We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellington Park Hotel
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas dinner”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

On Saturday 7th 20013 we were booked n to have are Christmas dinner for 7.30pm well we didn't receive are starters until 9.30 & after that we received no dinner or desert they told us they had over booked there was a lot of others in big groups never got as well. It was not cheap £40 & booked months ago we are so disappointed & not even as much as a sorry at the minute we are waiting on them tuning back to see if they are goin to reimburse us it's been the worst Christmas dinner yet we have went to & will never book again we couldn't even understand the staff they were all foreign so it was just like banging ur head against a brick wall so be aware of this if u have booked with them.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lusheslinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Lusheslinda,
Your review is full of inaccuracies and to be fair, very misleading. Firstly, it is untrue to state that your group didn't get a starter since all starters were on the tables prior to arrival. Soup was served shortly afterwards and the main course from 9.00pm. Dessert, coffee and mints followed and the room cleared quickly so that the live music could commence at 10.00pm. You are obviosly not aware that we spoke the group organiser and are continuing discussions with her as arranged on the evening as part of our apology for any delay that may have occured.

Yours sincerely,
Malachy Toner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    209
    152
    82
    66
See reviews for
94
169
34
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Definitely not 4 star so be warned- usually stay at the days hotel which is 3 stars and in my opinion is of a much higher standard and costs less. The rooms were rather dirty eg dusty radiators, filthy windows, mould all round the bathtub, the bathroom ceiling mouldy looking. Waste of money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmfarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely hotel under great management. Cosy atmosphere and good service. The room was nice and quiet and very clean. Meeting room well attended. I can certainly recommend it for professional and private travel alike. Should the occasion arise, I will go back there. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthVercuilStonehous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Paid two business rooms in full on arrival, did not wish to book any extras as we were not eating or drinking in the hotel. Receptionist insisted she wanted an extra £40 in the event that we caused "any damage"! Great way to treat business guests! Also, bedrooms are very outdated and cleanliness of en suite was not good!

Room Tip: Much better hotels in the centre of Belfast, pity as the city is vibrant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry that it didn't meet with your expectations. We take all reviews very seriously and I can assure you that action has been taken regarding the standard of your room.
We have reviewed our policy of requesting a deposit from cash paying guests. I hope that you will re-consider your decision and contact me personally when you are next in Belfast.

Yours sincerely,
Malachy Toner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed with my daughter on Sunday 23/11/13. An unforeseen delay caused us to spend another night in Belfast and we had no room booked. The manager Malachy Toner could not have been more helpful. He and his staff went beyond the call of duty by helping us, making calls and sending e-mails sorting out our dilemma. Booking us in early and providing us with tea and coffee while in the lobby. They turned an extremely stressful morning around for us.

I could not fault this hotel or staff. Clean comfortable room, Food great.I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moncon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I booked this hotel because it was on a suggested list and I have very much regretted it. My room was awful: dirty (the curtains were dark grey with dirt), with furniture that looked as if it had come from a tip (lots of marks and not matching) and the bed had a thin and lumpy mattress. The décor was c 1980, and so was everything in the room. I really did not want to stay there and staff were incredibly patronising and unhelpful. Breakfast was plentiful, but all pretty cheap. I hate those toaster machines - especially when there are lots of others who are trying to do the same. Most don't get it and you inevitably queue for hours to get some toast. I expect more from an alleged 4 star hotel. This place seems to be popular with coach parties and since there is a smoking ban they seem to congregate outside until the small hours.
Belfast is a vibrant and lovely place and deserves so much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northernlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a wonderful Gala Evening hosted by the Wellington Park Hotel on Friday 15th November 2013. Venue, food and staff was exceptional on the night! I would highly recommend this venue for other companies to use. Well done to all the staff we had a delightful evening!

St.Gerard's School (Belfast)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Property: Wellington Park Hotel
Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing