We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wellington Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I found my stay here very comfortable with a charming atmosphere, and delicious food. The staff were very helpful and informative. Great location, just a stone's throw from belfast city center and a one minute walk from the delightful botanic gardens. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Harriet D,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Wellington Park Hotel. We are glad you found it so convenient for everything in the city and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    211
    154
    84
    69
See reviews for
96
174
34
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I recently hired this hotel for a funtion for work. I found the hotel staff more than helpful and accommodating, nothing was a problem. The price was very resonsable, food more than satisfactory and the evening went off smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear EmmaM,
Thank you very much for your review about your function at the Wellington Park Hotel. As one of the popular Belfast venues, we are delighted with recent feedback about food for weddings, parties, anniversaries and events. We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting one of your events again in the future.d

Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently stayed in this excellently located city hotel.From the moment we entered the onsite car park we felt our break had started. We were looked after very well , the staff were welcoming, professional and despite arriving before check in time our room was ready for us. Our double room was spacious,spotless and fitted out with a flat screen TV-high on our chill out list! We enjoyed a few drinks reading,relaxing and people watching in the extremely comfortable lounge before strolling round the many neighboring cafes, bars and Botanic Gardens, which is less than a 5 minute walk away. In the morning we enjoyed a full Irish breakfast again with excellent service before checking out heading home relaxed and refreshed

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1Ballymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Holly1Ballymena,
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at the Wellington Park Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed it so much and that everything went well.
The Autumn/Winter offers will soon be available on the Hotel website if you would like to pay a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed At this hotel with a large group of people on a group tour , have to say we were looked after very well , staff were lovely and very friendly . The Botanic Gardens a just a short stroll from hotel , as also is Queens University. Its a good 20 mins walk to the shops or City hall.The food was good , not 4* by any means but ok. Cleaning of the dining room could be better ,the floor was very dirty and could do with a good hoovering and washing, And worst of all for us when we opened our curtains we could see nothing but a big wall of iron An extension or some thing built in front of our room making it very dark, also the cable into the showerhead was loose resulting in us flooding the floor everytime we showered so we put a towel on side of bath to block the flow of water.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 138, back of hotel would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Molly190754
Thank you for your review. The structure you describe is part of the Hotel and blocks light to the room. The room, as you know, has been recently refurbished and is very comfortable otherwise.
Thank you for other positive comments about food, the hotel location and staff. This is very much appreciated and we hope that you will visit us and Belfast again sometime in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a short break recently. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the accommodation good and the overall package was generally quite good value. We had two dinners included in the package, one being quite substantially better than the other. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel is off traffic limits and thus quite during the night but is still close enough to the city centre.The most negative aspect is paying for parking. If there is one thing that would put me off staying again is this. This is the first time ever, I stayed in a hotel and was charged for the privilege of parking my car.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadraigM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Padriag
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Wellington Park Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of the location and the food.
Regarding carpark charges, we charge £5.00 for overnight parking for guests. This was introduced to ensure that our spaces were available for the convenience of our own customers who generally welcome the convenience at such an affordable price.
We hope that it won't prevent you from visiting us again.

Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I mainly choose my hotel based on location more than any other factor, price obviously plays a part too but I like to get somewhere reasonably central and reasonably priced. I got a good offer on this place and with it being about 5 minutes walk from the city centre I took it up. The Belfast Museum is close by as well as the great Queens University Architecture and there were some nice areas to walk in close at hand, the botanical gardens beside the museum, the little towpath by the big river and hotel staff were able to point me to some good little restaurants on offer in Strandmills and Lisburn Road.

My romo had everything I wanted, good comfortable bed, clean, quiet and the staff were able to help with directions aand taxis to the airport etc. All and all a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for your comments on the location and value of the Wellington Park Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of some of the great bars & restaurants in this area and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

OK. This place is right opposite the university's non-flagship science teaching buildings, right beside a dive-y student bar ["the bot"] and 100 yards away from a youth "homeless" hostel. There is an emergency police "get home safe" box across the road. Are you getting the picture?
Mostly filled with merry revelers from one of its many functions that it offers cheaply and with package deals, one that I attended had a bunch of well heeled teens attempting to get free drink crashing in from another function. Food bland and not enjoyable. Lot of seriously smashed people about. Some tables still had cig burns on them from the smoking indoors days of yore.

What it has going for it is proximity to places you may have business in, but I'm telling you its not the cleanest nor the most comfortable, spelt S A F E . Odd indeed. Good luck to everyone rolling in to it and don't go to the cash machine outside alone at night!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Saytan,
The Wellington Park is a long established 4**** hotel, trading on the Malone Road since the 1950's. It has a long successful history in Belfast and is an integral part of the Malone Road community. The area is nothing like you describe and we are confident that anyone living and working in the vicinty will agree.

Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Property: Wellington Park Hotel
Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing