We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Park Hotel
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
1 review
“New years Eve”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic night....was booked at the last minute and could not fault this hotel at all. Four of us stayed overnight and also Had a meal which was definitely 5*. We paid £25 for a 5 course meal which was exquisite and to also have a steak without paying a supplement is a rarity. .
To round the evening off there was a guy singing who was very entertaining. .exceptional value for money and the breakfast did not disappoint either. .will be heading back for my birthday this weekend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    205
    149
    81
    65
See reviews for
92
167
34
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Decided last minute with 4 friends to book to stay on New Years Eve, had a great night, we met in lounge at 4pm and had a pint of their beer of the month which was excellent for £3. We booked a 5 Course meal for £25 which was excellent, that included entertainment, the rooms were clean and very comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast next morning. We had such a good time that 6 of us are going Saturday 11th January for a friends birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Enjoyed our two night stay won on f/b some months prior. Hotel is very central for the museum, theatre, buses outside door to city centre ( a mere 10 min ride). Food was bistro style, breakfasts were usual cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and one cd have had a substantial Ulster fry if desired. One evening we entertained friends to dinner and this was well presented, service was a bit slow even though there were few diners. Seemed a bit short of staff that evening. The other night we dined a few doors away in the Barking Dog (think l have got the name correct) and the food was excellent - different from the usual run-of-the-mill. Our room was spotless. well furnished - bathroom spotless. thank you Helen Gibson for finalising our booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I've noticed a lot of positive reviews are for Christmas parties held here, which can somewhat skew the results for a hotel stay. We stayed one night inc. Breakfast, booked online via expedia.

This hotel is situated in the more affluent southern suburbs of Belfast not far from Queens University with many of the campus buildings in its surrounds. The building is located near a small cluster of pubs, restaurants and fast food outlets.

Check in was not the best... After driving for several hours to Belfast and arriving late-ish and hungry the gentleman manning the reception didn't greet us with a smile and chose to take an incoming phone call prior to giving us our keycard. Understandable that at that time the reception is only manned by one person but placing the caller on hold for a few moments to see us sorted wouldn't hurt. Being the first impression for the property its ultimately important (and hardly expensive) for the receptionist to smile for guests. I did however manage to get half a smile out the man the next morning.

The common areas of the hotel appeared to be more recently updated than the rooms and corridors, however many furnishings were worn.The corridor could do with a lick of paint and renewed carpet as the existing fittings are well worn/marked. Room furnishings were a bit plain and not like those advertised on the website. Beds were comfortable. No air conditioning (in our room anyway) - not a problem in December but consider this if you are staying over summer. The bathroom was fine, with a good strong shower. The water saving tap on the sink was a bit ridiculous as you need to run the tap for about a minute for the water to get warm.

Breakfast included the usual hot options of full Irish with cereal, yoghurt, fruits and breads. Tea and brewed coffee supplied to the table by friendly staff.

Overall an OK stay but below expectations, the property could do well to make some updates to furnishings, and perhaps some extra training for one of the reception staff. Parking is 5 quid overnight which is a bit much considering street parking is available all around - however we were given free parking validation on checkout which was a nice gesture. Free WiFi is also available and was accessible from the rooms as well as the common areas, with the occasional drop out. I've stayed in much better 4-star hotels elsewhere so the money I would probably try somewhere else next time to Belfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Another fabulous Christmas Party hosted at the Wellington Park Hotel - this is the 6th year that we have been to the hotel for our work Christmas Party.
The food was excellent, the staff were very pleasant and attentive to our parties needs. The service was first class. The entertainment provided in the foyer after our lunch in the bistro was great. A fantastic evening was had by all. Can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the hotel 5 times and in different rooms, overall I don't have a preference as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed here for one night, hotel claims to be 4 star, it's not!

Rooms dirty, the bathroom in particular was disgusting. Cobwebs all over the room. Carpets grotty throughout ground floor and first floor. I had booked this hotel as gift for family members also and was saddened by the poor standard. I had also prepaid for all of the rooms however my guests were also charged and unfortunately I had to argue with the front desk to get the matter resolved.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had another wonderful stay in the Wellington park hotel.

I was there for my works annual christmas party as usual the food was first class, great atmosphere and the room was lovely also. This is the third year in a row i have been there for my christmas party and will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Property: Wellington Park Hotel
Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing