows; everything from opera and drama to pantomime, comedy and musicals. The Grand Opera House offers unrivalled corporate hospitality with tailored events packages and is the perfect venue for meetings, special events and conferences of all sizes. The historical theatre is one of the most unique conference venues in Belfast, catering for seminars, conferences, meetings and weddings for up to 130 people in the Baby Grand Studio. The Main Auditorium holds up to 1060 people and smaller meeting rooms are also available. The theatre bars stock a range of drinks including beer, wine and spirits, in addition to tea and coffee.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great visit, especially if you get to a show.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is one of the most iconic buildings in Belfast. Who would think we had an opera house?? My wife and I went in June 2014 to see "Madama Butterfly" in a touring production by the Scottish National Opera though we had been to many other shows before. The exterior is imposing and has stood the test of time, especially as it is right next to the Europa Hotel, the victim in the past of many bombs! But that's in the past. The interior is a sight to behold: a lavish décor featuring wonderful artwork and even elephants dangling off the pillars. This is a venue to be proud of and I would rate it as truly outstanding. Try to get inside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    240
    51
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birdsong”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A sad but very well performed show, George Banks who played Stephen looked totally exhausted at the end because he put so much into it, I had seen the BBC's production of Birdsong, otherwise, I would have found it hard to follow as there is alot of flashbacks, so maybe read the book before going to see it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flo-to-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

If you like Blackadder then don't miss Laughlines dinner show. An intimate dinner hosted by Blackadder himself ably assisted by Baldrick who always has a cunning plan. Queenie and Lord Melchett also are present,there is a lot of hilarious interaction with the diners.
The complementary glass of wine helped everyone to get involved and the meal was very nice too. The tarte citron was especially good.
This company also do parody tributes to other classic TV programmes such as Allo,Allo,Father Ted and Fawlty Towers. I will certainly look out for them again for a really unusual evening out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always special”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed the theatre open day last year. We were able to see what goes on behind the scenes and got a real taste and flavour of what the Grand Opera House is all about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Went to see Birdsong in the theatre. Had great seats and as usual wasn't disappointed. The theatre is always quite warm but other than that it's a really enjoyable experience. Birdsong was amazing and I would definitely recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Opera House also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Grand Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing